We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't expect sound sleep” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Don't expect sound sleep”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2008

Fantastic Hotel in many ways - Except that it carters for new born mothers and their babies from local hospitals - a fine gesture indeed, BUT don't expect a sound nights sleep as the new born babies crying was heard all night on two nights on a recent stay by me and my family. Don't expect value for money at $500 per night and no sleep. Also don't expect a sympathetic ear from the manager when you do complain!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Babies in nearby rooms crying and keeping our entire family awake
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank familytravelleroften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,054 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,322
    1,200
    350
    119
    63
See reviews for
569
2,821
318
872
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (795)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2008

Firstly, a disclaimer - I only paid for 1 night myself out of a 4 night stay (my employer paid the rest).

I loved my stay in this hotel, and found almost every aspect of my room exceptional.

The only cons are that there is no separate shower, which is a minor inconvenience but does set it apart in Aus, where hotels often have ample space and large rooms.

The breakfast buffet (again, paid for by employer) was only ok, with a lacklustre range and slow egg service. No smoked salmon, infrequent hashbrowns and poor cold meats selection means that I would not regard it as worth the price. The dinner menu from the same restaurant is great though. I would find breakfast elsewhere if you have a choice.

The gym, as others have said is a small one underneath the hotel and is rather hard to get to quickly- the special elevator doesn't work the way it should. However, it is well equipped for it's size and is a public (i.e. subscription) gym as well, not just for hotel guests. There's also a sauna/steam room but no spa or pool in the hotel.

The room was wonderful however and the bed beautifully soft, with the tv and touch screen tech controls working well and being easy to use. The staff were helpful, the views from my rooms were great and it is in an great location for access to the city, parks, museums and general Mel society

I'd definitely stay here again

  • Liked — Soft bed
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast selection
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynicor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2008

5 star but the elevators actually took up to 5 minutes (timed)to arrive at your floor.No ice in room or floor;therefore the room service team also had to wait for the elevators.Small thing but very disappointing .Great restaurant;shower;bed;view and location

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Elevators let them down
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whiskey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2008

Stayed at the Sofitel for 6 nights this week and was not blown away by the experience. I've stayed in Sydney and Brisbane Sofitel but Melbourne wasn't as good. Food from room service is poor (pizza which may have been McCain - inedible) and the staff are not overly helpful or attentive. On checking out and settling my bill I wasn't asked about my stay at all....so I handed them my feedback card.

The rooms aren't well insulated against noise. Each morning at 6am I could hear what I think were high heels in the bathroom upstairs and as they mount the tv speakers on the walls you can often hear your neighbours tv choice.

There is no pool in this Sofitel, fairly standard for a hotel at this level. The views are fabulous but the rooms, service and food isn't what I expect for my 5 star dollars than this. Next time I'll check out the Hyatt next door which is supposed to be fab.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Terrible food from room service, poor noise insulation and ambivalent staff.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 8281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2008

What a treat to stay here. High tech room system was a joy to use, from the mood lighting to the plasma tv. The bed is amazing. The only way this hotel could improve is to have an individual shower instead of the shower over the bath. Service was fantastic and the location is very good. You'll enjoy your stay here - I didn't eat in the restaurant - because there are so many other places to dine in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
910 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

This hotel offers upmarket accommodation in the city centre. The rooms are excellent, the beds are so comfy!. Very quiet, good for sleeping! Cafe La has some of the best food i have ever eaten

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Brenton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
95 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

We recently stayed here during the Australian Open tennis finals in January. We normally try to stay at the Grand Hyatt as a lot of the top tennis players stay there but unfortunately (or maybe fortunately due to substantial renovation work) it was booked out.

The location of the Sofitel is great (it's hard to beat Collins St) and our high-rise room had sensational views over Melbourne. The room was an OK size; however there are other five-star rooms on Collins St that have larger rooms e.g Westin. I agree with vietnambound's comments regarding the lack of storage and small bathrooms.

I was truly impressed with the room service menu. While the sevice was a little slow, the meals were imaginative and stylishly presented - not your standard hotel club sandwich, hamburgers or penne pasta offerings here. The two meals I ordered were certainly goumet with the best ingredients used. I considered it top restaurant quality. It was so good to see some creative thought put into the menu and presentation...other hotels could learn from them.

As for the gym...don't bother. It is located in a rabbit warren in the basement of the hotel. It was jam packed with equipment that looked like it was from the 60s. It was awful. In this health conscious world a lot of customers, me included, consider the gym a priority. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ClassyLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,165 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing