We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bed ever......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #15 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best bed ever......”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

From check-in to check-out, the entire experience was phenomenal. Great room, amazing city views day and night, friendly and helpful staff and the most unbelievably comfortable bed I have ever hurled myself at. Perfect for a special occasion and I'll be returning when I can.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read you had an enjoyable stay with us in particular a pleasant sleep in the Sofitel Mybed. We look forward to welcoming you and your guest back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,460
    1,245
    362
    120
    68
See reviews for
596
2,920
330
918
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

The Sofitel is renowned for the fabulous views of Melbourne - from the MCG and Fitzroy gardens on one side or the bay, city views on the other.
Our room (at $360 a night) provided a magnificent bay and city view, very comfortable king bed, a good sized room with a desk, two very comfortable armchairs, coffee table - and a pouffe for tired legs! The only issue of contention is the shower is over the bath. But the provision of the beautiful Lanvin of France toiletries compensated for that!
Situated in the top end of Collins street - known as the Paris end - Sofitel is ideally situated for tourists and everything is within walking distance or a short tram ride away (ask about the Myki card before you hop on!). As with many large hotels, the breakfasts are expensive: but down the escalators you'll find the Great Space Cafe. It can be noisy, but it has the best poached eggs and bacon (not streaky, fatty bacon either!).
As Melburnians, we have treated ourselves to many 5 star city hotels over the years, and this is now a favourite. Great service, great views.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I appreciate your comments regarding the shower over the bath. We are in the process of finalising the refurbishment of all hotel room bathroom to include a separate shower and have done twenty or so already. I apologise that the shower experience was not to your convenience however hopefully when you come back, we can allocate you a room with a separate shower for your ease.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Booked a room with a Bayview. But was not allocated one.
Went to No 35 restuarant and was underwhelmed. So we left without ordering. Overall we were disappointed in our experience. We expected alot more for the price of the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brett D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Spent the evening here with my partner, for his birthday and I arranged a cake to be in the room before our arrival, which was executed very well. There was also a bottle of champagne in the room, which was a lovely surprise. Room had a fabulous view and was lovely and quiet, with all the amenities we required. Staff generally could not have been more helpful, throughout our short stay. Love this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pantryshelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us during a special occasion. I will share your feedback to all Ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The staff were friendly but professional, the service great. View from 41st floor fabulous. Room very comfortable however bathroom on the small size and bath over shower (only negative) but toiletries lovely. Breakfast was fabulous. Overall a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay on the 41st floor. We are in the process of finalising the refurbishment of all hotel room bathroom to include a separate shower and have done twenty or so already. I apologise that the shower experience was not to your convenience however hopefully when you come back, we can allocate you a room with a separate shower for your ease.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Excellent Service. The room was exactly for what we wanted and expected. The view of Melbourne and the bay was simply fantastic. No criticism or suggestions. For the time spent and purpose of our stay it was perfect.


  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was thrilled to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. Congratulations on your Wedding and best wishes for the future. We look forward to welcoming back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,479 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,187 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
7,872 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing