We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a positive experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Ranked #18 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed for two nights in a corner room on the 49th floor and it was a very pleasant experience. Very friendly staff, comfortable room and a great view from the room. I would certainly recommend this hotel for its accommodation.

Our only disappointment was an error made by waitstaff at their restaurant No35 which resulted in our being charged more than the advertised package price. On arrival we confirmed the package ($60 for two courses and a glass of wine) with the first waiter but when our order was taken by a second waiter it would seem that this information had not been passed on and we were served a wine not included in the package. As a result we were charged both the $60 each for the package which was supposed to include a wine, plus an extra $12 each for the glass of wine we drank. While not a significantly large cost it was a significant annoyance trying to rectify unsuccessfully on what was otherwise a perfect night and the wait staff seemed reluctant to offer solutions and blamed us for not confirming the package even though we had clearly done so on first arriving.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lmullan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

It is with regret to read that your dining experience at No35 was not as it should have been. I do sincerely apologise for the shortcomings on our part. I would hope you would call our Food & Beverage Director at your convenience on 03 9653 7797 or email us on h1902-FB21@sofitel.com so we can look into your situation a little more and apologise in person. We look forward to hearing from you and apologise that you weren’t afforded the usual high standard of service we provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,008 - 2,014 of 5,488 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Love this hotel. Charming , great service, big rooms with nice views
Always love staying here
Would get five stars except for the crazy internet costs - the poor staff are embarrassed to tell me the cost
Some great restaurants close by - it's in the charming part of town
Recommended for a classy stay

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoestringtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor and I was pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. Your comments regarding the internet charges are well taken and appreciated. I apologise that you find it too high however we align many of our charges along with our competitors. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

2 night stay August 2014, booked on a special rate, thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and the overall experience. Booked on the Club level and the hotel was kind enough to give us an upgrade to a level 46 corner room. Briliant view, plenty of space and quite luxurious. A few small niggles with the light sensors at night, however quite minor. Club Level was very good, plenty of choice for breakfast and drinks / snack.

Room Tip: spend a bit more and go for the Club Level
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your recent stay.
I was very happy to read that you enjoyed the complimentary upgrade to our fabulous suite and the view that came with it. We are blessed with all rooms having fabulous views of Melbourne. I am also sorry to read that you had some issues the light sensors in your guest room. Please accept our apologies. We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed at this hotel and it didn't disappoint.'Comfortable bed, great views while eating dinner and breakfast and friendly service. Would love to have stayed longer but we were only passing through Melbourne on this trip

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read you had a great night’s stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We have stayed at the sofitel several times over the past few years and it is always a pleasure
This last time we were on the 50th floor and it really is the best view in Melbourne.
The rooms are large and comfortable and really the sofitel beds are the most comfortable in the world.
Staff are very professional. Breakfast here is good but not as good as the Sofitel Queenstown.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mj2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and welcome back to Sofitel Melbourne On Collins. . I was thrilled to read you enjoyed your room on the 50th floor, and I agree the views of Melbourne are just spectacular. Thank you also for your comments regarding the service from our Ambassadors. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014 via mobile

Such a great place to stay!!If you like being in city centre this place is highly recommended ..beautiful building , excellent stuff, even though in busy city centre it was quite and peaceful to sleep at night ..walk out of the hotel and you are in the heart of the city with lots of great shops,coffee shops, restaurants etc .And what a view from the room shame can't open the window though! Excellent place to stay and would def love to stay here again !!!

Stayed: September 2014
Thank Danijela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy H, Manager at Sofitel Melbourne on Collins, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for telling us about your experience at the Sofitel Melbourne on Collins. It is wonderful to know that we met your expectations across many levels. I will ensure your kind words are shared with everyone.
We thank you for your support of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
6,069 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,614 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
953 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#12 of 161 in Melbourne
2,125 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 161 in Melbourne
2,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Melbourne on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Address: 25 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £132 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Melbourne on Collins 5*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is at the Paris end of Collins Street, in the heart of the city's premier shopping, dining and theatre district, just minutes from the famous Melbourne Cricket Ground. This award-winning hotel has 363 luxurious rooms that begin from level 36 offering breathtaking views from floor-to-ceiling windows. Each room is complemented by modern furnishings, mood lighting, LED\LCD or Plasma televisions and iPod|MP3 connection. Marble bathrooms offer automated low level lighting and French amenities.Enjoy modern dining in No35, high tea occasions in Sofi's Lounge or stylish cocktails in the Atrium Bar On 35.For meetings and events, Sofitel Melbourne On Collins is one of the city’s most comprehensive integrated hotel conference venues offering 12 individual meetings venues with comprehensive audio-visual services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Melbourne on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Melbourne On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Accor Melbourne On Collins
Melbourne Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing