We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Celebration”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Jules3391
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,179 - 2,185 of 5,401 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank SueBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I have stayed at the several Sofitel's in Australia and Shanghai. I have to say the Melbourne sofitel is hard to beat. The ambience is wonderful and the staff certainly know how to make you feel welcome. If you can afford it the club sofitel is well worth the extra $. The breakfast and canapes are substantial, then you toss in the morning, afternoon tea and light lunch! We stayed in a beautiful King bedroom with beautiful views of the city, wonderful weekend get away ....

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travelmad888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the Sofitel Club Lounge experience. Thank you also for your comments regarding the service from our Ambassadors. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Sofitel on Collins clearly trades on the reputation and status associated with its international brand.
I was impressed with front desk staff who demonstrated friendly and efficient service on checking in, and looking forward to my first time staying there.

The aesthetics are all brown/white marble, chipped wood paneling and an explosion of beige. I appreciate there are some people who see this sort of thing as somehow glamorous, and it was, back in the early 90s. in 2014, the place needs a serious makeover if it wants the '5 star' tag.

Adding to this outdated feel, on checking out, the staff member at front desk greeted me with 'bonjour'. In an Australian accent. And I'm not French. Perhaps staff think this makes them and the Sofitel look sophisticated, but it just made them look parochial and rather silly.

Beds and pillows were very comfy. However the wifi dropped out approximately 10 times during my 1 night stay (for business), depending on where I stood in room 4610. Not acceptable given the cost of staying here.

I'm unlikely to recommend the Sofitel to my colleagues.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

We are sorry we let you down in those areas described and I sincerely apologise for the impact this had on your stay here.

Again, thank you for taking time to advise us where we can improve our services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just stayed one night unfortunately to complete a weekend birthday celebration. This is our second stay at this lovely hotel and once again flawless service & smiles from all staff. A beautiful place to stay in Melbourne and my favourite. Thank you for the Champagne and chocolates! Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoomerangK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your past stay and our facilities. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have just spent four nights at the Sofitel on Collins in Melbourne. Our second stay there in the last three years.

I reviewed the Sofitel on trip advisor after our last visit, and before writing this review had a quick look back at what I had written then. Much of the positives I mentioned in that review still stand, as do the criticisms. However following this visit, my overall impression was not quite so positive.

The location is still great, the general feel of the hotel is still pleasant and the shopping complex below is even better than it was last time. The views from the rooms are still magnificent of course, the bed still supremely comfortable.

On the negative side of the ledger, the decor is still dated, the temperature in the shower is still difficult to get right and the electronic controls for the room lights are still a nuisance. Add these to our new complaints, the wifi (very slow), the turn down service (pillow perfume and one water bottle for two people??), dirty ceilings in the bathroom, a huge alarm clock which renders the bedside table on one side absolutely useless for anything other than the storage of said alarm clock, a fruit bowl with a rotten strawberry left in our room for the entire duration of our stay, in spite of the fact that liquid had started to run across the plate from the decaying fruit, and you get a less than perfect experience.

I guess the biggest downer since our first stay, is that we now compare it to the Sofitel and Pullman stays that we have had in Asia in recent times. This is where this hotels falls flat. The above complaints are small (petty even) but this is where a five star hotel is meant to shine. Recognition of status was also fairly poor at the Sofitel on Collins, and this might well be the final nail in the coffin for future Melbourne accommodation requirements. In spite of the loyalty program, our next stay will probably be at the new Sheraton close by.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCameleer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for your constructive feedback following your second visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. It is with regret to read that your overall experience was not as it should have been. I would hope you would call us at your convenience on 03 9653 7730 or email us on h1902-am01@sofitel.com so we can look into your situation a little more and apologise in person. We look forward to hearing from you and apologise that you weren’t afforded the usual high standard of service we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I had a fabulous experience staying at the Sofitel.
Staff and facilities were excellent. The bed and pillows were so comfortable.
Location was fantastic.
We can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.

It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,787 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,435 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,822 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,417 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £135 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing