We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #39 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in January 2013. The hotel is easy walking distance to many major attractions in Melbourne. The staff is very friendly and courteous. Though we had a 1 bedroom suite, I found our room to be a little on the small side, especially the bathroom. That said, the room was very clean and it was helpful having a kitchen, even though we didn't use it much. You have to pay for wi-fi use in your room, but there's a business center with a couple of computers with free internet. Overall a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gluckita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 3 February 2013
Dear Gluckita,
We aim to provide our guests with the whole package and I’m pleased you found it to be so. We do have rooms of varying shapes and configurations, so feel free to contact our friendly reservations team prior to your next stay and we will find one which best suits your requirements. We look forward to welcoming you back for another pleasant stay soon.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,043
    1,492
    502
    159
    90
See reviews for
738
1,866
198
870
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wangaratta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Stamford in a 1 bedroom Suite. The set up was great with its own little kitchen, dining, lounge area and separate bedroom with King size bed. The furnishings are quite lush. the pool & spa are a little outdated. Gym is fully equipped with all the necessary gear with modern treadmills. One of the things I look forward to with staying at a 5 star property is the gorgeous comfy beds and Stanford did not disappoint. Our stay was spoiled due to the water leak we experienced in the dining area. Half of the dining area was saturated in water that was coming from a busted pipe (house keepings words). When the flood was bought up with reception on check out the guy checking us out thanked me for bringing it to his attention. He expressed to me that it was lucky that this happened on the day that we were checking out. For this calibre of hotel I expected more than a "so sad too bad" kind of attitude. I am a travel agent and if my clients experienced the same dilemma I would hope that the hotel would at least offer them a free cup of coffee.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happestos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Dear happestos,
It’s great that you were able to spend some quality time with your daughter in the comfort of one of our suites. Thanks for highlighting our recently refurbished gym facility, there are many guests like yourself that enjoy our new modern equipment. I am terribly sorry to hear of the maintenance issue you experienced on your final day and apologise that you felt the problem was not handled with more empathy and understanding. The matter has been referred to our Front Office Manager for follow up with her team. When you are next visiting Melbourne please feel free to contact me directly, so I may personally oversee your arrangements and ensure your stay exceeds your expectations in every way.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed for 3 nights late January '13. Cannot fault anything. Room nicely appointed, clean and spacious. Staff friendly and very happy to help. Gym and pool great too- fresh towels in both and very clean and modern. Definitely staying here again . JA

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbournejunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Dear Melbournejunkie,
Thank you for such high compliments, the team will be very happy to know that they were able to provide you such a wonderful stay. We hope to welcome you back to Stamford Plaza Melbourne again and again.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Loved the room, it felt very luxurious with the sumptuous fabrics used to decorate it. The lobby was also very nice, i think it had recently been refurbished.The location could not have been better, in central Melbourne but still fairly quiet due to being down a laneway.
Only thing that could have been improved slightly was the breakfast, when dining in the restaurant you had to have the buffet which was quite expensive, especially if you only want a light breakfast, although reception do give you a discount card.A la carte was only available from the room service menu. However this was not too much of a problem as there were plenty of cafes nearby.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loisw31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear loisw31,

I’m very happy that we were able to impress you in most areas and thank you for your positive comments. We sometimes offer special rates which may include extras such as breakfast, parking or wi-fi, may I suggest for your next stay that you call us directly or look at our website so we may help find the package option that best suits your needs.

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

As a Christmas present my husband and I were given a night to stay at the Stamford Plaza. We thoroughly enjoyed our rare night away and found the accomodation very good and loved our room. It was very peaceful and we weren't interupted by noises from other guests. The beds were very comfortable and it was a shame we couldn't stay longer. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and it was no effort to correct an error that had been made to our bill.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear Cathryn J,
What a thoughtful present, a gift voucher is a wonderful way to spoil someone special. I’m very pleased to hear that the gift lived up to the expectation and you had a wonderful stay. Maybe you can add another stay at Stamford Plaza Melbourne to your Christmas wish list for this year….

Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

The hotel is in an excellent location in Melbourne city and near to many restaurants/cafes/shops. The room we stayed in was lovely - comfortable lounges and bed. It was also very quiet - we were not disturbed by other gues. When we asked for a couple more hotels the staff were only too happy to help out. I think the room service menu could be improved as there are very limited vegetarian options available (why not introduce a vegetarian burger or a vegetarian pizza a bit more special that a margherita). I also felt the valet parking was a bit expensive.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xLauzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear xLauzx,
Thanks for your review and your constructive comments regarding our vegetarian meal options, these have been well received by our Executive Chef. It’s important to indulge in some relaxation every now and then, especially after a hectic festive season, For even more indulgence you might like to try our lazy daze package sometime. It includes overnight accommodation, a delicious in room-dining experience, two new release movies with popcorn and a relaxing massage to top it all off – perfect!
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We picked the Stamford Plaza Melbourne because of its location and it was one of the few hotels that had a kitchen area. The day after we got married, we checked-in at the hotel. It was quick and easy. They even gave us a free upgrade as it was our honeymoon. The room is cosy and comfortable. The bedroom is connected to the bathroom and there are sliding doors that seperates the bedroom to the lounge room. We love having 2 plasma screens (1 in the lounge and other in the bedroom). There is a personalised welcome message when you switch the plasma on, which I think is really sweet. We had a big balcony area where there was outdoor patio furniture. It looked like you could have a dinner party with a dozen people. The kitchen area came with a small dishwasher, a microwave, 2 heat plates and a small fridge. If you moved things around in the fridge, I'm sure you can make space for your items.

A problem we had during our stay was that one of the lifts was not working, which caused quite a commotion during check-out. In the end, we used the service lift instead.
I would have rated a 5 out of 5, if the lift was working or got fixed some time during our 3 nights stay.

Room Tip: Request for higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NikeSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Dear NikeSweet,
Congratulations on your wedding, what an exciting time for you. Thank you for making Stamford Plaza Melbourne part of your special occasion. Just as you have suggested, this room is available for our 1421 Private Celebration Package, which includes a four hour canapé and drink package for 10 people as well as a personal waiter during this time and also overnight accommodation for two people. Maybe you can celebrate your first anniversary in this style…. and by the way, our lift is back in working order, so I hope we'll get your 5 star rating.
Kind regards,
Karl Unterfrauner
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#9 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,345 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#30 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,534 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Property: Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing