We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #43 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great room and location”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

The first time we arrived at the hotel, we were quite shocked with the lobby. It was small and felt nothing like a five star hotel. Even the general presentation of the hotel is more like a 4 star hotel. On the way to our room, we could see paints peeling off in many places, particularly on door frames which wasn't nice to see. The moment we entered our room, we were very impressed with just about everything. It had kitchen cabinet, living room was quite spacious, furniture was modern and well maintained, overall the room exceeded our expectation. In the room package, it didn't come with free breakfast, the reception gave us 50% discount voucher for breakfast instead. The breakfast lacked variety and there was nothing special, which made us only to use 2 vouchers out of 4 that they gave. The location is very good, it's in the centre of Melbourne CBD even though it's located in the small alley of little collins st. The room definitely covered up for the lack of other stuff. Given room rate is acceptable for this kind of hotel, I will probably come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmy m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear jimmy m m,
I am surprised to hear of your first impression as only late last year we completed a multi million dollar upgrade on our reception and lobby area, but I am pleased that this initial impression did not last long. Your comments regarding our breakfast buffet selection will be reviewed by our Executive Chef and his team, we accept feedback such as yours constructively as a means to improve our products. Thank you for a comprehensive review and I do hope we will welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,152
    1,579
    534
    174
    91
See reviews for
780
1,964
220
935
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australi
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Stamford Plaza is right next to my work, and I always wanted to stay there - and was not disappointed at all.

Staff are absolutely lovely, friendly and always smiling. Room was very clean, well presented, in-room dining was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saturdaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear saturdaisy,
Hello to you neighbor! I’m thrilled that we not only met your expectations but exceeded them, thank you for sharing your experience. Now that we’ve been introduced, I hope we’ll see you again soon – don’t forget about our red shoe promotion – wear your best red shoes to Harry’s Bar any Friday and your first glass of Moet is on us – a great way to start the weekend off right!
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This is a very nice hotel, with friendly and attentive staff.
The rooms are well appointed, clean and fresh.
No request was overlooked by the staff - room service was excellent, with custom menu choices being made available after hours on request!
My only (very minor) gripe was that the second key for the room wasn't activated - a very very minor mistake that didn't impact on the overall enjoyment of the stay.
The Spa is only a bathtub spa, but that was as described in the description.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyMc_Dnaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear AndyMc_Dnaught,
I’m thrilled that we were able to please in all areas of your recent stay. We pride ourselves on delivering an exceptional service to our guests and always strive to exceed their expectation. We look forward to welcoming you back for another fantastic stay in the near future.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Good hotel in the heart of Melbourne. But some of the rooms look at the very close wall of the next building. Very clean. Bathroom very, very small, but lounge room good size. I rather have it that way. Kitchen very handy, but you have to ask for pots. Room service very quick and with a smile. Pool very small. Harry's restaurant closed quite earlier at night, but where the hotel is located this is not a big problem as there are plenty of restaurants around. Mahjong Black opposite hotel serves very nice Chinese food. Would stay again the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwona63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear iwona3,
Thank you for a thorough review and I’m pleased to read that the positives outnumber the negatives. As you have mentioned our suites are very convenient for short or long stays, offering a great sized lounge room, separate bedroom and a kitchen. The perfect space to relax after a hard day at work or a busy day of sightseeing.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

The room was Unclean. Doona was just an insert (similar to cheap cushion insert) with no cover. Pool was VERY rundown. We were VERY disappointed. We were sick from the inhouse dining and will not be coming back

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Belinda L,

I am terribly disappointed to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. Cleanliness & food safety are of the utmost importance to this hotel and we have strict procedures in place to ensure that high standards are always maintained in these areas. I am sorry to hear that you were unwell and I do hope you have fully recovered. I would be very grateful if you could provide me with further information in regards to your in-room dining so I may investigate the matter in more depth. Please feel free to contact me directly, I would be very happy to hear from you.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed a 5 day stay ,the staff are top class very friendly ,hotel it self was brilliant
My wife and I celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary there. It is a great location
Will definitely be back at this hotel

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Dear markg,
Congratulations on your 30th Wedding Anniversary and we wish you all the best for many more. Thank you for choosing to spend it at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, we’re so pleased that we were able to assist in celebrating this special occasion.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

we really enjoyed our two night 3 day stay.

Room was a kingsize suite. We arrived early, and for a small upgrade fee had immediate access to a great room, with plenty of space, spotlessly clean and with a great , well equipped kitchenette. Very quiet also. The bed was excellent, and we also had a pillow menu!

Breakfast. - great selection, fresh, and an eager to please omelette chef. The duty manager also sorted out our problem about the breakfast not being included. It was not a issue for them. Full marks for making us feel very welcome.

Really don't understand how you could give this hotel a bad review. We will certainly be back.

pool was

Room Tip: getting an upgrade to a larger room worked very well , as we arrived early from the airport. cost w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunniestwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear bunniestwo,
Welcome to the Stamford Family, I’m thrilled that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again and I am happy to you assure you that your future stays will be as comfortable and enjoyable as your first.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager

Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,192 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
814 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 160 in Melbourne
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Property: Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing