We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little trip away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

5,170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,397
    1,228
    359
    120
    66
See reviews for
585
2,878
327
896
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (815)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Jetty, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sofitel and were shocked by a number of things. The following was the main points

 - there is no turn down service for a 5 star hotel (this was a shock to me)
- the rooms are extremely dirty
- you have cheap plastic bath mats
- the paint on wall is chipped
- the toilet paper is very cheap and rough 
- constantly told by reception "sorry sir we are at capacity" when asking to, go to no. 35 restaurant and the club lounge. 
- I asked for two "boomerang pillows" that never arrived. 
- being woken by maids who are cleaning the room next door and hitting the wall with their vacuum cleaner

The room was covered in dust, we took photos and sent to management, yet to hear a response.

I personally rate this hotel 4 stars, not 5.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fivestarhoppers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. I appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room. I have discussed your feedback with the Executive Housekeeper for immediate action and follow up. I extend my sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
192 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at the Sofitel in Collins St for 9 nights. We had a bayview room on a high floor. The shutters on the windows provided a really dark room on the days we wanted to sleep late.
When we opened the shutters the view of Port Philip Bay was breathtaking.
It is almost impossible to find an area of this hotel where significant improvement is needed. The breakfast on Level 35 on all days was superb - the staff went to great lengths to ensure we had what we wanted. The fresh fruit espceially was delicious.
The domestic staff were attentive to detail and our room was always made up with minimum fuss.
The location of the hotel is really good with very good accesss to trains and trams if you need to leave the CBD.
Will we be back ? Definately.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a bayside room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrickyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you and your guests back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
300 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

What a lovely hotel. The beds are exquisite with pillows that are oh so comfortable. Loved the marble bathroom, decent toiletries and ambient room lighting. A delight to stay here.
I saw Clive Palmer check in while I was here. If its good enough for Clive then it's good enough for me! Loved my stay.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank coralhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, hotel Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you had a pleasant stay with us and experience of the Sofitel Mybed and we met your expectations. We look forward to your return the next time you are in Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,345 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,219 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,533 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing