We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with charm of its own”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #43 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place with charm of its own”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I love staying at this hotel. Unfortunately for me it’s always been for business. The location is fantastic to shops and restaurants. The rooms have a home feeling about them. The beds are comfortable and I do love having a pillow menu in hotels. The serves checking in or out is efficient and the staff have no problems if available to upgrade you. Love it !!
The staffs have the ability to be flexible with their gests which I find refreshing and also that the management allows this.
The only thing that I am not impressed with is the hotels dining experience I think its average and unfortunately that should not be in Melbourne.
The breakfast is defiantly much better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0ck1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear r0ck1234,
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the only 5 star all suite hotel in the city making us the perfect accommodation whether you are in town for business or leisure reasons. We like to think of our hotel as your ‘home away from home’ and our staff will do their utmost to ensure your comfort on each and every stay. I am sorry to note that your dining experience did not meet your satisfaction and am thankful for your feedback which I will certainly address with our Executive Chef. Thank you for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at Stamford. I hope we can welcome you back again in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,152
    1,579
    534
    174
    91
See reviews for
780
1,964
220
935
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
saratoga springs, ny
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here for a work/play trip. The location was super...easy walking for tourist stuff, and also for interesting restaurants and shops. The room was pleasant, the internet connection good, there was a free laundry room (you buy the powder from the desk).

We had breakfast at their buffet one morning...very good. Nothing fabulous or special, but for the price, it was excellent and met our needs! I didn't work out or use the pool, but the gym was well equipped!

Staff was helpful for the few things we needed...I would totally go back!

Room Tip: Our room had good insulation from street sounds..they must have triple paned glass! And we were not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizm_60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear lizm_60,
Central, efficient and friendly….All the things that make for a great stay at a hotel. We always hope to give our guests an experience that leaves them with the impression you have. Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We chose to stay at the Stamford because it was close to the Regent Theatre and looked to have the best value for money.
On a Saturday afternoon there seemed to be no staff except the two on front desk. Check-in was quick and easy, though we were never told how to use the key cards in the elevator, another guest actually showed us. (Keep in mind the elevators are glass and you can see straight down, if you're not a heights person, stay close to the doors)
In the morning we had a priority checkout form under the door, filled it out and handed in the key cards, very easy.

We requested our suite be as high as possible, and with a street view. We got level 10 which was was great as it was fairly quiet (the whole hotel seems to be constantly quiet), but the street view was looking straight on to another building. Not a problem, just not what i was expecting.
Buffet breakfast was well catered with everything topped up as needed so there were no shortages of anything, but would not say it was worth $30 each.

The room was well kept and clean, the bathroom on the small side and the bath itself could do with a clean but is otherwise nice (all gold features but silver shower head?). The beds are incredible and there's a pillow menu, best sleep i've had in a long time.

Overall, i'd stay there again. The staff were lovely, right in the Paris end of Collin St and walking distance to pretty much everything. The price was good but there's no wifi included and i'd leave off breakfast next time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michaela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Nuvies18,
Thanks for your well rounded review, it’s great to note that the pro’s certainly outweigh the cons to result in another enjoyable stay. Your constructive comments have been well received and will be reviewed by the relevant department heads for their follow up. Thanks also for highlighting the friendliness of our staff , making our guests happy and exceeding expectations is very rewarding for the staff at Stamford Plaza Melbourne. It will be great to welcome you again on your next trip.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were looking forward to the long weekend in Melbourne and our stay at the Stamford. We had booked a one bedroom suite and we were allocated one in the west tower.

Reception staff were friendly and we were grateful to be given room access at 11am ahead of normal check in.

That was the good. Then came the disappointment.

Our room was tired, no natural light, bathroom had no storage or bench space, very small wardrobe. And don't plan on watching TV in bed. The TV is on a wall in the kitchenette. Noise wasn't a major problem but my husband was woken at 6.00 by a crying baby nearby. And I can't even begin it describe the noise the toilet makes!

Overall a disappointment when we came to Melbourne for a romantic escape.

Avoid room 319!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lug410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear lug410,

I’m sorry you weren’t completely satisfied with certain aspects of your stay. It is true that due to our central city location, surrounding buildings do sometimes limit the natural light in some areas of the hotel, though should you provide us with the opportunity to accommodate you again we could certainly assist in allocating a brighter room. Equally our suites com in various sizes and configurations and to ensure a room suitable to your preferences is allocated it is most advantageous if you book directly with us and explain your requirements to one of our friendly booking agents. We’d really love to welcome you back again and show that we are indeed capable of providing the 5 star experience that Stamford is renowned for.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Its always great to be so centrally located in the heart of the city, and be greeted by friendly door staff and receptionists. The rooms are clean and spacious, with easy lift access. My Pa booked me a room for $240 , but i received no free wifi nor any breakfast which other hotels were offering. Also, check out in the morning is very slow with not enough staff to help. The location is brilliant and the beds comfortable. It doesnt hurt to shop around for a better deal if you can

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flashmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear flashmen,
Thanks for highlighting the comfort of our suites and our fantastic location in the heart of Melbourne. We receive lots of great feedback about the comfort of our beds, they certainly allow for a great nights sleep. I am sorry to read of the delay you experienced during check out and I will certainly address this with my team. For your future reference, we also offer an express check out option, simply complete our express check out form and drop it off upon your departure. We’ll process your account and email the invoice to you – quick and easy!
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hotel is in Little Collins street which is very central and it has taxi stand just outside door with staff that are very friendly and helpful at all times. Plenty of good restaurants in about 5-10 mins walk and there is a convenience store / newsagency across the road.

Room Tip: Rooms in the west section are roomy and quite. I got an upgrade to a suite and found room great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear daveborport,
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay, I’m pleased that you found our location convenient for your plans and our standard of service to be friendly and attentive. We certainly strive to make all our guests feel welcomed, looked after and respected, so it’s pleasing to hear that you had such an experience. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensborough, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed for one night on a Saturday night with the plan to have a quiet night in at the hotels bars etc.
From moment arrived was disappointed. Shower over bath. Place outdated and musty. Was moved to another room to find shower with soap scum and no basics in room like a place in shower to put soap etc. No water pressure in shower.
Went to try and unwind at Harry's bar with drinks and food. Staff had no personality and where not friendly at all. Ordered 2 trays of tapas and could not eat the prawns dry flakey mess. Whilst the chicken was burnt.
Noise can be heard from every level. Windows where a mess.
Should of read reviews on here before I went and would not of booked. Close to $400 for the night and not worth it.

In the end could not wait to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belindacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear belindacam,
I am regretful that your stay did not meet your expectations for a relaxing weekend away and I thank you for your feedback. I greatly appreciate the time taken to speak with our Executive Chef following your departure and can assure you that follow up has been made to rectify the drop in attention you have noted. Whilst this does change your experience, your feedback has been taken very seriously and I thank you for providing us with the opportunity to improve our service delivery. Should you reconsider staying with us again I hope you will contact me directly on 03 9659 1000 as I’d be very pleased to personally oversee your arrangements and restore your confidence in this hotel with a special stay.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,188 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#31 of 160 in Melbourne
813 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#18 of 160 in Melbourne
1,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Property: Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#40 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing