We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #44 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We decided to stay here for a night away and was not let down. Great location, short walk to southbank for restaurants and close to the city for shopping. Room was very impressive with a seperate lounge to the bedroom which is always better for relaxing. Valet parking and breakfast was part of our deal and pretty good for the price too.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJR1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2013

Dear DJR1975,
What a lovely way to wind down and take time out from a busy lifestyle. I’m so pleased we were able to deliver the relaxing night that you were looking for. Luxiourous suite, delicious food and a spot of shopping – is there a better way to recharge the batteries? We look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing stay.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,725)
There are newer reviews for Stamford Plaza Melbourne
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4,115 - 4,121 of 4,725 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2013

I have stayed at the Stamford Plaza many times and have never been disappointed. Staff are always welcoming and willing to offer assistance. Being slightly disabled I tend to request one of their rooms with appropriate facilities. These are excellent and allow me to travel independently. The bathroom is of good size and the shower excellent, grab rails are solid and sensibly placed. The room is not in the slightest clinical. Great use of fabrics and textures in decor. I enjoy the fact that there is a kitchen and dining space and a separate sitting area. In room dining is great and timely. The Stamford is excellently placed for getting around Melbourne and, despite my walking stick, I feel very comfoprtable walking to nearby venues. I am usually on the third floor and have never been disturbed by traffic noise, that may be because the beds are extremely comfortable! The rooms are always spotless and staff are friendly cooperative and helpful. Pricing is very reasonable. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doneworkingAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear doneworkingAustralia,

To hear a guest describe Stamford Plaza Melbourne as their “home” is the highest compliment. We aim to provide great service and beautiful suites & feedback such as yours highlights that we are doing things right. The whole team will be very proud that they contributed to such a positive experience for you. We look forward to welcoming you back to your "home away from home".

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Jan 2013 in 2 bd suite, family of 5,which was very clean, roomy and comfortable. Requested an early checkin when I booked, but after arriving early our room wasn't available until 2 pm, which was fine but when it's 41• outside, not ideal. No water in lobby available and no offer of a drink at the bar, whilst we waited 1 1/2 hrs which I thought disappointing for a 5 star establishment. Highlights - room and brekky! Huge choice of food available which was hot, fresh and replaced regularly. Staff at breakfast very friendly and helpful. Overall a good stay, but $60 fora roll away bed was steep and no free wifi, however we did receive free valet parking. Good location and kid friendly

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear jonmegs,

Happy New Year, it sounds like yours is off to a good start. During holiday periods and times of high occupancy it is sometimes difficult to provide an early check in and I’m sorry we were unable to meet your request on this occasion. We’ve made a few changes to our breakfast offerings and presentation in a bid to improve it for our guests, it’s pleasing to hear we’re on the right track.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at the Stamford last night. We were upgraded to a Grand suite with a king size bed, bathroom with jacuzzi, kitchenette and lounge room with a huge TV. We were spoilt with this lovely room. This mornings buffet breakfast was delicious and we had a huge variety to choose from. This was our second time at the Stamford and we certainly will be back!

Room Tip: The Stamford is in Little Collins Street. It is in a ideal locations. Just a short walk to Southba...
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2013

Dear RuthieAstbury,

Thank you for choosing Stamford Plaza Melbourne again, it’s always a pleasure to welcome back our return guests and by the sounds of it we will be seeing you again for more of the same Stamford luxury.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This hotel is in a great location, with well thought out and decorated rooms. Loved that all rooms are suites. The staff were all pleasant. I thought the price was very reasonable for the size of room and location. If I was to criticize one aspect it would be the tacky notice board in the rooms. Thanks for the great stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Stean K,

Location, location, location! Stamford Plaza Melbourne definitely has it! I’m pleased your overall impression of the hotel was positive and thank you for noticing some of the wonderful features of our suites. I hope we can become your number one choice for great accommodation in Melbourne.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The room I stayed in was very spacious, with a lounge area separate to the bedroom. However I found it to be a bit dated and in need of refurbishment. Despite this, the room was clean and generally comfortable.

The hotel lobby was being renovated during my stay which made getting in and out of the hotel a bit of a hassle. However the perfect location made it all worthwhile. The valet parking staff were very helpful and friendly - definitely 5 star service even though the appearance of the hotel did not look like one at the time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear Sharon N,

You won’t believe the change – we’re still very excited by our new look lobby area. The sleek black marble & tiles combined with the glass lifts & fairly lights look fantastic. The hotel looks a little different but you can be assured that you will be welcomed back with the same excellent 5 star service on your next visit..

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Whilst the rooms are of fantastic size with the bonus of bedroom and living area, the hotel does still appear to be a bit dated in some areas. The rooms are furnished nicely, but the bathroom is dated. The beds and pillows are very comfortable, and the blackout curtains are great in the morning. The service is fantastic. ALL staff were extremely attentive, polite and helpful. The room service and In Room Dining were superb with great choices. However, it is ridiculous to charge almost $17 for a movie which can be rented for less than $5 from a DVD shop. The hotel is not right in the centre of everything, so I did not feel comfortable walking from the city to the hotel at night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to avoid the traffic noise in the mornings.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EddiOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2013

Dear EddieOZ,

Feedback such as yours is extremely valuable to the hotel as it tells us what we are doing right and also marks areas for further improvement . Thank you for appreciating our high standard of service, it’s always a pleasure to fulfill our guest’s needs in this area. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#34 of 160 in Melbourne
833 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 160 in Melbourne
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
4,330 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 160 in Melbourne
1,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £111 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing