We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure North Melbourne
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$290
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$142
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$102
US$88
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Southbank Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveller rating
28
132
132
89
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
132
132
89
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopening windowstram linea bit tiredbar fridgehotel restaurantpublic transportbuffet breakfastcbdmelb
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 459 reviews
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My wife and I had to travel to Melbourne at very short notice, with business in the North Melbourne area, and booked the Mercure through a package based on its location. Its location was perfect for our needs, close to major arterials, public transport and shops, and a pleasant walk to the CBD of Melbourne. We arrived too early to check-in, but the staff were excellent in providing maps and directions to assist us with our business needs. On checking in later, we found the room to be in good order (a typical hotel room) and everything we expected. Given its distance outside the city CBD, we were a little surprised to have to pay for parking, but the fee was not too great. Our only real complaint related to the hotel's internet service. They utilise an external provider, with ridiculously-expensive and impractical internet packages. We found ourselves having to rely on my wife's smartphone, or searches for takeaway venues with free wifi, to meet our extensive internet requirements without draining our budget.

Room Tip: Have your own wifi internet provider
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterbmst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 January 2014

The only good thing about this hotel was the staff.they really cared and tried to help but as a platinum accor le club member i expected a real hotel,not just a cheap mcdonald like accor franchise put over a corpse of a hotel. The whole place is shabby,needs painting, and a good thorough cleaning i just stayed 3 days but that is enough. It took them 2 days to sort out my supposedly free internet connection . They charged me for it and the payment is still pending but i hope i get the money back. The hotel is far away from where the attractions are.so far that skybus will neither pick you up nor drop you off ,so a taxi will be an extra charge for you. There is a slow my gosh like 1 mile per hours tramway line 55 but only during the daytime. The location is not bad,parklike and the hospital only one bblovk away but for the money i would have expected something nicer. I got a deluxe room (my god how do the others look?) with stained carpet, a never working tv, out of 40 channels only 3 were not blurry or fading out and intenet never ever worked on the beginning. The breakfast was okay but neither cheese nor ham, just scrambled eggs,muesli and artificial juices. I got it for free so i will not complain but 22 dollars is a joke for that. The bathroom was dated and had some mildew. The room itself clean but check out at 10 and breakfast only until 9.30 is a real joke. Ahhh......soundproofing is poor and door banging is apparently an australian passtime. Would not come back to this hotel. No way. Waste of time,energy and money.. There are better options for less money, like the travelodge southbank or the hilton on the park, slightly higher in price....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adrianmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

It was a nice location once we worked it all out from a backstreet rather than major road with trams etc. Needs refurbishment before I would put it on my list of options. Restaurant was good. Very convenient to hospitals an di would recommend it for patient families.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Lyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I expected the hotel as a Mercure and ex Rydges to be of a higher standard.

Upon check-in, the lady at reception was clearly stressed and a little unfriendly. It was an extremely busy day for them, so I was a little forgiving on this matter, but would have liked a bit more of a welcome.

When we got to the room, it was fairly small, and not in great shape. The shower and bathroom were very small, and the shower floor was peeling and had patches missing. Some bathroom tiles had comes loose under our feet. There was a control for the aircon, however this didn't seem operational, and we were uncomfortably warm during our stay. To be fair, we didn't bother asking anyone about this, and just put up with it.

The noise that travelled between rooms and from the corridor was atrocious. we were woken up at around 1.30am on our first night from a group of people running up and down and talking. This went on for a little while, until what sounded like another guest asked them to be quiet.

There were some positives; the parking wasn't too expensive, the bed was very comfortable, and the shower pressure was fantastic.

The rate that we paid wasn't the overly expensive, however I feel like I could have found better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Akaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews