We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Favourite Melbourne Base!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #98 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Still a Favourite Melbourne Base!”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Another one of those weekends sandwiched around travel across countries and it was back to Melbourne but the need for a hotel after being very kindly loaned an inner city friends apartment for the past few years. Firstly I have to say I REALLY enjoyed being back in this neighborhood - the South Yarra/Toorak border. I feel safe here, the train is just down the road, the restaurants are plentiful and you can stick to the main road late at night and feel really comfortable and safe on the walk home from restaurants in Toorak for a little further in Parrhan. The Chapel Street Caffe e Cuccina is just as spectacular as it has been since it opened. The Lyall, being more of an apartment hotel gave us room to move, to relax - spread out. Decor is little changed in the hotel, but I like it, all butter colours that are really soothing and the staff are slick without being clever, I like that. But then you know I like small and beautiful. Oh and a fab little coffee shop (hole in the wall) on the same street as the hotel before you hit the main road. Homemade muesli slice to die for and a great grab a coffee on the walk down to the train station in the morning. Was a pretty good stay. Consistent and you cant beat that!

Room Tip: Choose a room on the corner of the building, I think you might just get a little more space. But the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Karine,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Lyall.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed the finer details of the hotel and its location.
South Yarra is a great location and yes, it feels safe to walk from restaurants at night.

Please do let us know when you are planning to return, we'll look forward to welcoming
you back.

With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hoteiier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    80
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
48
158
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a fantastic night in the Lyall Hotel, our room was amazing with a massive king sized bed and deep spa bath. The staff were courteous and were a pleasure to deal with. The hotel is in a fantastic location with everything that you require being only a short walk away. Well worth the money!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Christian W,

Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay at The Lyall.

It is very pleasing to read that you enjoyed your experience of both
the hotel and the good service provided by our staff.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Lyall
in the near future.

With kind regards,
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

Had anticipated a really luxurious experience based on reviews and price. We were bitterly disappointed!! Service was far from friendly, welcoming or as you would expect. Room was small with low ceilings, terrible quality coffee, smelt of Indian curries and furnishings were very outdated. Conceirge was a waste of time as not only thought it was Friday when in fact it was Saturday but couldn't direct us to any local wine bars. When we asked for a taxi they suggested we walk to Toorak Rd to hail one rather than call one on our behalf. To top our experience off, when checking out the receptionist neglected to say "good morning" or ask how our stay was, but opened the conversation with, "anything from the mini bar"!! In summary, we won't be back and would not recommend to anyone. This place including staff needs a complete overhaul.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank FranceHolidayParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.
I regret that you did not enjoy your stay and
ask that you email me directly and advise
your name and when you stayed so that
we can look into this with more accuracy.
Please be assured it is not our policy to direct
guests to Toorak Road to get a taxi, we would
not do that unless you suggested that you
would prefer to do that.

With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
pr@thelyall.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed at the Lyall on the recommendation of friend. I stay in a lot of big chain/big city hotels and generally they are horrible, impersonal experiences. By contrast the Lyall was a delight. Yes, we got upgraded so I can't speak for the basic room, but our suite was fantastic. Unlike big hotels, there is a great shower with awesome water pressure, you don't hear other room's doors banging throughout the night or toilets flushing. Everything in the room seems to have been deliberately chosen. All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. There is nothing I would change and I would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, it was a pleasure to read.

You are probably aware that The Lyall is Melbourne's only privately
owned and operated 5 star hotel and you are right, all of the features
you mentioned are deliberate and features that we look for ourselves
when choosing hotels to stay in. The features throughout the suite
have been chosen with thought and in particular, insulation and water
pressure are important features to ensure a comfortable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall.

With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a very good position for restaurants and shopping and the facilities are very good. However a couple of gripes. Firstly, the hotel is next to a building site and a first class hotelier should warn prospective guests. Secondly, due to a late flight we enquired about a late check out and was informed that a 1/2 rate would apply. This is understandable and when we went back to confirm we were told the hotel was fully booked but we could get a room at the full rate. Strange!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lewis1202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Lyall and for your review.

We are glad to know that you like the hotel and its location.

In relation to the building site in the street behind, it has not been
a problem for our guests in the slightest. The builders have been
most co-operative and very understanding of our requirement of
not creating disturbance for our guests.

With regards to the late check-out, I apologise for any miscommunication.
Normally, as you were advised initially, a half day rate would apply if we are running at
a high occupancy (we often don't charge if not full). In this instance,
yours was our last available room which could not have been resold for
that night if you had a late check-out hence the request for a full night's rate.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back
to The Lyall.

Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gembrook
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Stayed at the Lyall recently - stayed in a two bedroom suite which was great - everything we needed and more. Beautiful rooms, great attention to detail and we had a magnificent time. Special mention of the staff - we were a little bit in love with David when we left!! Great breakfast and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks so much. We shall return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyncarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review of your stay at The Lyall.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and
that you appreciated the smaller details and friendly staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall.

Warmest wishes,
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Recently returned from stay at tr Lyall. The rooms were a good size and well equipped. The bathroom was showing a bit of wear but nothing substantial. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is very well located in south yarra very close to trams an trains to the city or other destinations. Chapel st is just around the corner with good shopping and dinning. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KJones13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at The Lyall.

We appreciate the feedback that you have given and are
delighted that you enjoyed your experience.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 160 in Melbourne
1,691 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 160 in Melbourne
2,057 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Property: Lyall Hotel and Spa
Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#89 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing