We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel club lounge - the best ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #18 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We stayed for 2 nights for our wedding anniversary in a prestige suite on the 44th floor. The views were spectacular and the suite was luxurious and very spacious. The suite contained a separate lounge and bedroom and included Sofitel club access. The club lounge was the best I have ever experienced and I have used numerous club lounges in a range of hotels. The lounge included breakfast (cold buffet plus some hot dishes as well as a selection of around 6 dishes cooked to order), light lunch, delicious French afternoon tea, large selection of canapes, finger food and alcoholic drinks in the evening (the food was constantly re-stocked) and cakes later (which we sadly didn't get to taste). Contrary to what previous reviewers said, the lounge include free wifi access within the lounge and also had several computer and a printer free to use. Coffee/tea as well as cold non-alcoholic drinks were available all day. The staff were very professional and helpful, it was a busy weekend but we never lacked any attention. It is certainly worth paying extra for club lounge access. The hotel's location is a little a way from the centre, but still within walking distance. The tram stops directly outside if walking is not to your liking. I would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: paying for a room with club lounge access is worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Swissie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to celebrate your Anniversary and for taking the time to write such a lovely and thorough review of your recent stay.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities, especially our Club Sofitel.

I was also very pleased to learn that you found all our team from Club Sofitel to be friendly and professional. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.
We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,485 - 3,491 of 5,459 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

My sister and I travelled for a birthday shopping trip. We dropped luggage early which was great but on arriving back at 3.30 pm knowing checkin was for after 2.00pm told our room was not ready. Left contact number for when it would be was phoned at 5.50 pm. and told we could now have our room. We did find this inconvenient as were unable to return to room to change for dinner. We were waiting for our call to check in. I do understand that sometimes delays happen but 4 hours is definately not good enough. The staff were great and did their best at the time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michael9332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. It is with regret to read that your stay was not as it should have been. We sincerely apologise for the lapse in service on our part.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I stayed here two nights, one night for work and one night business. I could not have asked for better service, I was traveling with my partner who is on crutches, they were so helpful with everything...

Room Tip: No pool, massages were available for booking to the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheAdventurer_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Pros : Lovely view from room, good breakfast with plenty of choices, nice staff.

Cons: No pool or spa, location was a little away from the centre of town, no sugar substitue offered with tea and coffee in room.

Room was spacious and clean - just expected a hotel of this type would have a pool on site. Very hot in Melbourne the day we checked in and actual had time and togs at the ready....

Room Tip: Rooms start on the 36th floor so all have good views. Ask for a table with a view for breakfast too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mintie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Due to the structure of the building, we are unable to build a swimming pool for guest use. We do offer our guests complimentary access to the swimming pool at our sister property, so during your next stay you are welcome to use this facility.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

I love, love, love this hotel. Comfortable, well appointed, excellent location and utterly professional service. Fantastic club lounge. And how is it that every Sofitel lobby smells the same?!

I would break my no-big-hotels-for-personal-travel rule for this one.

The only quibble is the 35th restaurant - wine list was a bit lacklustre and the service was bit clumsy and obtrusive. Avoid the restaurant and the illusion will remain intact!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anstowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer918
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 21 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hkgnd
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,975 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,571 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
2,087 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
929 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 161 in Melbourne
8,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £132 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing