We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location in the heart of the CBD with exceptional service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Ranked #45 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

In June 2014 we stayed at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne after it was selected for us on a hotel booking website as a "Mystery Deal" for 3 nights.

The hotel is an "all suite" hotel and is located right in the heart of Melbourne's CBD in the "paris end" of Little Collins Street. This location is in walking distance of Chinatown, trams, and other Melbourne attractions.

Upon arrival we were greeted by two doormen who opened the door of our taxi for us, welcomed us to the hotel, and removed our bags. These staff were extremely polite and friendly and it really kicked off a excellent first impression of the hotel.

Our check-in was handled quickly and without fuss. Our bag was brought to our room and upon arrival we were pleased with the layout and quality of the room itself. As we entered there was a small sitting area with a desk, a dining table with four chairs, a kitchenette, a couch with coffee table and TV, then through to a bedroom. Running off the bedroom was a ensuite and separate dressing area.

The room was immaculately clean and comfortable. The only thing that we noticed was that some of the appliances (e.g. microwave, fridge) were a little bit dated, as were little things like the tapware, etc. However, these were certainly not below standard or not functional at all.

Sleep quality was fantastic - despite the fact that we were in a fairly busy area of Melbourne, noise levels were non-existent.

We had breakfast at "Harry's" on one morning and we were glad that we had a voucher that reduced the per head cost from $34.00 to $19.00. The breakfast buffet was as expected but I think that had we paid $68.00 between the two of us we would have felt as though we had paid too much considering the excellent breakfast venues that Melbourne has on offer.

Upon our departure we were again impressed with the professionalism and friendliness of the staff and their genuine willingness to help, right down to getting our bag for us and hailing a taxi.

The Stamford in Melbourne is definitely somewhere where we would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanberraLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Dear CanberraLocal,
Thanks for your glowing review, there are so many great things about staying at the Stamford in Melbourne and you have but named a few. I’m delighted you found so much to positively comment about from your recent stay and that we pleased you in all aspects. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back again and we hope to do so soon.

Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,766)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,617 - 3,623 of 4,766 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked in for 2 nights for my wife's birthday weekend. From the staff at the front counter to the service at Harry's bar we were made to feel welcome and relaxed. We have stayed at the Stamford before and we are always pleased with professionalism and warmth of staff. All up a great stay. Will definitely be using the Stamford as our hotel of choice when staying in Melbourne

Room Tip: Have stayed in rooms in both towers and never had a problem. Quality is always the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lincoln S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Lincoln S,
Thank you for choosing Stamford Plaza Melbourne as the base for the birthday celebrations. Being friendly, warm and welcoming is what we do at Stamford and when it directly contributes to the pleasure of someone’s stay we couldn’t be happier. We are delighted to be your number one choice for accommodation when in Melbourne and can’t wait to welcome you back again,
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Whilst the room that we had was very well cleaned and nicely presented, the major drawbacks of the room for me was the complete lack of view and the bathroom...a shower over the bath should only be acceptable when the bath is large enough for an adult to actually use, otherwise what is the point? I understand that existence of baths in hotel rooms contribute to star ratings etc. but this bath was so small any regular sized person would struggle getting comfortable.

In saying all that, the staff were lovely, the furnishings throughout the hotel are warm and comfortable looking, and the bed was very very soft.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Sara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Sara F,
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay and for highlighting the comfort of our suites. it is It is true that our central city location does limit views in some areas of the hotel however I am so pleased that the friendly service provided by our staff, along with our well appointed facilities ensured that your stay was still enjoyable. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom suite (setup of two queen beds), which surpassed most expectations and included a bar, and dining/lounge area. Given there were three adults staying there, however, the bathroom was a little on the small side.

The pool and spa area on the top floor of one tower is the highlight at the Stamford and even in winter, watching the AFL from the spa while it's raining outside and ordering some fries to go with it is hard to beat.

The buffet breakfast is decent, solid, but not outstanding for a hotel of this calibre.

Staff were all very helpful, and a particular mention must be made to Michael the concierge. He managed to get me the last seat on a skybus to the airport at late notice (notoriously difficult on a public holiday) and was warm and friendly every time we walked through the door.

A minor bug bear - there were no bathrooms on the ground floor (so had to go downstairs) and the toilet paper was that horrible one-ply rubbish which for a hotel of this standard just seems unnecessarily slack.

Overall, the location was fabulous - walking distance to most attractions of the CBD and made the Stamford a great place to stay with friends.

Room Tip: Make sure you set your alarm if you are staying in the East tower. Virtually no view and as very lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globetrotter1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear globetrotter1298,
.here is nothing more luxurious than a break away in a plush hotel with friends and I’m really pleased to hear how much you enjoyed yourselves. We’ll certainly take your constructive comments on board as we are always looking to improve our offering to ensure that our guests’ experience a stay that is exceptional in every sense. I hope we can welcome you and your girlfriend’s back again soon for another great weekend.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My wife and I stayed in the West Tower for three nights. The hotel promotes a refurbishment and while housekeeping maintained the room in a generally clean and presentable state the bathroom (tiles & bath area) would indicate otherwise. The living area of the suite is comfortable and roomy, the bed area sufficient and the king size bed quite snug. The most unappealing aspect of the room is the fact that the vanity & mirrors is located between the bed area (not room) and the bathroom (shower & toilet). While the bathroom is divided with a door the vanity area is not and is situated about a meter from the end of the bed. The clothes closet is also in the same area. While the set up appears poorly designed at first you soon realise it is a most annoying problem particularly as there is no privacy at any time for who ever may be using the vanity area; day or night.

Harry's restaurant for breakfast is reflective of a much more modest hotel. It lacks any sort of splendor or invitation and is a poor reflection of the Stamford brand. It is noisy, congested and the positioning of the buffet generates congestion around the main food station. The food quality is mostly good but for the decaying cheese on the platter and the variety adequate. The ability of the staff to keep the stations & condiments topped up and their attention to all detail is sadly lacking. It appears management is failing to roster appropriately for peak times.

I offer a word of caution. Do not pre book or pay for breakfast regardless of the offering as you will find it promoted at a more affordable price in house which may be a reflection or acknowledgement of the quality and standard.

Sadly, a disappointing hotel experience from a chain that I had greater expectations of. I have enjoyed much better experiences from Stamford in Brisbane & Adelaide. Having stayed in several other Melbourne hotels I regret to say it is to those I will return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Legar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear legar,
I am sorry to note that your stay did not meet your expectations in the areas you have outlined. I would like to assure you that your feedback will be reviewed by the appropriate department heads as it is comments such as yours that provide us with the opportunity to improve our service offering and delivery. Should you provide us with the opportunity to accommodate you again, I invite you to contact me directly on 03 9659 1178, it would be my pleasure to show that we are indeed capable of providing you with the exceptional experience that Stamford Hotels and Resorts are renowned for.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is located 2 blocks from the city circle tram and only 3 minutes walk from the Bourke St Mall.

Check-in process was very smooth and ultra fast. The suite itself is very well maintained and nicely decorated. The bed is very comfortable and there is a direct access to the balcony overlooking Little Collins St. Housekeeping did a good job in keeping the suite very clean and nicely maintained.

A job well done goes to Antonios Francos at the reception. He provided service with a smile and incredibly prompt in processing the check-in.

Highly recommend this hotel for both business and leisure travellers.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thefrequentraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear thefrequenttraveller,
Thank you for such a glowing review – I’m thrilled that Stamford Plaza Melbourne provided all you were looking for in a hotel and more on your recent trip. Thanks also for highlighting the fantastic service provided by Antonios, our team does a fantastic job of taking care of our guests and I know everyone will be delighted to read of your experience during you stay. Your recommendation is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Wow, the room we were in was great - it had a sliding door to separate the bedroom from the lounge - there were two TV's and a nearly full kitchen (with a dishwasher). We were here for work so the desk set up was great. I just wish we were staying longer than one night.

We used the valet parking - much easier than trying to park. It's in a great location.

I used the gym and the pool - both were good. The gym had headphones if you forget to bring your own and very up to date equipment.

We will definitely be back to stay longer here and enjoy a drink in the bar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaPaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear AustraliaPaz,
Thank you for noticing some of the wonderful features of our hotel…spacious, well appointed suites, excellent facilities and a great bar to relax with a drink. Don’t forget we offer happy hour prices between 5pm & 7pm daily – we’d love to welcome you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#33 of 162 in Melbourne
838 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 162 in Melbourne
4,373 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 162 in Melbourne
1,579 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Plaza Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Melbourne

Address: 111 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#27 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £111 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Plaza Melbourne is a leading 5 Star Melbourne CBD hotel with 282 suites and 26 brand new superior rooms.Located at the "Paris" end of Little Collins Street, Stamford Plaza Melbourne is the ideal choice for guests looking for quality accommodation in Melbourne's central business district. Set amongst theatres, renowned restaurants, fashion boutiques and Melbourne's finest attractions, guests can relax in the boutique surroundings whilst immersing themselves in the city's vibrant culture. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from Flinders Street station and Federation Square and a 25 minute drive from Tullamarine Airport. Your home away from home, the hotel's elegantly appointed 283 suites are a sanctuary with a luxurious sense of space and comfort. Each suite contains a kitchen with cooking facilities, spacious lounge and dining areas and separate bedroom/s with bath spa en-suite. Guests can enjoy the pool facility featuring sleek furnishings, a hydration station, spa and sauna facilities, and a well equipped gym with cardiovascular and weight training equipment. Services such as 24-hour reception, Concierge and room service, valet car parking and laundry, ensure a relaxing and fuss free stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Plaza Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Stamford Plaza Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Stamford Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing