We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #87 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2012

The service at Rydges Melbourne was very vibrant, and friendly. The young lady at the front desk (Michelle) was very warm, welcoming, and went above and beyond to make sure our stay was enjoyable (managed to give us an adjoining room)! Thank you, can't wait to stay with you again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Was good to see the front desk team did their best to accommodate your needs during your stay and you enjoyed your experience at the hotel, I hope we see you back with us again!

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,878 - 1,884 of 2,358 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2012

Having stayed a number of times at Rydges Melbourne for business it was great to be able to share the experience with a group of people for leisure. However what stands out for me is the friendly service that keeps me coming back.
On the weekend it was on show again with Mani again giving excellent warm service to all of our group both in the restaurant and also at reception. Nothing is too much trouble and always friendly

Room Tip: Ask for higher levels as the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Fantastic to see you stayed for leisure and enjoyed the warm service ot the team in particular our boy Mani who is an exceptional individual who is very sincere in his effots to make all our guests feel special. Being an owner of a business himself, he really appreciates the value of customer service which shines through with his day to day dealings with out guests.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Took my boyfriend to Melbourne as a surprise birthday present and (after extensive research) chose to stay at Rydges as it had pretty solid positive reviews. Couldn't be happier with my decision. Room (21st floor) was the ideal size- plenty of room for suitcases, a desk and an armchair. We only stayed 3 days but the room would be liveable even for a longer say. Lots of wardrobe space for both him and hers fancy clothes. Bed: amazing!! Buffet Breakfast was outrageous (in a good way!!!). Something for every palate, plus bonus touches like banana/fruit smoothies and omelettes made to order.

Here's a tip: I searched every price comparison website to make sure I was getting the best deal. I happened upon the Rydes official website, only to look at the room pics, and actually discovered it was CHEAPER to book directly through there website the. Anything else I had found. They have got great package deals like their postcards promotion stay or football frenzy weekend deals which include the breakfast plus 1pm checkout. Made even cheaper by becoming a member of their rewards program which is free to sign up to.

Thanks for a great weekend Rydges - I'll definately be staying with you come Aus Open time!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank onthego83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Thank you for your positive review! It was really pleasing to read you enjoyed not only access to our website and it's benefits to our guests but also the service and room you stayed in. We have made a big effort across our chain to improve breakfast and the variety and was really pleased to see you enjoyed what we have done. Hope to see you back over the tennis.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

The Rydges Melbourne such a great place to stay. Staffs were exceptionally friendly and professional. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by a nice young man called Mani he was very well presented, bubbly and he went over and above to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Mani is a real asset to this hotel. The room was good value for money, the bed was so soft I slept like a baby & Amazing view. Room was very clean and warm great for us to come back to after a busy day of adventure. The Rydges is located so close to Melbourne central, china town & high end fashion shops. There is always taxi's out the front of hotel so it was really easy to get around. The front bar in the hotel & the lobby is a lot of fun with a beautiful fire place, lounges and very modern decor it's a nice place to chill out. I will definitely come back and stay again and bring my friends they will love it. Thanks again for a great stay see you next time. :)

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Narelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Wow, really good to read you enjoyed your stay and that people like our Mani the Concierge made such an impact on your arrival! Also plesing to see you enjoyed the restauarant and the location.....hope to see you back with us again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My wife and I spent a weekend at this hotel. Great location, close to all main entertainment venues, Princess Theatre, His Majesty's and the Regent Theatre, plus China Town and major shopping outlets and some very good restaurants all within a ten minute walk. We had a Queen Suite, excellent, large bathroom with shower and spa bath, lounge with flat screen TV and separate sleep area. Downstairs restaurant very good but you need to book early.Staff attentive and helpful. Will visit again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Was pleasing to read you enjoyed the central location and the importance of our hotel to the theatre precinct of Melbourne, we get so many of our guests staying with us who enjoy the amazing shows Melbourne hosts. The Locanda Italian Steakhouse certainly cranks when the shows are on and appreciate your tip to make a booking as this helps the team ensure we look after everyone accordingly. Hope we see you back soon, there's some good shows coming up including Mousetrap, South Pacific and Something Happened on the way to the Forum in the next few months..

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Thank God that it's winter time or else I wouldn't be able to sleep at all. The wall AC unit is not only super loud (the loudest I've ever came across), it's very temperamental. A real pain! The room looks like it's recently refurbished. The bathroom is super small but functional. Cannot believe this hotel still has twin beds instead of double beds in the room. Our rate includes internet or else it's AUD$30 per 24 hour use. Fast connection. No room wifi, wired only. The closet is super tiny. Mini fridge is the oldest I've seen used in a hotel, more like an antique fridge. Location is a few steps from Chinatown. Good restaurant for dim sum (yum cha) called Shark Fin Inn right around the corner. Don't think I'll be going back to this hotel unless they replace the AC unit. Who on earth could sleep with that super loud AC unit?

Room Tip: Don't think an ear plug will block the noise of the AC unit. Bring a heavy dosage sleeping pill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World Passport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2012

Was great to receive your comments on the stay at the hotel, the hotel maintenance team will need to keep on top of the AC servicing to ensure this noise issue noted is addressed. The hotel recently has installed hi-speed WiFi throughout the hotel and is available in all rooms and public areas including the rooftop pool area! The cost is now changed with this upgrade to include the first 20meg free then $18 for the first 24hrs. Hope this is an improvement moving forward. Twin rooms are popular and the single beds are king sized, unfortunately the room won't accommodate double double configuration. Sorry to read you wont be back again, but hope you find more suitable accommodation on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

The Rydges Melbourne is quickly becoming my hotel of choice in Melbourne, largely due to its location and price.

The accommodation is reasonably priced, especially if you are a Priority Club member ( free registration ). Their standard Queen rooms have the smallest bathrooms I have seen in a western hotel, but the $1 upgrade to a Queen Spa suite is worthwhile.

I am frequently in Melbourne for business and find the Rydges ideally located - just a couple of blocks from my customers, a short walk to the Bourke Street trams and a slightly longer walk to the Swanston St ( north south) trams.

The Rydges is also right at the eastern entrance to Chinatown, and is located in the middle of the theatre district, so there is no shortage of newrby entertainment and evening fare.

A few detractors, tho:

The hotel is a bit noisy. The air conditioners are generally loud ( though I have lucked out with a quiet one last time around), the street noise is very noticeable even 10 floors up, and there is a pub or restaurant nearby which seems to love dumping their bottles into the in at 3 am. I was recently upgraded to a King spa suite, which was really nice- except that it shared a wall with the service elevator - so it sounded like a tram was running on the street below every time the elevator was in use ( which was frequently).

The hotel does not have a gym, though they have a membership with the local Fitness First a couple of blocks away.

Room service is half decent, but with all the choice around I am at a loss as to why anyone would select this option. And late night room service is not an option, the kitchen closes at 10.



  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyD613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Bornmann, General Manager at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Was both pleasing and somewhat concerning to read your comments, on the positive side, I appreciate you enjoy the location and its convenience in Melbourne. The good value for money, in particular as a PGR member is also appreciated. On the negative, the lower floor rooms can have issues with noise depending what night of the week and where you are located. The lifts shouldn't be overly noisy regardless of where you are located as the suite side lifts have recently been refurbished and the other guest lifts have had considerable money spent on their running gear also to ensure they are quiet.

The main service elevator in the hotel that is close to the king spa suites has actually been shutdown for refurbishment also, since the start of July, so will need to try to ascertain how you got disturbed from this lift. There is a gym on the roof of the hotel with limited cardio equipment, we also have 24 hour room service which does cater for most guests with the munchies late at night....I hope we see you back with us again.

Kind regards

David Bornmann
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
#50 of 161 in Melbourne
4,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,545 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,900 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#80 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £82 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing