We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #15 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We had a pampered weekend here with a package that involved champagne, breakfast and a late checkout. The corner room was fine and had a wonderful view. The decor was pleasant rather than luxurious but the service was as good as we have experienced in Melbourne. Extremely attentive and friendly, breakfast in the room was the best room service we have had and the staff could not do enough. Would stay here now as our preferred Melbourne hotel.

Room Tip: High floors are great
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RossY415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.
We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,330)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,874 - 1,880 of 5,330 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

It has been a little while since we last stayed at the Sofitel and after staying last night I was wondering why we had waited so long to stay again. From the concierge, to the reception and all other staff nothing was too much trouble. The views are amazing and the beds are to die for…..I didn't want to ever leave that bed!! We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michellep783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and welcome back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. We sincerely appreciate your kind words about the service received by our Ambassadors. We look forward to welcoming you back during your next stay in Melbourne.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Friendly and attentive staff, magnificent floor to ceiling views and spotless spacious rooms. The swimming pool is magnificent and gym well equipped with staff on hand if needed. The Sofitel is all class!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank suer1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank KRmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank wanderersofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

Hesitated booking due to price, but as celebrating a special birthday went for it. Very glad we did. Great value in the end. From start to finish this was a great experience. The views were phenomenal. The location very central. Staff and service second to none. The Sofitel club rooms beat anything we have tried before, fabulous breakfast, afternoon tea and drinks and canapés wow. Suggest including addition of the club if you can make use of it. I felt like we celebrated my birthday in style, stay more than one night to make good use and font over plan you day, enjoy the pampering.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank ozziwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments and for choosing to celebrate your birthday with us at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. Your kind words about the Sofitel Club experience are also very much appreciated. I will ensure your feedback is shared with everyone.
We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I booked this hotel based on a Wotif mystery hotel. For $220 per night we got a "Room with a View" on the 38th floor looking south out towards the ocean. It certainly was a room with a view. The king bed was very comfortable. The only negatives of the room was the overpowering use of air freshner (it reminded me of someone trying to mask a cigarette smell -- being a non-smoking hotel I knew this was not the case) and the squealing water pipes from other rooms.

Easy to walk to anywhere within the CBD. Staff were friendly, however we almost missed our skybus shuttle as they neglected to tell us we had to walk to the Mecure to get picked up as roadwords meant the shuttle was unable to access the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bronwyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and our facilities, in spite of a few problems you experienced during your stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies.

This is certainly no indicative of our high customer standard and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to meet your expectations next time you decide to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,620 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 160 in Melbourne
2,732 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
8,156 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
2,369 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 160 in Melbourne
1,979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £144 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing