We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #15 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The Sofitel was everything we expected and exactly what we wanted for our Melbourne visit. First, it is a central but quiet location. We had reserved a room in the Club level and were not disappointed. The service is impeccable and generous in the amenities offered. The room feels a little on the small side but is well appointed and cozy. The views are from the clouds looking out over the City. Your overall sense is of being at a luxury hotel that knows it is great and goes about ensuring that knowledge.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Edgecombek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing the finest, most up-to-date product in the competitive Melbourne market and so we certainly appreciate your feedback and spending your precious time in doing so. I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you and your guests back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,460
    1,245
    362
    120
    68
See reviews for
596
2,920
330
918
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (834)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

For an entry-level room, it’s a lot bigger than I had imagined. The spacious room comes with a business desk as well as two cushy lounge chairs. Our room also provided views to a rather green side of Melbourne through their floor to ceiling windows. The marble bathroom and the closet in comparison are slightly small. On the first night of our stay, there was a private party at the Atrium Bar and let’s just say that the room doesn’t have really good sound proofing.

All the negatives aside, the location of Sofitel is fantastic. Known for its location on the Paris end of Collins Street, the hotel is close to the shops but it was also within walking distance to a number of the restaurants that we visited. Also, after long days of eating and walking around, we found the king size Sofitel MyBed to be extremely comfortable and relaxing.

During our stay, we rented a Mini Cooper S for our day trip along the Great Ocean Road, and we found the valet parking at the hotel to be extremely convenient and efficient. Our car was always ready for us at front of the hotel on the drive way.

Also to the hotel’s credit, the check-in and check-out process was quick and friendly, in true Sofitel fashion, we were always greeted with a warm “Bonjour”.

Although we won’t be staying at the Sofitel on our next visit to Melbourne, I still think that the Sofitel is a classic hotel that offers quality accommodation in a central location. Its price tag is surprising quite reasonable for its five star status as well.

For photos of the hotel and our room (no.4025), please visit my travel blog:
http://dolcebunnie.blogspot.com.au/2014/01/sofitel-on-collins-melbourne-australia.html

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DolceBunnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. We are within close walking distance to various attractions which is why our guests choose to stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing the finest, most up-to-date product in the competitive Melbourne market and so we certainly appreciate your feedback and spending your precious time in doing so. I do apologise for the inconvenience caused by the noise emanating from the Atrium Bar. I hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you and your guests back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
worldwide
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The Melbourne Sofitel really is a fabulous hotel. The staff are helpful and attentive and the facilities are all first class.
Sofitel Melbourne has great views, beautifully appointed rooms, their famous Sofitel beds and a knock out breakfast - with a view to match. The hotel building itself it a spectacle to behold. Definitely a favourite for me. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieK76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip advisor and for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your Sofitel experience and a nice sleep in our Sofitel MyBed. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your guests back in a not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,479 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,192 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
7,872 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing