We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding as usual” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #16 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

5,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,323
    1,202
    350
    119
    63
See reviews for
569
2,823
319
872
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (796)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel for three nights and could not have been happier with our experience. We had a lovely room on the 43rd floor - the room was a King room and very large. We had a view over the Treasury Gardens and the MCG - absolutely stunning. The staff were very helpful with any requests we had and the location is great at the top end of Collins.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your kind words about our friendly Ambassadors. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for partners birthday and considering its a 5 star, the room and hotel wasnt at all! The lobby is nice and modern, then when you get to the room it was dated. The bed was lumpy and swallowed you whole. the pillows..... what pillows? and that was suposed to be a 'luxury' room....AVOID if staying at the weekend, we stayed a Friday and they had a function till 5am underneath our room with music playing very loud. deff nicer hotels to stay in within Melbourne. Wouldnt come back again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KirstyP600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent visit to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. It is with regret to read that your overall experience was not as it should have been. We have tried to contact you regarding your experience with us. I would hope you would call us at your convenience on 03 9653 7716 or email us on h1902-am01@sofitel.com so we can look into your situation a little more and apologise in person. We look forward to hearing from you and apologise that you weren’t afforded the usual high standard of service we provide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our anniversary.
Sofitel Melbourne was truly a beautiful, romantic place to stay.
The corner room was wonderful and the views we could see of Melbourne were fantastic.
The staff were beyond exceptional, and the afternoon canapés were delicious and plentiful.
If we knew there was so much on offer we could have actually skipped dinner.
The variety of drinks at the bar was abundant.
All this was included in the Signature Club.
Its' location was excellent as it's close to everything.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are definitely the better way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and thank you for choosing to celebrate your Anniversary at Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and the Sofitel Club Lounge experience. Thank you also for your comments regarding the service from our Ambassadors. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at Sofitel Melbourne for the first time (since beautiful Bruges some time ago!) As it was for a special occasion we chose carefully - so we thought. We made the move away from our regular Melbourne hotel to do this.

Sadly our stay was impacted as follows to the point we cancelled our return visit:

...this hotel has the potential to be one of the most impressive in the CBD. Unfortunately it lets itself down badly by trying - unsuccessfully - to be all things to all people.

The Club lounge is magnificent with that WOW factor for decor, ambience and views. Exactly the reason we went there. Our first evening was soon badly affected by young children (5 or more) from several families virtually running riot all evening. No control from parents or staff.

Sadly we left early and commented to staff as we left. In short this was repeated at breakfast & for the next two evenings. We were extremely disappointed. Other guests also indicated their displeasure to us.

Managers have made some attempt to compensate with wine(!) and followup phonecalls. Apologies have been made. Assurances this will change have been given, but only time will tell.

Our advice is "make up your mind guys - are your CLUB lounge services that of a prestige hotel, or are they (quote Managent) those of a family friendly hotel" - whatever that means? In our opinion these two are mutually exclusive.

We believe 5 Star Club lounges are no place for children and the hotels where a "no children after 5pm policy" is in place are the ones we have enjoyed the most and return to with confidence.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank KATOF19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your continued feedback specifically relating to allowing children in Club Sofitel. We do encourage families to stay with us and will do so in the future. Many prestigious hotels also allow families to stay all over the world. We apologise that we disappointed you and that this was an inconvenience to your otherwise positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed there for 2 days and everything was so pleasant, from location, check in/check out service,friendly and very courteous staff, the room was so big! Beautiful view, we were at the 45 floor and we could admire it from the bed. I loved and would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatiaBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,167 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#21 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Property: Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#15 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing