We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quick & simple stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Ranked #58 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“quick & simple stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Got a room on a secret deal on Expedia, was attracted by the descrption of 4.5 stars, hmmm, maybe a 3 or 4 star for me to be honest after my stay.

Nothing went wrong but nothing too special either, wasn't that busy for a Friday night, there were actually three staff at the front desk, but only one was serving customer, there were this customer asking for information about local tourist attraction, but the other two staff might be to attentative to this particular customer instead of greeting me and checking me into the hotel. By saying that, the check-in staff were indeed very nice and friendly.

Nothing special about the room, quite decent size I have to day, needs a little bit refurbishment to the bathroom and for a 4.5 star, maybe bathroom toiletries need an upgrade as well, all these things can be a nice touch for the customer.

Didn't try the breakfast or internet, but 20 something dollars for interent is just way too much these days for hotel, free internent might also attract some customer flow as well if that make sense.

Check out was speedy and efficient, again, very nice staff there.

A final note to hotel management if they are here, I left my GHD hair straightener in the room (616) on 5 April, so if you guys see this review, would you be able to post it to me as I thought a decent hotel will actually contact their customer if there are valuable stuff like this being left behind by customers?

Apart from that, great location and for a quick stay, this could be an ideal one for business traveller or stop over travellers.

Room Tip: can be quite nosiy if the room faces the southcross train station at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,219
    1,545
    516
    144
    52
See reviews for
521
1,250
348
855
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is just across the road from Southern Cross Station, which is also where the Airport Bus stops, so very convenient.
The building is an old one, with high ceilings, solid walls etc. It seems that it used to be another hotel many years ago.
Check in was efficient, room was well presented, clean, lots of space with a great view of the Docklands. The staff were polite and helpful. Breakfast in the room was delivered on time, overall the experience was a positive one. Only downsides were that there was no compendium in the room to tell you what's around, how things work etc. And, even though I was a few doors away from the lift, the sound still penetrated. Not a big deal if you are a good sleeper, not so good for fussy sleepers like myself. I would not hesitate to go back, but next time I'll ask for a room away from the lifts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizaSav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

I am not one of those who write reviews too often. I must admit that I am a hard customer to please. But Vibe Savoy opposite Southern Cross Station in Melbourne has provided me with one of those rather rare experiences where I was really very pleased.

I stayed there during early April'13 for three nights. We had arrived 4 hours ahead of our check in time but the hotel staff were able to find us a room to check straight into. The housekeeper was very friendly and quick to help when we had to ask for a mop to clean up some water spill.

When we were having trouble with the desk lamp, the front desk was quick to send us a serviceman. In general, we found the front staff friendly, polite and efficient.

In order to score a good review, amenities such as 24h reception, clean linen, nice bathroom, comfy bed, quiet rooms, fast lifts, good cafe etc are essential. Vibe Savoy was at par with any other reputed hotelier in Melbourne in those regards. Moreover, we found plenty of extra pillows and an extra blanket in the closet.

When we asked room service to deliver some cutlery to the room, they were prompt. Even the wake up call on the morning of our departure when the daylight saving had changed was on time.

It is surprising as to how easy it is to please a fussy customer. On other hand, I am also surprised as to how often other hotels fail to deliver services that are expected as a standard across the board.

In general, I was very satisfied with the location, quality and service of Vibe Savoy Melbourne. I would recommend this hotel to friends, family and those that are reading this review, which, quite frankly, is out of character for me.

Amit Sydney

Room Tip: Higher floors are more light filled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelami7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This hotel has al the comforts of home The rooms are spacious and very clean as is all the hotel and restaurants . It also has a breakfast buffet on the second floor and very cosy bar and restaurant in the lobby .. and the location is so central to all transport . Well worth the stay. and friendly staff..

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne4557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

I went to Melbourne for a show, chose this as its over the road from the station and only a 10-15 minute walk from the Arts Centre.

There is a nice bar if you want a late drink.

I had breakfast in their restaurant, buffet style - excelent. I have never had dinner there but I would like to give it a try.

Pleasant staff, rooms are fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ab W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The room was quite small and the showers was very poky, particularly given that I'm 6'4" and bigger than the average bloke. Location was reasonably central but there are better. Service from the staff was good and pleasant - always with a smile. Probably wouldn't stay at Savoy again given the better options available. Not a bad back-up option though.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013 via mobile

A no thrills hotel most suitable for business travelers. Rooms are clean, value reasonable. It's VERY convenient, located next to Southern Cross Stn and also Airport Bus Stn!!!

The only thing is that Internet charges are expensive A$22 per day. But it may be just that these thing are expensive generally...I come from Asia where these services would be significantly cheaper or even free.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kennedy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Docklands
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#65 of 159 in Melbourne
4,705 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne Northbank
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#88 of 159 in Melbourne
917 reviews
Southbank
Travelodge Hotel Melbourne Southbank
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne

Property: Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne
Address: 630 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#33 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#54 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vibe Savoy Melbourne
Hotel Vibe Savoy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing