We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girl's Weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Pietrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,252 - 2,258 of 5,401 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2014

The room was fantastic, all the staff were very friendly, just surprised that a five star hotel could be rated as such without a pool. Yes I could and did use the Novotel's pool; but that was not a very convenient solution. Apart from the pool issue, everything else was five star.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank mjward1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your guest room and you found our staff to be very friendly.
I also appreciate your comments regarding the lack of pool and I sincerely apologise for the impact this had on your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Hotel has amazing views to the ocean. Room was very comfortable with good bathroom facilities. Staff were friendly and helpful. Concierge explained the Mikey tram ticket system to us which was very helpful as first time visitors to Melbourne. Location is excellent, straight on to Collins St and within easy reach of Fed Square, Chinatown, parks etc. Hope we can visit Sofitel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels.
I was very pleased to learn that you found all our team at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins to be friendly and helpful. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank kevvyj
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 March 2014

When I first stayed in this hotel many moons ago, this property was rated as number one in Melbourne on this website. It's sliding down the charts currently sitting at number three and it's not difficult to see why.

Upon arrival, the staff in the arrivals area didn't even acknowledge my presence so I proceeded up to reception. Here I was greeted with a smile but was advised that there were no rooms available, the time was after 3pm which is the generic check in time. I was asked to make myself scarce for a short time.

As a Le Club member, I have the facility to select a desired room which isn't always available to you. In my case, I have selected that I prefer a room on a higher floor and a room that's away from the lifts. The room I was given was 2 floors up and adjoining the lift. The lift has a loud chime that could be heard clearly from my room. It would affect light sleepers.

The bathroom was set up for disabled guests, something that I'm not. As this was initially booked as a romantic getaway, if I was given this room I'd have been extremely unhappy as there is no bath or anything exquisite about the bathroom at all. There were also long hairs all over the bathroom floor from past guests, the longest hair on my body is no longer than 1 inch so it certainly wasn't from me.

The room itself was cleaner than the bathroom but still needed improvement. The windows facing east were so dirty that it was very difficult to see out of them.

Upon leaving, again the gentleman at the door didn't acknowledge me, let alone ask if I needed transportation or a taxi organised.

I won't be returning.

Room Tip: Ensist on a room on a higher level and away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GF2183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We would hope you would call us at your convenience on 03 9653 7730 or email us on h1902-am01@sofitel.com.We look forward to hearing from you and apologise that you weren’t afforded the usual high standard of service we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Kerri P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I love staying at sofitel we always feel welcome, it's clean great food and the best service. we love the views from our room and always up grade I like the larger rooms , love getting the voucher for drinks and chocolates we get on arrival , a lovely personal touch.we atay there as its our little touch of heaven .I wish we could afford it more often but we look forward to staying as much as we do


  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank marg16_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for returning to stay at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. We pride ourselves on providing genuine service and those little extra touches that make a stay memorable. It’s great to hear you had a pleasant experience. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,788 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,435 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,824 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,417 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £135 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing