We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$290
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$102
US$88
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Southbank Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$139
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (4,935)
Filter reviews
4,935 results
Traveller rating
2,316
1,717
597
196
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,316
1,717
597
196
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharry's bargreat locationspa bathking suitevalet parkingcollins streetlounge areasmall kitchenroom servicebuffet breakfastenjoyable staycentral locationgreat roommini barconciergegymcouch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,799 - 3,804 of 4,935 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Courteous and accommodating staff.Corner suite on 10th Floor was lovely and spacious.Clean room and bathroom.The little kitchenette had tea and coffee facilities, microwave,stove and dishwasher.Cooking utensils would be supplied if requested for. Located in the city and a short walk to shops, cafes,restaurants and Chinatown.Felt safe walking around.Convenient to Parliament train station to travel to other suburbs.Easy walking distance to hop on and hop off free city tram which makes a loop of tourist sites as well as gives a recorded running commentary. On the route of the airport Sky bus .Will happily recommend to others and stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner suites on higher floors
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank felizglobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear ExcitedAustralia,
Like you, many of our guests love the additional features that our suites offer including the kitchenette and separate living area – it certainly conjures up a feeling of your very own “home away from home”. Our location certainly makes it easy to explore the sights of Melbourne and further beyond and I am so pleased you found it convenient for your plans. Thank you for your kind recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

In summary there are far better places in Melbourne to stay and do not waste your time or money at this one.

The hotel itself has seen better days and is a little outdated in all area's and is not ageing well, but is functional, with clean rooms but certainly not a 5 star in quality, fixtures or fittings, have stayed in better B&B's and this was with a $520 per night room.

However it is the management & their organisation, stupidity and complete lack of customer focus that is unfortunately the main memory.
The hotel was informed of a change to the requirements of our party prior to arrival ( days before in fact) however on arrival, the additional bed in the suite that had been cancelled, was in the room. The hotel team were notified multiple times of the need to remove the item ( was not a welcome addition to the lounge !!) by phone, & by face to face at reception, but to no avail as the bed stayed for the duration of our stay.
No big issue you would think, but on check out they opted to charge an additional $200 for the not required bed, initially the receptionist was a delight and immediately said the charge would be removed, however it came as an absolute shock when minutes later we received a call from the duty manager saying that charge would stay and that the receptionist had no authority to take that action. This situation escalated to verbal insults & loud voices from the management at the check out desk to the dismay of us all, who finally had to leave with the situation unresolved as the flights need to be taken.
And 4 weeks later they are still arguing, with the result being there are now 4 professionals that will never recommend this hotel to anyone and the cost of the management & staff of having to continually deal with this issue, will have far exceeded the $200.

This experience is made even more disappointing when 2 of the party in the past had stayed at this hotel for 3 MONTHS in duration, and had really enjoyed it, as the staff customer service then had been amazing. It is now with different owners to that time apparently.

The stay at this hotel was organised as a special treat for me by a good friend, but this hotel managed to completely ruin it, both at the time and still 4 weeks later.

AVOID AVOID AVOID

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazzAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear MazzAustralia,
We sincerely regret the frustration felt on your recent stay and the impact this had on your overall experience. It is also disappointing to note that our further contact has not provided us with the opportunity to resolve the matter to your satisfaction. Should you reconsider returning to Stamford at any time in the future, my offer to personally assist and oversee your arrangements still stands. It would be my pleasure to showcase the exceptional experience that Stamford Hotels are renowned for.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel all the way through to the CEO have no regard for Customer service. We had a terrible experience and even had the duty manager called us a liar and walk away from us . We escalated the terrible experience all the way through the management team to the CEO and the only reaction has been if we stay against it will be better! This approach is a true reflection of how much they care about customer service. We had so many bad experiences to mention that all concluded with the duty manager saying he didn't care , that we had lied about our requests and walked away . We only get away once a year as a group of friends and this hotel ruined the entire weekend and still it goes on with no care for how upsetting the experience was. Please vote with your feet and stay somewhere else and then maybe they will care about how they treat their guests.

Room Tip: Suite is really small and not much room to move at all : we also asked for a rollaway bed to be moved that we hadn't asked for all weekend and it was never moved even after asking 3 times , them we were told we didn't ask for it to be moved and must be lying to the staff
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanetteal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Jeanetteal,
We sincerely regret that the lasting impression held from your stay is one of dissatisfaction. We understand that we are not able to alter the outcome of your recent experience; however it is disappointing that our direct contact following your departure has not re-instated your trust in our customer service standards. Should you reconsider at any time in the future to return to Stamford Plaza Melbourne, my offer to personally assist and oversee your arrangements is still available. It would be my pleasure to showcase the exceptional experience that Stamford Hotels are renowned for.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for 3 nights on an Easter Escape, this hotel was fantastic value for money with the hotel website offering the best deal. Lovely stroll down the Paris end of Collins St to the centre of the city and major tourist attractions. We had a twin room, across the lane on level 6 with comfortable beds and only some street noise of a night. There was a kitchenette and small lounge area taking away that hotel . Bathroom was not big but was very clean and well lit.Staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. Harry's Bar offers great lunchtime meals. Didn't have time to try out the pool but will next time! Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SMURPH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear SMURPH11,
Thanks for your well rounded review; we really appreciate your positive comments and are so happy you found our suites comfortable and our location convenient for your plans. Your glowing compliments with regards to the exceptional service provided by our team have been very well received and make me a very proud General Manager. We look forward to your return and hope it’s soon.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel through Lastminute.com it was a secret hotel that said 5 star hotel. Once the name of the hotel was revealed I was instantly disappointed as I knew of the hotel and didn't think it was a 5 star standard.
When we checked in, my fears were realised.

An outdated lobby, tiny room (we booked a suite). The room was dusty and bathroom was discoloured from age.

We immediately complained to lastminute.com and the hotel made every effort to improve our stay.

The manager was overly apologetic and super lovely but it really isn't his fault that the hotel far from lives up to its 5 star rating.

It would be a generous 4 star.

Location was fantastic and the staff really did try to make amends but it was an unfortunate situation where we were hoping for luxury and only got average.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank islandgirl2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear islandgirl2112,
Although there were aspects of our hotel facility that were not completely to your satisfaction, I’m pleased to hear that the service you received from our staff was excellent and that they did their utmost to assist you. We certainly address all comments received with the focus of improving our service delivery and appreciate you taking the time to share yours.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews