We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #59 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectation”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed for two nights in December. I usually use the Stamford when working in Melbourne but they were full so I chose the Savoy mainly because it fitted our budget. My wife and I did not expect much but were very pleasantly surprised when it greatly exceeded our expectations. This was our first holiday visit to Melbourne and we asked staff for assistance a number of times. The service was not just efficient and friendly, most places do that. It seemed the Savoy's service was sincere. Big difference.
Just fell in love with art decor theme, and the history of the place. Yes, it is not plastic, smooth and antiseptic like any number of new hotels but for us - in the words of Big Arnie - We will return!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We really appreciate your feedback about our sincere guest service and the Team will be thrilled to know they continue to do a great job.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,269
    1,603
    526
    150
    54
See reviews for
545
1,294
367
885
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Stayed at vibe savoy hotel from 9-11 January 2012. Extremely convenient location for us since it was located just across the road from Southern Cross Station (We used Jetstar and the shuttle bus stop at Southern Cross from Avalon, vice versa).

We arrived early at 10.30 am, checked in at the front desk, and was told that the room is available and we can go in the room straight away (very happy with that).

The room was clean, tidy and surprisingly quiet (room 809, on level 8 facing little collins street).

The staff were helpful and full of smile.

Ordered room service at midnight (toasted ham sandwich with chips), the chips were amazing (personally I would say it was the best potato chips that I ever tasted).

Checked out at 11 AM and left our luggage with them because our flight was at 8.45 PM that day, picked them up at 6 PM with no hassle.

Very happy with the whole thing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yosi1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am pleased you where able to check in prior to the normal arrival time and that the hotel met all your expectations.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back soon
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Only booked at last minute as needed somewhere close to Southern Cross station as son was departing on a kayaking camp at 7.00am the following morning.

Extremely pleasant receptionist who processed our check in easily and efficiently. Room was on the fourth floor and contained all the usual requirements though I could not find an information compendium telling me about restaurant times etc. Apparently it is on your TV!!

As it was quite late we went straight downstairs to eat at the bar/casual restaurant and ordered a light meal and some drinks asap. I had a nice Asian salad and my young son had a hamburger and a soft drink which was brought out by an extremely friendly and efficient waiter.

Room was extremely quiet and both of us had an excellent night's sleep. Great water pressure in the shower and the usual amenities you find. Did not eat breakfast at hotel but went across to a cafe and had toast and coffee before my son headed off on his camp.

Overall nice stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millsie58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I am pleased you and your son enjoyed the hotels location, quiet rooms and the great guest service we strive to provide each and every time.
We look forward to being able to welcome you back when next in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I have stayed here several times. Its in a very convenient place opposite a train station, and with trams a one minute walk away. The staff are very friendly and very helpful. The rooms are nice, though I haven't really worked the bedding out yet, there seems to be a doona for each side of the bed. The bathrooms are very dated and do let the rest of the place down, but they are clean and tidy. The breakfast buffet is very nice. We'll definitely stay here again, as it is so convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasminette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for providing feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed the hotels location and its convenience for you. We do look forward to being able to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

From the moment you enter this hotel you feel right at home. Friendly staff, great bar and atmosphere. My hotel room was very impressive. Spent a romantic night here with my partner. Having the bedroom on a mezzanine level was impressive as were the candles on the stairs leading up to it. Would recommend this hotel and the friendly staff and would definately stay there again. See you in February!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for providing some great feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. When I read your titled feedback "Very schmick!", I knew we had too of impressed. It sounds like you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in February. Happy for you to contact me via the hotel for your next booking.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed for NYE 2011-2012. Arrived at 11am just wanting somewhere to park the car. Sabrina the lovely check in clerk went out of her way to find us a room that was available 3 hours before we were supposed to check in. Another point to note was the super quick response to an email query i sent the day before check in. Our stay which would have otherwise been very good was made great by the consistently excellent service from all staff we interacted with.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winkski78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel.
I have personally passed on your kind words to Sabrina, who was thrilled with your comments about her service. We are pleased you where able to check in early and this was of benefit to you. We look forward to being able to accommodate you again when next in Melbourne
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I'm unsure how this hotel got such good ratings! This hotel is pretty run down- when looking on the outside of the hotel you may think "hmm not bad" but the instant you walk in, you'll quickly realize you may be wrong. The hotels are extremely small- the old school kind that take forever to get to the lobby. The paint in the place is horrific- it's one of those situations where you it may have been white in color at one time but currently is off white due to the accumulation of dirt. The carpet is old in feel, very rigid and whoever did the decorating should basically be fired. The rooms are VERY outdated. For example the beds are literally two TWINS or one queen which is the same as two twins because they just push them together!! That alone is pretty absurd. The mattress you can tell is very cheap- right when you lay on it you can feel the springs (no cushion whatsoever). The sheets again look like they are old and have not been washed- very dirty in color (I didnt even use the blanket because I felt it was so nasty). Overall the hotel is cheap yes, but remember you get what you pay for. I guess I felt tricked by how many great reviews this place had on tripadvisor but then again I think most people pay for its location. It is literally across the street from Southern Cross station so if you wanted to take the train to different locations you would start from there. Personally I think being closer to the city is much better-pay a little more and you'll stay not only in a nicer spot but closer to all of what melbourne has to offer.

Room Tip: The rooms with "queen" size beds are much bigger than those who want twins. Then you can j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nkim009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vhsm, Manager at Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay at the Vibe Savoy Hotel. I was disappointed to read your comments about your view on the decor of the hotel, and the general upkeep of it. The hotel has maintenance programs in place to ensure the product is always at its best regardless of the sell price we offer to our guests. The hotels internal painting inside the rooms is a soft cream colour that ties in with the rest of the art deco furniture. We have also invested recently in new bedding, so am surprised the mattress was not to your comfort. The hotel does offer all bedding types, and one of those are a twin zipper bed that is commercially used and makes for a comfortable king bed when made up. The hotel uses an external linen provider which provides into a large majority of all star rated hotels in Melbourne, however we are happy to pass your comments back to them for investigation.
Overall I am disappointed your stay was not to your expectation, and welcome the opportunity if again in Melbourne to come stay with us again, and change your view point on the hotel.
If you would like to discuss your comments any further, I can be contacted via the hotel.
Kind Regards
Brett Walker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#69 of 160 in Melbourne
4,886 reviews
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#90 of 160 in Melbourne
944 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,526 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Property: Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#56 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing