We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
ibis
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Novotel
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (4,936)
Filter reviews
4,936 results
Traveller rating
2,316
1,718
597
196
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,316
1,718
597
196
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharry's bargreat locationspa bathking suitevalet parkingcollins streetlounge areasmall kitchenroom servicebuffet breakfastenjoyable staycentral locationgreat roommini barconciergegymcouch
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3,733 - 3,738 of 4,936 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Stamford Plaza for four nights. Had requested an early check in as we arrived at 9 am after a long haul flight with no sleep to be "welcomed" by a very frosty receptionist advising us that we would have to wait in the bar or restaurant until a room was ready, possibly 2 pm. After an hour's wait a much friendlier receptionist understood that we really would like a room as soon as and immediately gave us an upgraded room and apologised for our experience. What a difference. Our room was quiet, extremely clean and comfortable. Apart from the one receptionist, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location too with the hop on, hop off bus stop just on the corner. Really surprised that there was no free Wi-Fi in a hotel of this quality.

Room Tip: Had read comments that the rooms could be noisy but we had no problem with traffic noise. We were on third floor with a lane below us.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HeatherB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear HeatherB12,
Whilst I am disappointed that the true Stamford service did not shine through on your initial interaction, I am very pleased that we were able to turn the situation around and redeem ourselves in your eyes with a great stay. Please be assured that your valued feedback will be shared with the team to make sure we learn from this experience. We would be honoured to welcome you back again and hope another stay is in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We flew to Melbourne to see The King and I. Whilst in Melbourne we stayed at the Stamford Plaza Melbourne. Our stay was very enjoyable, the staff were very helpful. The room that we stayed in was a one bedroom suite which had a kitchen, dining table and lounge so we were able to sit in comfort and relax after our flight. The bed was comfortable, overall the room was value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesM489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear DesM489,
I am delighted you enjoyed our hotel service and facilities and the Stamford Hospitality! I appreciate you sharing this experience and I will ensure we share this with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The room is a mini-apartment with the signature of a 80's interior. Lots of comfortable older style chairs. Rooms are small and the spa bath oozed its age. The staff are kind and as efficient as one would expect in Melbourne. Great place for business but lacks good food though next door at the Stokehouse is better. Beds are queen and the $24.95 wifi gouge removes the sheen of this old lady.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank DrDiscerningHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear DrDiscerningHotel ,
Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay as your feedback is of great value to us. Our larger room categories also offer a King size bed so perhaps this may be more to your comfort for any future stays – our reservations team would be very happy to make note of your preferences for your return visits. We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

If you book this hotel on an external website for more than two peope they will only have bedding prepared for two. Even though the room you pick says it has facilities for three they accept your booking. When you turn up they will advise you its extra cost for the third persons bedding. I believe that my booking was not a suprise they were expecting three, but of course could not ring us in advance to tell thats the case just come in and open your wallett. Then the manager told us that if you book a child they could share the bedding with the parents or we put in a cot (thats a baby not a child) now my child was a teenager and that was an embarrasing suggestion for all concerned. We travelled America together and never had any drama. Families beware when booking this hotel book direct with the hotel or payout for a two bedroom suite.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Colin672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear colin672,
We love to welcome families and as such our suites offer various bedding configurations to ensure everyone is comfortable. It unfortunately seems that there was a miscommunication with regards to your requirements on this occasion and I would greatly appreciate it if you could advise me which website you used so I can investigate this further. I would be very happy to hear from you and can be reached on 03 9659 1000 or lilianroger@spm.com.au.
I do hope we can welcome you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Stamford Plaza Melbourne
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Three of us stayed here for one night. We were seeing Les Mis at Her Majestys theatre around the corner, and this hotel seemed convenient.
We were in a room with two double beds and a single. The room felt spacious, with two tvs, small kitchen, desk and practical table & 2 chairs.
Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating. The location was good, being easy to get into and around Melbourne city.
We would stay here again on our next trip to Melbourne.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilian R, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Peter S,
It sounds like you and your fellow guests’ enjoyed a wonderful stay at Stamford and I hope you enjoyed the show just as much. There are so many fantastic shows running in Melbourne t the moment and, as you have mentioned, our proximity to each theatre makes our location very convenient. We’d be delighted to be your number one choice for accommodation from now on and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,
Lilian Roger
General Manager
Like us on Facebook l Follow us on Twitter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews