We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Fantastic view from the top with Great Experience"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #18 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Initially going to Melbourne was a family trip for the first time- just the three of us. Melbourne is definitely a business city with a touch of cultural and arts compared to visiting the Gold Coast (resort type) before this stay. Staying at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins was unique because we expected your standard city chain hotel experience which it wasn't. The main lobby is on the first floor which we had to go up thru the shopping mall - which was OK for us, but they compensated this with a nice lobby entrance with a "Bon Jour" greeting. We felt very comfortable immediately. The service at the reception was friendly, polite and helpful. We then immediately went to our rooms and it was magnificent ! We had the corner room (highly recommended) and you could see the Northern East side of this City from a top view. Just splendid !. We also enjoyed our bed - very comfortable and the pillows - aahhh. We needed this after a long trip. Now, this is still more of a business hotel. It's not really ideal for children, although our child enjoyed the flat screen TV and audio music system complete with automatic push buttons bedside- she was happy. I would stay in this hotel definitely again - well worth the experience !

Room Tip: Corner Rooms on the right side of the hotel facing North are recommended especially on the higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gayamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,452)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,377 - 4,383 of 5,452 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

We spent 2 nights at this hotel as we have stayed here regularly since our honeymoon 22 years ago. It's long been our favorite hotel in Melbourne and we loved the corner room on the 44th floor. We requested a north facing room and this was provided by friendly check-in staff. The rooms, views and luxurious bed are the reasons we keep coming back. Only concerns were a complete lack of interest by the chef's at breakfast who even failed to provide a soft poached egg as requested, sadly they just weren't on their game. The cocktail's at the Atrium are really poor value when the small glass is filled to the brim with ice.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

The Sofitel is a fabulous place to stay. All rooms are high above the city traffic and out of range, but the views across the city or the bay are breathtaking. The rooms are high class, excellently appointed and the beds are great. This is a high class hotel from the valet parking to the succulent menu of Restuarant 35 ( check out the view from the restrooms on this floor ) . The only thing that kept me awake was the "cracking" noise of the wall plaster when the air was thrust up the fire escape near the room causing the wall plaster to move. It happens every half hour. I did report this on checkout and anticipate maintenance will attend to this.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisHamnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Melbourne, Australia
1
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We had a great stay with Sofitel. It is in a great location, the service is second to none and the pillow top beds are heaven after a big day exploring the city.

Breakfast and dinner were both wonderful, we don't like anything too fancy and the Atrium really hit the spot. All of this luxury does come with a price tag though.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An Accor traveller
Melbourne, Australia
1
Reviewed 22 September 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
An Accor traveller
Drouin
1
Reviewed 21 September 2011

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Accor traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
23
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I did not enjoyed the recent stay I had at the Sofitel Melbourne, due mainly to the rude reception staff when I was checking out. I found the staff very rude, arrogant and reluctant to help, when I asked them to clarify my hotel bill. The response I receive from the reception staff was suprising rude, arrogant and they seem reluctant to help. I am very disappointed by this and it spoilt the whole experience for my husband and I. I will not be returning to the Sofitel in a hurry. During my stay, I was booked into a luxury suite and if this is how they treat you when you were paying a lot of money, I would prefer to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,966 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,565 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,915 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
926 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
8,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £129 - £375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing