We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique Hotel? This is the one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #92 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This is may fifth or sixth stay at this hotel, I would not stay anywhere else. The moment you step into the hotel the staff are excellent. The reception staff, housekeeping and maintenance ( last time I broke their washing machine, yes washing machine ) are always pleasant, helpful and reliable.

The room has large windows, four in our room that are more like doors that open for fresh air, and access to a balcony. The room is large and clean with seperate kitchenette and lounge room., all exceptionally comfortable and well maintained. The bathroom has heated floors, the best, a separate shower and bath. My only complaint in my last visit were the pillows, if I had read the information booklet I would have seen the pillow menu, this time I have my wonderful feather pillows!

Several time we asked for a clean at a specific time and they were there in five minutes, the turn down service is as reliable. Room service arrived within 10 minutes each time we ordered it and it was simple and always fresh.

Ask for a dining location and their advise is great!

Another wonderful stay here, and I will be back for my next visit.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 209 perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Marlzi,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about The Lyall on TripAdvisor.
We are so pleased that you like the service and what we offer here at The Lyall.
Also glad that you discovered the pillow menu to personalise your sleeping
preferences.
Please do say hello on your next visit and we look forward to welcoming you
back in the near future.

Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2012

The staff here are fantastic. From check in to check out, no request was a problem, and frequently we were treated to "over and above".

Our one night stay included a spa treatment (fabulous massage) and wonderful a la carte breakfast served in the small, but perfectly formed, bar area.

Although overall exceptionally clean, there were a couple of small "unidentified crusted substances" on the bedcover and sofa.

That said, I wouldn't hesistate to stay here again as one day had the relaxing effect of three elsewhere!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flossyfizzdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Guest,

We are so happy that you enjoy the service at The Lyall Hotel as well as The Lyall Spa.
It's great when you can make one night feel like three in a good sense and hope that you
won't leave it too long before returning for another special weekend.

With kind regards
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

The Lyall is one of my favourite hotels. Friendly, stylish, comfortable, contemporary.

Very good breakfast. The daily special muffin is just too tempting!

Easy tram access to central Melbourne on number 8.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BritPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear BritPaul,

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive thoughts on The Lyall Hotel.
We are thrilled that you like it and enjoy the breakfast too.
As you mentioned, the number 8 tram is easily accessible and is a picturesque
ride into the centre of Melbourne.
We hope to welcome you back to The Lyall in the near future.

Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We had a little over a week at the Lyall and when you stay this length of time at a single place you do notice things. Staff at the Lyall at all levels, from front desk to housekeeping, make this place and they were very friendly and accommodating, both to ourselves and particularly to our small child and to his fondness for the jelly bean jar. Overall, as most other reviewers note, it's close to transport, an easy walk to the city and rooms are generally quiet. The free WIFI and valet parking are also a bonus. However, we were a little disappointed with the condition of the rooms, the television and the quality of the food in room service. My general belief is that if you're going to stay in a boutique hotel it should be just that - boutique and special and it should provide an experience that is different to the one you could have at home. Unfortunately, The Lyall suffers from a lack of attention to the little (or perhaps bigger) details in the rooms, you'd really want to see attended to at this level. While the public areas were generally well cared for, in our two bedroom suite the walls, skirting boards and scotia were scuffed, chipped and marked in more places than I could count and in the kitchen the carpet had split and become frayed. The television service, very important when you're stuck with a toddler, was supposedly Foxtel but was only a small and not very varied selection of channels which bore little resemblance to the provided guide and it was guessing game using the remote. The quality of the room service food was fairly average, particularly breakfasts and the kitchen could do well to ramp up both choice and quality. On the plus side, the bathrooms were a generous size and the beds very comfortable. We'd love to stay again but we'd also like to see some tender loving care being by way of a makeover.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the Toorak Road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments about the hotel on TripAdvisor.
We are glad that you enjoy the service, the staff and the location of The Lyall
and I am delightede to see that you have returned since.
We are working through the hotel fixing these details at present.
I look forward to chatting with you on your next visit.
With kind regards
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

we had a great weekend at the lyall-quiet room with everything you need, helpful (very, and friendly) staff, with good advice about managing melbourne on a grand final w/e, and well positioned for transport. definitely be back

Room Tip: room 107 was mouse quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francoislepelerin_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear francoiselepelerin,
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review, it is certainly appreciated by our team
who have seen your kind comments.
We hope you enjoyed the Grand Final atmosphere, it was a fun weekend.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and
once again, thank you.
With kind regards
Rowina Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

What a lovely cosy boutique all suites hotel, with a mini kitchenette. Well positioned on a quiet Murphy Street but so very close to South Yarra shops, Como, Jam Factory and South Yarra station. We left our car here and walked everywhere... Including walking into the city via the famous Melbourne Tan into the city, and walking back along the Yarra River... Took around 45 mins each way... So no high heels ladies. We managed to admire what a beautiful city Melbourne is.... Hence for several years now, Melbourne being the most liveable city in the world, always against another two favourite cities of mine, Vancouver and Vienna. So if you want to enjoy Melbourne a bit away from the city and yet close to all the Fashion shops, the Lyall hotel is fabulous. The staff here are welcoming and friendly. The hotel is privately owned, making it a less stuffy and more attentive to their guests. Free wifi is a big bonus.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brettnjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear brettnjess,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of not just The Lyall but our beautiful city.
It certainly is one of the most liveable cities in the world and we promote The Lyall
as Melbourne's most livable hotel..."Live The Lyall" !!
You covered so much ground on foot which is a fantastic way to see a city and
Melbourne is so well laid out that you can usually cover most of the major attractions.
Please come back and see us again, it was our pleasure to have you stay with us.
Warmest wishes
Rowina Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Upgraded upon arrival and excellent service since checked in.

Nothing was too much trouble for them, they offered to cook us up whatever we wanted as part of our included breakfast and even prompted us with more extras they thought we might like. 2 staff delivered the breakfast together to avoid bringing it in pieces.

They offered a very late check out when we first booked and enquired via email, you ask for a little and they deliver all they can.

Checking out the staff were great organising a taxi, very professional guys on the desk that respected my wishes for discretion.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyfitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Dear Ladyfitch,

I am most grateful that you took the time to share your experience at The Lyall on TripAdvisor.
Being a privately owned and operated hotel, we are not as strict and bound by rules as many of the chain hotels are. It is our philosophy to do everything we can for our guests (subject to availability, of course) making the experience very personalised and tailor made.
I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Lyall in the not too distant future.
With kind regards
Rowina Thomas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,782 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,849 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £124 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing