We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melbourne at its Finest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #15 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Melbourne at its Finest”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Beginning with the exemplary Sunday brunch at No:35, spectacular views, amazing food, wine & ambiance, checking into 5 Star room,showcasing Melbourne at its finest - Perfection!
Best way to celebrate!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for returning to stay at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels.
We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,478
    1,256
    362
    120
    68
See reviews for
598
2,935
333
925
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (845)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Outstanding in every way. Stayed in a Prestige Suite, which was exceptional and had the most amazing views of Melbourne. The staff at Club Sofitel are the best in Melbourne - no other hotel in Melbourne matches their level of service provided or the quality of food and beverages on offer in their club, including one of the best breakfasts I have ever had in my life. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
I was very happy to read that you enjoyed the Prestige Suite and the view that came with it. We are blessed with all rooms having fabulous views of Melbourne.
I was also delighted to read that you truly enjoyed the Club Sofitel experience and that our Ambassadors were able to make your stay even more memorable.
We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for one night and I must say that given the price of the room I am quite disappointed.
The room was spacious and the amazing views over Melbourne as it was located on the 40th floor. But that pretty much all good things I can say about the room. The room itself was old, the paint was coming off the ceiling, the bathroom was rather small and outdated.
Internet was a disaster…they give you a small limit on internet per day and even that is very poorly working…
Staff was so so, great, super nice and helpful concierge, however staff at the reception rather unfriendly and arrogant. Overall it is not a hotel which makes you feel welcome.
Also having booked a So-gourmet package (which I have often tried in other cities) I was very disappointed that you can only use the 60 dollars voucher in the bar and restaurant and not on room service…same kitchen, same service after all and other hotels let you do it as well. So we had to go down to the bar and order items from the in room dining menu and eat it there… I do understand that the hotel hopes to make more money that way but come on…Great breakfast though and super friendly staff at the breakfast!
Also there was no complimentary bottle of water…I believe that the Sofitel standards are not met in this hotel…or is it just European Sofitel standards? On the other hand side the Sofitel in Sydney offers outstanding service to its guests…so it’s probably just a matter of this hotel in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papeetee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. As your feedback concerns me immensely, I would hope that you would kindly contact me on 03 9635 7730 or via email h1902-am01@sofitel.com, so I can find out a little more about what didn't go so well. I sincerely look forward to reviewing this with you and thank you again for staying with us recently. We certainly do not want to create memories as you have alerted us. I hope we can make it up to you one day. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengworden
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great service, location, restaurant. Lovely dinner served by knowledgable waiters. Spectacular view of Melbourne and surrounds, looking over the parkland and MCG especially nice from the 35th floor. Room was very comfortable with choice of pillows and great bed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us and the opportunity to dine in No35 Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming to welcoming you and your guests back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Another excellent stay - great location and service. The rooms have been slightly renovated since my last visit. Very good for conferences. Ideal for Accor Advantage Plus members. Try the pillow menu.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.

It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Sofitel on Collins is located at the so-called "Paris-end" of Collins Street. As such it is close to Chinatown and many of the restaurants in Flinders Lane and other adjacent areas. It is also right on the tram-line as well as being only a 5 minute walk to Flinders Street railway station.
The hotel is situated at the top of an office tower and thus many of the rooms overlook the entire Melbourne metropolitan area. The rooms themselves aren't overly large, but are well equipped. The showers are of the "over the bath type" which is not my preference.
A couple of other comments are that it is strange for a hotel of this type to not have a swimming pool. Also, the lobby bar closes early at 7.30pm which means you have to move to the 35th floor for a drink after that time. In our case, there was a private function at the latter bar which restricted the available space.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 30 March 2014
I was pleased to your comments on TripAdvisor. Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is within close walking distance to restaurants which is why our guest choose to stay with us. Thank you for your comments regarding shower over the bath, I apologise that the shower experience was not to your convenience however hopefully when you come back, we can allocate you a room with separate shower for you pending availability. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,547 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,678 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 160 in Melbourne
8,000 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,323 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing