We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Close to all the attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Ranked #82 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We stayed here for a weekend get away, was nice and close to all Melbourne attractions, only complaint was parking, having to pay to get your car out was annoying, however we utilised public transport, and had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Felicity R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your review Felicity. It was very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. The location of Rydges Melbourne is certainly a big plus and I am glad you were able to experience the great surrounds of the hotel. Regarding car parking, unfortunately the car park is not owned by us (we are just lucky enough to have a car park beneath us) so unfortunately we are unable to change the parking policies, however I will pass this on to car park management for you. We do hope to welcome you back next time you are in Melbourne and wish you all the very best for the year ahead.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,257)
There are newer reviews for Rydges Melbourne Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,417 - 1,423 of 2,257 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

After staying at the Rydges World Square in Sydney the expectations were to enjoy a similar
experience in Melbourne.. Regrettably it wasn't the case. Although very well located as well,. a block from Burke street, one of Melbourne CBD'S main streets, and just across from the entrance to the China town it proved that location alone isn't enough. Rooms, at least on the 16th floor where I have stayed were smaller and the bathroom (room # 1613) a cubicle in which the door had to be opened halfway in order to reach the toilet seat.. There was hardly any space to place one's shaving and cosmetics kit.For one night it could be tolerated but when you stay longer it becomes irritating.Believe that the hotel could offer new electronic safes , rather than "old boxes" which necessitate carrying additional key+holder and warning that loss of same carries a fine..Breakfasts were decent though. Free Wi-Fi limited to the lobby.

limited to the lobby.

Room Tip: If you are not happy with room just insist of being relocated. A couple in group did so and was move...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your your review David. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed the hotel's central location and close proximity to a great selection of eateries and entertainment venues. We appreciate your feedback regarding the room size. We have recently renovated a selection of our suits and hope to welcome you back in the near future to enjoy a more spacious room. Thanks again for your review and wishing you a happy and safe new year.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Great service, friendly helpful staff. Totally enjoyed our stay. Breakfast is like the continental buffets breakfasts in good hotels in Bali. Fresh, lots to choose from, great coffee,
Rooms spotless, have all you need without microwave oven. Very comfortable bed. Slept all Night...
Restaurant staff friendly and compliments to the chef.
In all, could not fault. Will be our choice of places to stay in the future.
Well done Ridges Hotel. Thank you.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank jeanetteBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph_Ancora, Marketing Coordinator at Rydges Melbourne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your very positive feedback Jeanette. It is great to hear that your recent stay with us was a very enjoyable one. I will certainly pass on your compliments to both the Chef and his team as well as the hard working Restaurant staff. We do hope to welcome you back to Rydges Melbourne in the near future.

All the best for the year ahead.

Many Thanks,
Joseph Ancora
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at the Rydges in October 2013 and the I am convinced the professional pictures provided by Rydges on this site, do not reflect the property I stayed at. The property is "ok" but very dated (specifically, the bathroom). The bathroom had a funny smell to it- luckily, the smell did not exist in the room itself. The lobby is small but nice. The bar staff were incredibly nice. We were in Melbourne over a weekend so the parking was free... which was a bonus. There are very few restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Was booked into Rydges because that's where the conference i was attending was held. Based on other reviews, my expectations weren't high. I'd advise others to moderate their expectations even more! There was only room for one taxi out the front, so mine had to park in the centre of the road - glad I had only minimal luggage. The foyer floor was in need of a serious vacuuming.

The room is - well, pretty ordinary. The curtains do an okay job of blocking out the light. The sheets, however, are one toenail from being torn into pieces. There's no room to put anything on a surface in the bathroom. The aircon is loud - lucky I have my trusty ear plugs; and lucky I'm not a watch-TV-in bed kinda person because this TV is a good 2 metres to the right of where you'd lay to watch it!

The saving graces of this hotel are
1) the team who are all hardworking, attentive, and warm and,
2) the food (can't believe I'm saying this about a chain hotel!). The food isn't stellar but it's edible (tick), and hot even when delivered to the room (tick), breakfast food is fresh, varied, and delicious (tick!).
Maybe it's a Melbourne thing?

If you want to go up a notch or four from the hotel food, however, Longrain is just around the corner (gorgeous) and there are loads of other fabulous eating joints and little bars within cooee.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyRaptor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013

When I first opened the door to my room I got a stale smell hit me coming from the bathroom. I didn't enjoy using the shower or spending any time in the bathroom. Everything else was ok except for the breakfast which was below average for a 20$ breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

My first impressions of the hotel were average to say the lest, from the time you get out of the cab drag your bags accost the carpet with no help.
Arrival into the room to be meet by a real fire exaction, this was the most disgraceful display I have ever seen in my years of travel.
There staff to assist or direct to where to go or to where to muster we mustered on a side street waiting for hotel staff to account and direct us to safety gave up waiting found the front of the hotel fireman waiting out front still no staff giving direction.
All I can say hope this dose not happen for real.
The laundry service is about 36 hours return, I did contact front desk did care about the issue, as like when I asked her to add my loyalty on check in

Room Tip: rate your safety if not concerned by this choose any room, but read other blogs first
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#37 of 160 in Melbourne
1,765 reviews
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,292 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#77 of 160 in Melbourne
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges Melbourne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges Melbourne Hotel

Address: 186 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#75 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £89 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges Melbourne Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges Melbourne is conveniently located in Melbourne's CBD, in the heart of the Theatre precinct on Exhibition street. With over 290 guest rooms and 70 suites. Rydges Melbourne is home to Locanda Italian Steakhouse Restaurant and Bar, featuring the best steaks from nearby Yarra Valley, an good variety of pastas and other mouthwatering options. Located in close proximity to Bourke Street Mall shopping, a block away from the Paris End of Collins Street boutiques and in walking distance to Rod Laver Arena and the MCG, Rydges Melbourne is a great choice if you are wanting everything at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges Melbourne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Rydges Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing