We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Oaks on Market(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$175
US$137
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$138
Novotel
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$206
US$157
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$161
US$100
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    US$306
    US$234
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Mantra On Russell(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
    US$122
    US$117
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    US$85
    US$79
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    • Pool
    • Fitness centre
    Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
    US$216
    US$119
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Ovolo Laneways(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
    US$168
    US$143
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    The Crossley Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
    US$111
    US$97
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Room Service
    Reviews (4,935)
    Filter reviews
    4,935 results
    Traveller rating
    2,316
    1,717
    597
    196
    109
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    2,316
    1,717
    597
    196
    109
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsharry's bargreat locationspa bathking suitevalet parkingcollins streetlounge areasmall kitchenroom servicebuffet breakfastenjoyable staycentral locationgreat roommini barconciergegymcouch
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    3,919 - 3,924 of 4,935 reviews
    Reviewed 14 January 2014

    Stayed at this hotel on the nights of the 10th and 11th January. Service and accommodation were very good. Rooms were clean and well laid out. Front desk staff were friiendly and helpful and the bar staff at Harrys were great too.

    Great access to various Melbourne venues including the theatres, Fed Square and sporting precinct. Trams are only a few blocks away.

    I would recommend this hotel.

    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank geebeeyou
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

    Dear geebeeyou,
    At the Stamford we always aim to provide an exceptional service and make our guests feel truly welcome and it seems our usual practices were well received by you. I’m delighted that we pleased you in all aspects and we would be delighted to welcome you back again.
    Kind regards,
    Karl Unterfrauner
    General Manager
    Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 January 2014

    I stayed for one night with my 10 year old son. The team at reception could not have been more helpful. They changed our room to provide us with a separate bedroom so my son was able to sleep undisturbed.The room was large and comfortable. The feather pillows from the pillow menu were lovely. We enjoyed the pool and spa - especially when we had it all to ourselves. The location was great for walking to transport and the shops.

    Room Tip: Check that your one bedroom suite has a separate bedroom.
    • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Karryanne23
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

    Dear Karryanne23,
    A separate lounge area to bedroom is a key feature of our suites as it allows for privacy, space and comfort. Thank you for your compliments regarding our pool too – we’re very happy with the changes made and it is a lovely place to relax and unwind. We really appreciate the time you have taken to post your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your son back on your return.
    Kind regards,
    Karl Unterfrauner
    General Manager
    Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 January 2014

    I stayed at the Stamford Plaza for 1 week over Christmas in a 1 Bedroom King Suite. The room was large and well appointed, with a small fridge and 2 televisions. Décor was a bit dated; it would have been extremely fashionable in the 90s, but looks a bit old now, though it was very clean and not worn.

    We chose a 1-bedroom suite as we were there for 1 week and wanted to have a bit of space for working and relaxing and this room fit the bill for that. Even though we did not use the kitchen, it had a microwave and decent sized fridge, so you could buy your own milk, cool your own drinks etc. that was more convenient than a regular hotel room. One thing that could be improve would be to put sliding doors and/or curtains between the living area and bedroom, so one person can sleep while the other watches television, and also have a door between the vanity area of the bathroom and the bedroom to create some privacy and not disturb the people sleeping (though the shower and toilet were behind a door).

    As the hotel is split across and small laneway, our room, though having a window, looked into the building across the road (as has been mentioned in several other review so this was not a surprise) which was not a deal breaker, but being there for so long it would be good to get some natural light, and also be able to assess the weather by looking out the window, especially given Melbourne’s constantly changeable weather.

    Staff were helpful and friendly, no complaints there and were able to answer all questions about the local area, where to buy tram tickets etc.

    I found Internet extremely expensive (iirc $15 per day for a package for 2 devices, which added up over the week and is more than what I pay for faster speeds at home for 2 months!) and not particularly fast, but was serviceable. Given the length of time we were there and my experience with other hotels around the region, I though this was a bit much. Unlike other hotels, which charge for faster speeds, they did not have a free slower speed options for basic email checking and web surfing. Also as we had been travelling for 1 week before we had a lot of laundry, which we sent to the hotel laundry and cost a phenomenal amount, which was all indicated, but I think given the length of stay there could have been some option for a bulk discount or price cap within reasonable amounts. All in all with the ancillary services I felt like the hotel was price gouging us, and while I am happy to pay for what we use, the excessive costs did leave a bit of a bad taste in my mouth. We also used valet parking, which was $45 per day, and our only real option, but the service was good, and we never had to wait long to get our car.

    The location is fantastic, at the top end of town, walking distance to several main office buildings, the river, shops, trams and countless restaurants.

    I may consider the Stamford Plaza again, but would look at and try out other options, such as serviced apartments if we are staying more than a few nights, wanted a bit more room, more light and less expensive services, but for what we needed on this trip the Stamford Plaza fit the bill.

    • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Thzeje
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

    Dear thezeje,
    Thank you for your thorough review of the time you recently spent at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. I am delighted to read that the positives certainly outweigh the negatives and appreciate your feedback. Our rooms have varying configurations and layouts and we do have some which have a separating door between the bedroom and living areas, please feel free to make this request when making your next reservation. We can also note your preference for a room with more natural light. You may also be interested to know for any future stays we have a laundry room available for guests to do their own laundry at their convenience. We’d be absolutely delighted to welcome you again when you next visit Melbourne and should you provide us with this opportunity it would be our pleasure to find a suite which best meets all your needs.
    Kind regards,
    Karl Unterfrauner
    General Manager
    Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

    We had a two night stay. Service was responsive, particularly after we pointed out a couple of minor concerns with the cleanliness of the rooms. The front desk staff were very helpful on a number of occasions. The pool was very well looked after and we had it to ourselves early in the morning. If you are there on a Friday wear your red shoes for Harry's Bar.

    Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    Thank Duncan G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

    Dear Duncan G,
    As a GM it is always a pleasure to receive feedback such as yours regarding the high level of service you experienced during your stay. I do apologise for the shortcomings you noted and these have been addressed as a matter of urgency. I think you may have enjoyed our Red Shoe Friday special in Harry’s too – where your first glass of Moet is free between 5pm & 7pm if you’re wearing your best red shoes, it’s a great way to kick off the weekend. We look forward to welcoming you and your Red Shoes back again in the future
    Kind regards,
    Karl Unterfrauner
    General Manager
    Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 January 2014

    We stayed here over Xmas we were originally due to arrive to melbourne on the 27th December but our plans changed so the hotel that we had already booked was full. So I found an amazing deal over xmas for this hotel and thought it would be too good to be true but I was wrong.

    This hotel was in a prefect location to explore melbourne. Our hotel was not the largest we have stayed in but had everything we needed and the bed was so comfortable.

    The pool area is worth a visit. I like that the roof can be open above the pool so you can look out at the Melbourne sky.

    All the staff we spoke to were lovely and very helpful. The lady from Seattle who checked us in was really amazing and an asset to the Stamford plaza.

    We would stayed in 6 hotels during our trip to Australia and this was the best we stayed in

    Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank rachy_85
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Karl U, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2014

    Dear rachy85,
    Thank you for your review and such high praise. We love to surprise and delight our guests with our friendly service and fantastic facilities and it certainly sounds like we achieved this and more during your stay. We’re so excited to have our amazing new pool and spa facility open again and as you have said, a roof top swim is a lovely way to finish a busy day of sight seeing. We’re thrilled to be your number one hotel and hope to welcome you back again in the future.
    Kind regards,
    Karl Unterfrauner
    General Manager
    Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews