We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, but beware the paper thin walls!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #57 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but beware the paper thin walls!”
Reviewed 24 April 2008

We stayed at Vibe Savoy Hotel over a long weekend about a year ago.

The location of this hotel is great - tram right at the doorstep and right across the road from Southern Cross Station, making interstate and state-wide train travel so easy. It's also just a few minutes walk from the DFO where there are so many bargains. The Telstra Dome is also walking distance, so if you're visiting for a footy game, this is definitely the place to stay!

The hotel itself is wonderful for the price: great little reception with fast and friendly check in, little lifts that zip you up to tastefully decorated hallways with funky little black and white framed photos throughout.

The room itself was amazing for the price - great sized bathroom, fantastic little kitchen and everything you'd need if you were travelling around Australia and you wanted a nice, clean self-catering room. The room is small, but efficiently set out and is kept spotlessly clean.

The continental buffet breakfast in the morning was also good. It's served in a tiny breakfast bar (which also serves lunch and dinner) and includes cereals, yoghurt, fruit, bread, tea, coffee and juice and you can also order from the menu if you prefer. It's not plentiful and the service is pretty shocking with our waiter (there was only one for the whole room) neglecting to refill the food that had run-out on the buffet table and often disappearing for 10 minutes at a time, which was incredibly frustrating when all you want to ask for is some extra butter or something equally as trivial. The breakfast may not have been the most amazing offering in the world, but considering the price it's all you can really expect and it will easily tie you over until lunch time.

The only major issue we had was that we could hear every word that was said by the people in the room next to us. And unfortunately for us they decided to have friends over for pizza until 3am (yep, we heard the pizza delivery guy and everything!). The walls are so paper-thin there is simply no way you could get a decent nights' sleep at this hotel unless there were no other guests staying on either side of you. It was a real shame because we thought we had found our 'traditional' city hotel stay until this happened.

All-in-all, I'd love to say that we'd stay here again - the location, check-in, rooms and facilities were great, but if you can't sleep in a hotel or get service at breakfast time, then there really isn't any point staying at all.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank robynab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,160
    1,482
    497
    137
    51
See reviews for
508
1,191
331
810
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2008

The Vibe Savoy is in a historic building right across from to Southern Cross train station. Once you step inside, everything is completely renovated, with a fun, funky vibe. Reminds me of the Kimpton brand hotels (USA) - tasteful and modern. Public spaces are well kept and furnished.

Room layout was a bit awkward (no closet, weird hallways to bathroom, small TV) but the stay was still quite nice. Great workspace and good lighting.

Room service is OK although not as good as one might think based on the way it's hyped in the hotel and on its website. I would not recommend it if you have other options. The gym is small (~5 machines) but very well lit and maintained with a tv available.

  • Liked — Fresh, fun, funky vibe
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfromheretother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somewhere in the great unknown
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights over Easter. Location is great for Southern Cross Station (Skybus and trains) and it is good for about 3 different tram lines. Room was clean and a good size. Breakfast was also included and had enough choice to satisfy. Room was near Spencer St but couldn't here any traffic noise. Also really close to Telsra Stadium (AFL) and Docklands. Overall a very nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Babsjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

Stayed 4 nights in March in a queen size room on the 9th floor. Nice big room with very comfortable bed, only negative was the old, dirty and worn carpet. Have been in touch with management and they promise all rooms will have new carpets before the end of 2008! Bathroom was small but clean and worked well. Hotel has a lovely peaceful old-world atmosphere. All staff were very friendly and happy to help. Excellent location across the road from Souhern Cross station so the airport Skybus is very convenient ($26 return, fast & clean).

  • Liked — Peace & quiet
  • Disliked — Stay was too short
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMK2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

First time visit to this hotel, (but certainly won't be the last).
The staff were amazingly helpful and went out of there way to be of service to us. Rooms were clean and well presented. Room service food was brilliant. Location is good for Telstra Dome, South Bank and City. Cant fault the place. Recommend highly.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseandRobbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2008

Stayed here for 2 nights while at a on site conference. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble. Lovely little bar down stairs, with happy and friendly staff. Rooms a little small but very comfortable, Water pressure not so great, had to run around in the shower to get wet. Short work to Crown and directly across the road from the DFO shopping centre.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TCTGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2008

I stayed with my good friend here for five days in late Feb, while attending a conference in the city. First impression was over the internet, and I chose this hands down over Batman's Hill and Explorer's Inn because of the stylish art deco of the rooms.

Upon arrival, the room certainly had good decor! I'm quite particular about staying in modern (read: no flowery bedsheets, bathtubs from the 1900's:P) rooms so I was impressed by the red pillow, thick and luxurious zebra striped bedsheets, and clean decor. Makes you feel very at ease. Toilet has not enough shampoo! But the room is large, clean, bed is comfy, and bathroom clean and marble tiled- a bonus!

One BIG bummer is the breakfast. It was not included with the room rate of $135 Aussie. We bought a light breakfast including only cold food for $18 Aussie. You only get bread, muffins, cereal, and fruits- barely enough. The so called $25 plus big breakfast with hot food included just tiny sausages, hashbrowns, and hams. Sausages were tasteless, fried rice also tasteless and everything else like supermarket food. For the price I expected a full continental breakfast. I recommend you skip breakfast, save the bucks for a delicious Melbourne breakfast at the cafes on Collins Street!!

Front desk service was polite and friendly. When I asked for my friend to be given a second room card and added to my room, the staff quickly arranged it. And my friend was able to get her room card without a hitch when she arrived :) Room cleaning seems thorough. You can arrange for later cleaning up to 4pm.

Hotel is close to the Southern Cross station and a tram is just across the road! Very handy for getting to the St Kilda Beach and tourist areas. Good for all travelers.

Overall, I'd probably stay here again for the same room rates. Rooms and staff gave me a great stay!

  • Liked — Cosy decor, comfy beds, friendly staff, spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BbHugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4,398 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#11 of 158 in Melbourne
1,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Property: Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing