We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$211
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,525)
Filter reviews
2,525 results
Traveller rating
681
991
551
198
104
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
681
991
551
198
104
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsqueen spa suitelocanda restaurantexhibition streether majesty's theatrerooftop poolbuffet breakfastclose to china townlate checkoutan upgradebed was very comfortablebourke streetcar parkinglocation is excellentcentral locationcbdmcgcheckin
Filter
Updating list...
1,691 - 1,696 of 2,525 reviews
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Great location in the heart of Melbourne, with an easy walk to shops and theatres. The hotel is neat and tidy, although some aspects can do with an upgrade. Service is first class, and the restaurant is a must. Can be a bit pricey at times, so watch out for specials that include meals & parking.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Rudi_van_Zyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thanks for your review Rudi. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and the high level of service offered by our hard working staff. It is also great to hear that you enjoyed dining at Locanda Italian Steakhouse. Our Executive Chef and his team work hard to produce a menu that we are extremely proud of and they will be thrilled to hear your feedback. Our packages certainly are a great way to get the most out of your stay and often include breakfast, drink vouchers, dinner or car parking. Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to Rydges Melbourne again in the near future.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Have stayed here 3 times now and have been happy with the service.
Very professional and friendly staff. The secure parking underneath is great, and has been free in the last 2 visits.
This business though where hotels hit you with a surcharge for using a credit card, which they do here, is a pain and has to stop.
Would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barrycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Hi Barry, thank you for your review. Firstly I would like to thank you for your continued loyalty to Rydges Melbourne. We certainly pride ourselves in offering a very high level of service and it is fantastic to know that you are continually happy with our service. The parking is certainly a big benefit to guests who may be arriving with or hiring a car and allows multiple entrants and exits for those wanting to explore the city surrounds. Thank you for your feedback regarding the credit card surcharge, I will pass this on to management for you. We look forward to welcoming you to Rydges Melbourne when you are next visiting.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I found the staff at this inner city hotel to be friendly and efficient. I found the location to be excellent ad many shops, cafe's bar and restaurants surround the area including some world famous names such as Guy Grossi around the corner. An early check in wasn't available but my bag was in the room on my return and my request for a higher floor was met and exceeded as I was placed in a room on the top floor. The bathroom wasn't large but I didn't experience any of the space issues mentioned in previous reviews and i'm a big man. Yes the tub/shower was more off white than snow white but it wasn't dirty it was just old. I found the bed to be comfortable and the pillows nice. The arm chair was a plus too. This is a very good property and next time I'm in Melbourne on business it will be on top of my list.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor on the Bourke street side for some views
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicktaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for your very positive review Nick. It is so pleasing to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel including our friendly service and great location. Rydges Melbourne is lucky enough to be surrounded by some exceptional eateries, shops and entertainment venues and we are so glad that you were able to make the most of this. It is also fantastic to hear that your request was met and were able to enjoy the views over this magnificent city (we really do love it!). We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Melbourne when you are next in town.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I usually stay down near Swanston St but in future will return to here. Typical upmarket business travellers hotel. Good room - decent size, nice to have a chair to sit in to watch TV, comfortable bed, choice of pillows, clean bathroom, nice toiletries etc etc Check in staff and concierge were both good too. Nothing to complain about - a comfortable nigh'ts sleep.

Sure, there could be free wifi but unfortunately, in Australia, it is not offered as standard. Guy Grossi's 'Florentino' is just around the corner if you're after a good meal,George Colombaris' 'Gazi' on the same St and also good to eat at, very close to Spring St, the museum, on the edge of Chinatown, handy trams to Fitroy & St Kilda in the cross st. Short walk only to the Mall.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ryanpiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your review Ryan. It was fantastic to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located within walking distance to some of Melbourne's best shopping centres, entertainment venues and restaurants and it was great to hear that you were able to experience some of this! It was also pleasing to hear that you were happy with the room offerings including our very comfortable 'Rydges Dream Bed' (www.rydges.com/dreambeds). Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in town.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were quite surprised how nice but small this hotel was. We were able to check into our room a little earlier that the original check in time. The room was really neat and very comfortable. We found the room got very warm during the evening and upon turning the air conditioning on, it was very noisy throughout the night.
The staff were very good and extremely helpful when needed. We will be returning again as we did enjoy ourselves.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thank you for your review Chris. It was great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the service received throughout. Although we do have 363 rooms we do aim to provide a personalised service to each and every guest, and it was great to hear that this was the case for you. Regarding the air conditioning unit, I will pass on your feedback to our maintenance department to ensure this is looked at, thank you for making us aware! We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Melbourne when you are next visiting.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews