We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Beautiful room with view to Albert Park Lake and the Grand Prix. Watching the storm roll in, bright lights of Melbourne and changing spectacles including the new soccer ground and arts centre spire. Lovely bed and facilities.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nakink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

I appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, and I’m also pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,396)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,148 - 3,154 of 5,396 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

A small but clean room on the 42 floor, with wonderful views over Port Phillip Bay. Watch young Jimmy next to those floor to ceiling windows. Its a loooong way down and that glass doesn't look anywhere thick enough. Disappointing behaviour from hotel in sending me a letter after my stay telling me they had billed me for goods from the mini bar. I hadn't touched their mini bar except to look for milk for the tea (which I couldn't find). OK, mistakes happen, but rather than call, the hotel just took the money out of my account without asking. Extremely poor form. I'll even go so far as to yell out 'shortbread fraud'. Jokes aside though, courtesy obviously comes a very poor second here...... once you've left the premises, that is.

Lots of really great hotels in Melbourne of which Ive stayed at a fair few. Go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tomandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Thank you for your honest and constructive review of our hotel. I am disappointed that you were incorrectly charged for a minibar item which you did not consume and I sincerely apologise. I will be following this up with my team to ensure this situation does not occur in the future. Rest assured the glass meets all stringent building standards. I do hope we may welcome you back one day for a trouble free stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed at the Sofitel with my husband, son and his girlfriend booked 2 rooms club level as a treat we had the most enjoyable time, staff are excellent, room comfy clean and wonderful views, though I did expect rooms to be bigger, bathroom beautiful. Club level fantastic nibbles & non- alcoholic drinks all day, evening more food! and alcohol served - staff in club room are very accommodating, breakfast served here was plentiful. The views from the club level were amazing and our rooms were on the 48th floor so say no more! The city was in party mode with the food & wine festival, Moomba & sporting events.. Managed to get to the league on the sunday unfortunately our team lost but was very impressed with how they have their sporting complexes set out. Of course shopping in Melbourne is also great. Had not been to Melbourne for sometime and really enjoyed venturing around this city.
I would stay at the Sofitel again great place to stay especially for a special occasion also central to everything.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debdownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

I was most pleased to read your review and I am delighted that you enjoyed your Sofitel experience. Please accept my most sincere thanks for taking the time to share your feedback.

The Hotel certainly is centrally located and I am glad that this was convenient for your needs.

Again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed 6 nights in a suite at this Hotel in February. The Check in was quick and easy and we were delighted to arrive in our room and see the wonderful view over looking part of the city. The room was large and well fitted out, very clean and up to the minute features. We had access to the Club Lounge which shared an equally impressive view accross the city. The selection of drinks and food in the lounge was excellent and we spend many hours there just ejoying the view.The hotel is at the top end of Collins street and only a short walk to a free tram service which goes around the central CBD. A great Hotel, would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R8fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Thank you for sharing your positive review on Trip Advisor. Your kind words are appreciated by everyone here. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We were very impressed with the Sofitel in Melbourne its so central to everything, very clean and well appointed. The vies were fantastic, staff warm frendly helpfull.Value for money and woild stay again .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank csf100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

I was delighted to read your comments and I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. At Sofitel Melbourne On Collins, we constantly strive to provide a level of service that exceeds our guests expectations and I am most pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I first stayed here in 2008 and remember having a good experience...

Now in 2013 some of the petals have fallen off the rose...

The staff is still nice and the lobby / entrance is still "Grand" but the interior of the hotel is worn down and the elevator lobbies and hallways look like they are due for a rip and replace.

Google shows this property as a 5 star but it is at best a 3 star... sorry..

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the lift bank. there are a LOT of elevators in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BanzaiMakai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your Sofitel experience.

I am most appreciative of your comments and am pleased to advise you that we are talking to our owners about updating the physical product.

Again, thank you for your constructive feedback and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our daughter booked us into this hotel as a Christmas present. We stopped at the Sofitel Melbourne from the 21st Dec 2012 for two nights. The room had views from every wall and you could see all over Melbourne. What can we say about the bed it was the best bed we have ever slept in and we are both in our late fifties! The river the tennis complex everything. The staff were so welcoming and did everything in their power to make our stay one to remember (which it was). They booked up our trips for us they walked us round to show us where we had to catch the bus they really could not have done any more. The ambience of the hotel is brilliant relaxed but very stylish. Wish we were going again and hopefully will one day and we will definitely stop here again. Thank you Sofitel.

Room Tip: Get one quite high to get the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patwalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelMelb, . at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2013

Thank you for staying with us at Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. We are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay; it’s always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

Guest reviews enable us to monitor our standards and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits you may make to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,772 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,430 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,015 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
8,400 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £141 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing