We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One negative comment - the rest is all good.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

First with the negative: Although the room itself is large, the very small bathroom is a letdown here, and the shower is in the bath itself. I much prefer a free standing shower as I’m always concerned about having an accident when clambering over a bath rail to a floor. On past stays, a loofa has been provided with the toiletries, and a comb, but not on this occasion. (I actually found myself in need of a comb.) Rant over. On the upside, the bathroom has magnified mirror, which has an inbuilt light, making shaving, or applying make-up, easier.
The club lounge is excellent value at the Sofitel, with light offering for luncheon, as well as pre-dinner drinks and canapés. Along with standard breakfast fare such as cereals, yoghurt, bacon, and so on, some additional breakfast items can be ordered from the menu.
I dined in the Sofitel Restaurant, No.35 which I tend to do when staying here. In my view it has a fairly limited menu for vegetarians though.
The Bell staff in the car arrival area are always prompt to help with luggage in and out of vehicles.
I requested a slightly later than normal check-out to allow me fresh’n up after a meeting and before my flight and this was granted despite the fact that it was on a Friday leading into a busy weekend and this was much appreciated. I do like the Sofitel but do hope that next stay I have a room with a better bathroom!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank JustAnotherDayIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Thank you for your review on Tip Advisor. Pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the Sofitel Club lounge experience. With regards to the bathroom, we certainly can update your guest profile to reflect your preference for a separate shower and we will endeavor to meet this need on any future stays. Please let us know. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,082 - 2,088 of 5,401 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Maureen K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Melbourne great place and our stay in sofitel made the experience even more better,

a great view of the city from the room ,but the room are a bit small but has every thing we required ,

a great place and defiantly will stay when we travel to Melbourne!,

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rahulsankhla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry the size of our guest bathroom was not to your liking. However, I am very pleased that this will not prevent you from staying with us again. We look forward to your next visit to Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent service from everyone we came across.
Enjoyed our corner room upgrade with 180 deg views Nice bathroom
Club Soffitel was relaxed with nice room and good canapés in lounge
Only problem was we stayed only one night


  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank dave548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience following your recent visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.

It was wonderful to hear that we made your stay truly enjoyable. We are dedicated to constantly improve our services and your positive words are much appreciated by everyone here.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I don't mean to gloss over the all-important aspects of hotel reviewing by saying EVERYTHING was perfect, but what else does one do when this is the case?

This is our favourite place to stay in Melbourne (even though the Langham has more comfortable beds!). The staff are just so intelligent. I don't know what their recruiting methods are, but it's got to have something to do with IQ tests. You simply feel listened to and understood from the first moment.

This was a Club Sofitel experience for us too, so we got to sample the lounge. Impeccable is all I can say. Excellent food, a wide range of drinks, abundance of everything.

Thank you, Sofitel Melbourne. We will, of course, be back.

Room Tip: Club Sofitel is actually very good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and welcome back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. Pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the Sofitel Club lounge experience. I also appreciated your kind words about the service received by our Ambassadors and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the Sofitel team. We look forward to your return to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,787 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,435 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,824 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#29 of 161 in Melbourne
8,417 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £135 - £392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing