We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't go wrong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

This is my 3rd stay at the Sofitel of Melbourne and the 1st stay of our 3 month old baby. As usual, the rooms were perfect and nothing to fault. The beds are very comfortable!

The portacot provided for our baby was made up just as comfortable as our bed and also included a complimentary teddy bear as a gift. What a great idea!

The staff also helped us sterilise our baby's bottles, dummies etc in our microwave steriliser which was very helpful. We will definitely be back each time we stay in Melbourne.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank misspink48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing the finest, most up-to-date product in the competitive Melbourne market and so we certainly appreciate your feedback and spending your precious time in doing so. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,318 - 2,324 of 5,360 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

I booked a night away at the Sofitel for Sunday night over the Australia Day weekend. I got a great deal through Wotif, which was the start of a great mini break. The room has all the facilities we ended and was quite spacious. The toiletries were by Roger & Gallet, which was a nice touch. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The room itself was quiet and we didn't see many other guests. We were on the 43rd floor which had great views day and night. Finally they had a late check out at 11am which meant we could go for a walk through the Fitzroy Gardens, come back and have a shower before we checked out. We decided to have breakfast elsewhere as in the hotel it was expensive.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dionne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in providing the finest, most up-to-date product in the competitive Melbourne market and so we certainly appreciate your feedback and spending your precious time in doing so. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bling26
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Wonderful hotel to celebrate 40th birthday. Hotel left a surprise bottle of sparkling wine for my husbands 40th. Service was flawless from start to finish. Quiet room, most comfortable bed I have ever slept in plus great views from room. Great bar and they did a great Eggs Benedict for break key....with a great view. Close to some fantastic restaurants. Can't wait to return, head and shoulders above other 5 star Melbourne hotels we have stayed in.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LoveBow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us for your 40th Birthday. We pride ourselves in providing the finest, most up-to-date product in the competitive Melbourne market and so we certainly appreciate your feedback and spending your precious time in doing so. We hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

My husband booked a large corner suite for a special surprise for me. We had stayed the previous night at Crown Metropol with our adult kids so this was to be something special just for us. The hotel is in a nice location at the top end of Collins st, near the gardens, boutiques, theatres and some nice restaurants; however I think there is more choice for dining at the Crown complex and Southbank.

Our first impression upon entering our suite was how tired it looked, with the carpet worn in some places. Our next impression was concern about the thumping base sound we could hear. We suspect it might have been coming from the bar; fortunately it was turned off by the time we retired for the night, but you wouldn't want to try napping during the day with it going.

The view was quite spectacular but keep in mind these are not full width windows in this hotel - see picture. Overall we were a little disappointed in the dated appearance of this hotel suite, particularly given that we had paid double the price than our much nicer (albeit smaller) room at the Crown Metropol the previous night.

I should add that we are quite fussy and we have stayed in some beautiful 5 star hotels. We did particularly enjoy the Atrium Bar and the staff were always friendly and helpful. If you are wanting a special night away I think there are other hotels in Melbourne which are better value for your money. If you can get a good deal to stay at Sofitel, go for the lovely dining and the beautiful view.

Room Tip: Corner suites have lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Triecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. The views of Melbourne are spectacular from our guest’s rooms and dining areas on level 35. I have taken note on your comment regarding the room and appreciate you doing so. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your guests back in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We went to the Sofitel to stay when we attended the P!NK conference.
The hotel is lovely and the views are to die for. I feel the rooms are getting a little tired now and could do with some updating. The restaurant is amazing go there and check out the view.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Myounger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. The views of Melbourne are spectacular from our guest’s rooms and dining areas on level 35. I have taken note on your comment regarding the room and appreciate you doing so. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and your guests back in a not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Rooms start at 35th floor so pretty much guaranteed a decent view. For the money accommodation is only average and definitely not 5 star by international standards - fairly small, dated and a little shabby with poor quality bathrooms. Hotel charges for everything (Internet, water etc.) and some of the reminders in the room are quite aggressive. Melbourne is a wonderful city but the same cannot be said for the Sofitel.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. It is disappointing to read that you did not enjoy your overall stay with us. Concerning the charges, we are placed alongside our competitors in Melbourne and are following the trend set. I apologise that this experience did not meet your expectations, however we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
5,693 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,771 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 162 in Melbourne
4,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,994 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 162 in Melbourne
2,392 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 162 in Melbourne
8,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £148 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing