We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Vibe Savoy Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$290
US$262
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$102
US$88
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$171
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Mantra Southbank Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$178
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$139
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Oaks On William(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveller rating
214
89
30
13
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
214
89
30
13
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssouth yarratoorak roadboutique hotelgrand suitejelly beansluxury escapeshome away from homewashing machinesmall hotelbotanic gardenschapel streetgreat boutiqueseparate bedroomquiet streetpillow menusmall kitchenclose to shops
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 354 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2012

we had a great weekend at the lyall-quiet room with everything you need, helpful (very, and friendly) staff, with good advice about managing melbourne on a grand final w/e, and well positioned for transport. definitely be back

Room Tip: room 107 was mouse quiet
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francoislepelerin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear francoiselepelerin,
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review, it is certainly appreciated by our team
who have seen your kind comments.
We hope you enjoyed the Grand Final atmosphere, it was a fun weekend.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and
once again, thank you.
With kind regards
Rowina Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

What a lovely cosy boutique all suites hotel, with a mini kitchenette. Well positioned on a quiet Murphy Street but so very close to South Yarra shops, Como, Jam Factory and South Yarra station. We left our car here and walked everywhere... Including walking into the city via the famous Melbourne Tan into the city, and walking back along the Yarra River... Took around 45 mins each way... So no high heels ladies. We managed to admire what a beautiful city Melbourne is.... Hence for several years now, Melbourne being the most liveable city in the world, always against another two favourite cities of mine, Vancouver and Vienna. So if you want to enjoy Melbourne a bit away from the city and yet close to all the Fashion shops, the Lyall hotel is fabulous. The staff here are welcoming and friendly. The hotel is privately owned, making it a less stuffy and more attentive to their guests. Free wifi is a big bonus.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brettnjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear brettnjess,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of not just The Lyall but our beautiful city.
It certainly is one of the most liveable cities in the world and we promote The Lyall
as Melbourne's most livable hotel..."Live The Lyall" !!
You covered so much ground on foot which is a fantastic way to see a city and
Melbourne is so well laid out that you can usually cover most of the major attractions.
Please come back and see us again, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Upgraded upon arrival and excellent service since checked in.

Nothing was too much trouble for them, they offered to cook us up whatever we wanted as part of our included breakfast and even prompted us with more extras they thought we might like. 2 staff delivered the breakfast together to avoid bringing it in pieces.

They offered a very late check out when we first booked and enquired via email, you ask for a little and they deliver all they can.

Checking out the staff were great organising a taxi, very professional guys on the desk that respected my wishes for discretion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Ladyfitch,

I am most grateful that you took the time to share your experience at The Lyall on TripAdvisor.
Being a privately owned and operated hotel, we are not as strict and bound by rules as many of the chain hotels are. It is our philosophy to do everything we can for our guests (subject to availability, of course) making the experience very personalised and tailor made.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Lyall in the not too distant future.
With kind regards
Rowina Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I've just stayed a night at the Lyall Hotel and was super impressed!
The service is impeccable, my very generously sized suite (407) was fabulous with a smart kitchen, washer/dryer, heated floor tiles in the bathroom, french doors opening onto a balcony, lovely bathroom amenties, big fluffy towels and bathrobes.
On arrival I was booked into the Spa which was brilliant, fabulous manicure and massage.
Loved the artwork and the fireplace in the hallway outside my room.
This privately owned hotel really shines and its my new favorite, its well worth a try.
Sandra Stone.

Room Tip: Rooms on he 4th floor have balconies and at the back of the hotel they are quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Sandra,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Lyall Hotel and Spa experience on TripAdvisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and service and have passed
on your positive feedback to everyone here.
By the way, every suite has floor to ceiling windows and a balcony.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warmest Wishes
Rowina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

I have had a wonderful visit to this warm quaint hotel. The staff Ed and Shaun were most welcoming from the moment of arrival. I was assisted with my luggage and all my requests were met. Beautiful rooms and the cleaners did daily service wonderfully. It's nice to have your clothes straightened, your toiletries placed in order, rather than some 5 star hotels who won't touch your belongings. Afternoon drinks by the fire was lovely and the spa was Devine. Amy is fantastic and not at all pushy to buy products, like some spas do. I will definitely be staying here again rather than the city and highly recommend France Soir for a meal. Ecco was also very good, both beside hotel but desserts at France Soir..... Dreamy. Only negative was on checkout the 2 new staff members, the gentleman who saw I was leaving and had lots of luggage, didn't offer to assist me when taxi arrived and I was finalizing the account with the femail staff membe. It took the taxi man a couple of trips with me assisting. Perhaps this young man needs to be more proactive and not worry about doing his cleaning at the bar.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russellalexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2012

Dear RussellAlexandra,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Lyall Hotel and Spa.

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and surrounds in South Yarra.
I have shared your positive comments with our team and have addressed the matter that you experienced on checkout with the relevant staff member. Thank you for bringing this to our
attention as it is certainly not what we would expect from our staff or the way that they have
been trained.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall in the not too distant future.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews