We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Mountain Travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #18 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,342 - 2,348 of 5,486 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

This factory style hotel which has seen better days, is huge and offer small room and tiny bathrooms. Although well equipped, all is dated even though they rewired the electrics to give you a hightec feel.
Sofitel write on their logo " luxury hotel" but this one is far from luxury.
Although staff are polite and friendly, there are very few of them around and the location at the Paris end makes it far from the center of town.
Nice view however from this high rise windows and breakfast choice is large even though not of a very high quality.
Lastly, My Bed which Sofitel pride itself on, is too soft all through rather than being a spine support mattress and a soft and comfortable pillow top.
To sum it up, it is expensive for what you get, so you better off to book at a more modern property around this area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TalParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, and it is with regret that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.
Your feedback is very important to us. We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
We sincerely hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Well this was my first time staying at a 5 star hotel for my husbands birthday and We were left disappointed. The room wasn't five star, I have stayed in 4.5 star rooms that exceeded what we got at the Sofitel. On arrival we were given a free upgrade which was a generous gesture and afforded us the beautiful views we anticipated. But as for the room itself, the furniture seemed shabby and the bathroom depressing. Tiny weird shower with rusty railings, large puttied up tile holes, badly stained floor tiles and ... a shower CURTAIN?? Do 5 star hotels really have a shower curtain? Ew. No where to hang things either, The toilet was for disabled being extremely high and well it reminded me of one of those disabled public bathrooms. Turns out we were "upgraded" to a disabled room which was not requested nor mentioned.
Anyway the service was certainly 5 star and very professional but what I found strange was, on checkout, we weren't asked how our stay was and if everything was okay so I felt they didn't care or want to know but later decided to submit an email via the web site to the manager....after spending considerable time writing it, I get a message after submitting saying thanks but btw our web forms a bit dodgy, contact us if u don't hear from us in a day. What the?? Couldn't they put that message up at the start so as to not waste my time having to do it all over again? I didn't bother but am looking for a hotel later in the year to take my daughter to for a night and checking hotels listed close to Rod Laver and came upon these reviews and just not sure I would spend money to stay here again!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank coffeegal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We would hope you would call our executive office at your convenience on 03 9653 7730 or email us directly on h1902-am01@sofitel.com. We look forward to hearing from you and apologise that you weren’t afforded the usual high standard of service we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

very comfortable and relaxing close to the city restaurants and theatres also lots of shopping to do while staying in the city area room is clean and tidy easy to get to and travel to various events as needed

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Blackwoodtoyworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Julian924
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pedro844
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Vivian D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,068 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,612 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
952 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,125 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £132 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing