We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$102
US$88
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$290
US$261
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Southbank Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (2,473)
Filter reviews
2,474 results
Traveller rating
664
967
543
196
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
664
967
543
196
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen spa suitelocanda restaurantexhibition streether majesty's theatrerooftop poolbuffet breakfastclose to china townlate checkoutan upgradebed was very comfortablebourke streetcar parkinglocation is excellentcentral locationcbdmcgcheckin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,008 - 2,013 of 2,474 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2012

we arrived from a very long London via Singapore flight at 6am and managed to kill few hours before becoming so tired we decided to make our way to the hotel early (well before the official 2pm check-in) and the front desk staff were just Wonderful.
Quick, efficient, no questions aksed or problems, so the nanna-nap on the comfy bed was just perfect before we had to attend the early evening Opening of the conference i was attending.
Overall, the room was fine - a decent quality for a very cheap price in a handy location in the city - and the staff were terrici overall.
Breakfast is REALLY GOOD - fresh and good quality - and comparatively cheap (and i do a LOT of these hotel eggs n bacon breakfasts!) PLUS, as i was my partners birthday we had a delightful glass of champagne with our brekky - which I am sure made everythign taste even better.
The only downside - it is very frustrating having to pay an extra $29/day for internet access (and only initially connectable in the room via a cable).

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sparklarkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Was really pleasing and I must say quite humbing to read your great experience in particular from a senior reviewer who has obviously lots of experience in hotel stays. I have shared this with the team and my Directors to impress on them how good it is to be rewarded from their efforts! I am glad they ensure you got a room when you got it in, I can imagine what a relief it would have been to get into your room and put the feet up. Hope we may see you back with us again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Ive travelled the world, best hotels- but this one is the standout. Staff are incredible especially Stephanie and ian. Theyre outstanding ! enough said

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank csob85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Really appreciate the comments on the team, they certainly make the difference for our guests and in particular our regulars who get to know them so well. Location, services and facilities in hotels are always important but it's the human factor that will ensure a guest returns.....

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Our family of four stayed over while on a city stay. We had a queen spa room that had a divider with queen bed on one side & double fold out on the other & a telly on each side. Big ensuite bathroom(with spa bath) & walk in robe.
Excellent location, walked around the block for dinner at chinatown. Breakfast buffet was amazing & cooked to order as well, so DD & I enjoyed a stack of pancakes. Staff were universally friendly & efficient, but no spare staff for concierge so I couldn't find out about attractions because there was no tourist display & counter staff were always busy with check in/outs.
Heated rooftop pool looked nice, but a bit cold for us!
Verdict: I wouldn't pay full price as it is pretty tired looking upstairs from the lobby, but a package deal with parking & brekky is good value in the CBD.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CLHL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Very pleasing to see you enjoyed the stay at the hotel in our queen suite and enjoyed the services and facilities the hotel has to offer. We are very proud of the new Breakfast Rise buffet we recently updated. The team down there perform well even under the pump on the weekends, in particular the pancake teddy bear shape that Vikas our breaky chef puts out hat the kids love! Hope we see you back again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is in great location with a great restaurant. The staff are friendly and efficient. The hotel itself is a little tired, but you can overlook this because the beds are comfortable. Big bonus is the carpal underneath.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Ross W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Pleasing to see you enjoyed your experience and the Locanda Steakhouse Restaurant impressed you, I certainly enjoy the sirloin when I dine there myself! Most of the hotel is quite fresh, we are in the process of getting an upgrade on the suite rooms which will be great. Was good to see the team were friendly and efficient.

Kind rergards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Service poor, room dirty?... Don't stay in this property, not worth the $$$$. Shame the location is good.....

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 13 July 2012

Its always a shame when you have a number of postive reviews to see a negative one in the middle of them, where a guest has not enjoyed their stay and lets people know why. I agree with your setiment if you find the room not clean and encounter poor service, you then query the value for money, and question why stay here? I apologise for your poor experience and hope your next stay in Melbourne is a better one.

Yours sincerely

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews