We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #92 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stay in a deluxe one bedroom suite for a weekend and was very impressed with the quality of the rooms - the layout was well thought out. The kitchen had everything you needed including a washing machine and ironing board that folded into a drawer. The living area was spacious, there was a dining table and chairs and a comfortable sofa with flat screen tv. There were three tvs in the room - one in the living area, bedroom and bathroom. There was free to air tv as well as a few foxtel channels. The living area opened to a balcony (with a table and two chairs), our room was quite dark as it looked onto the carpark but I'm sure in the view would have been nicer in the rooms on higher levels.

The bedroom was a decent size and a pillow menu was provided. There was plenty of storage space in the bedroom including storage for shoes and a safe. The room had several full length mirrors. The bathroom was spacious and two bathrobes were provided. There was a shower (with excellent hot water and pressure) and a spa bath. Toiletries were supplied.

We had breakfast both mornings in the bistro near reception - the service is very attentive and breakfast was a reasonable price, similar to cafes in the surrounding area. The location is very convenient, short walk to South Yarra station, tram and Chapel Street shops. This is a nice place to stay outside of the CBD.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miss_v_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Miss V Rose,

Thank you for your sharing your experience at The Lyall on TripAdvisor.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities in the suite and the
overall service of the hotel.
Our location in the heart of South Yarra, as you found, is a bonus and
well worth experiencing if you have always stayed in the CBD.
We hope that we can welcome you back to The Lyall in the near future.
Once again, thank you.
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here over the weekend and have to say it is one of the best places I have ever stayed in. The 1 bed suite was fabulous, all amenities that you expect and more, hotel is located close to South Yarra Train station and commute into the CBD was around 10mins the hotel is also in walking distance to famous Chapel Road shopping district.
The best part of this hotel is the customer service from the moment you enter the foyer you are greeted by very friendly staff who throughout our stay were polite, courteous and very helpful. A truly fantastic place to stay in Melbourne and we will be back again Im sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pftBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at The Lyall last weekend.
It was pleasing to read that you found our service to be of a high quality
and that you enjoyed the hotel and its location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall in the near future.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Loved staying there this week, warm inviting and great staff. Not quite hilton style but it's not stuffy either. Food was simple but very home style.rooms are modern and what I liked was it had a washing machine and dryer great for longer stays. No cable tv though just local. Nice warm fire and library nook to sit with a glass of wine. Staff are very friendly and professional. Appears they have been hand picked. Apparently the hotel is frequented by the fashion industry and tv personalities. I did see Stevie Jacobs the nine weather man check in when I was there, I was told Emma Friedman also stays here.In all I enjoyed and will be back

Stayed: May 2014
Thank jonsey69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Jonesy,
What a great review, thank you.
My only query is that you did not have cable.
You must have thought it odd that a 5 star hotel
didn't have a large range of TV channels. We do !!
I am not sure why you thought we didn't but if you
are unsure of something next time, please ask.
The Lyall does attract many fashion and celebrity
clients because it is comfortable and discreet.
having just 40 suites means that our staff can
really look after our guests and their individual needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights Mid week and experienced a very professional team. From check-in through to check out. This was the 1st time we had stayed outside of Melbourne CBD. Our Cab took us from the Airport to the hotel about 9pm when our flight arrived. As he headed away from the city i was starting to think "Oh My where have i booked us"
We checked in and the staff were excellent and had a member of staff show us to our suite and proceeded to let us know where some of the main attractions were.
When we finished Breakfast the following morning we went for a stroll around the area and we were very presently surprised about how close to the main shopping in South Yarra was!!!
The Train station is only a 2 min walk away and getting into Flinders St Station is only 5 mins away!
The breakfast here are Al a Carte and presented very well about average for a brunch type of meal. ALL staff were very polite and ensured that our stay went well. I would definitely stay here again to get away from the busy hustle and bustle of Melbourne.

Room Tip: All rooms are suites and have their own private Balcony. Because of the location of the hotel you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shaunlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Shaun,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of The Lyall on TripAdvisor.

Staying in South Yarra is definitely a lifestyle choice and one that many are
not aware of. We are so centrally located easily accessible by tram and train
to the CBD yet right in the heart of the best action in Melbourne. As you found,
just step out of the front door and you are surrounded by fabulous restaurants,
fashion shops, art galleries etc etc. Toorak Road and a part of Chapel Street
are designated Tourist Areas of Melbourne.
I was pleased to read that you found our service professional. We have a
wonderful team who love their chosen profession.
Please do stay again, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a relaxing three nights at The Lyall over ANZAC weekend. Excellent, friendly service in an understated manner. Very peaceful night's sleep (even on the ground floor) awoken only by morning birdsong. No request was ever too much.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank MJMCNEIL72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear MJ McNeil,
Thank you for taking the time to share you experience at The Lyall.
We were delighted to know that you enjoyed the service and ambience
of The Lyall. Also being situated on a tree lined street just off Toorak Road
provides a quieter environment promoting a better night's sleep
with fresh air through windows that open.
We hope to welcome you back soon.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just completing my stay at this wonderful boutique hotel. The accommodation, location, service, food and spa are all excellent. Thanks especially to Louise for giving me the most heavenly body wrap. I was floating for hours after! I would definitely recommend a stay here!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Diana,
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Lyall and all
we have to offer.
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and to mention
your bodywrap by Louise in the Lyall Spa.
Please do come and stay again, we'd love to welcome you back.
Warmest wishes and thanks again.
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I just enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Lyall Hotel & Spa during a visit to Melbourne. The hotel is situated perfectly in the South Yarra district of Melbourne where chic shops and restaurants abound. It's more of a park like setting, very quiet with attractive grounds, however, you are just minutes away from the CBD if that is your thing. The rooms are luxurious and more spacious than you'd expect from a big city hotel. The staff are superb. David scored bookings for us at the best restaurants…even at the last minute, he somehow always got us great tables. Luciana was fantastic. She presented us with a wonderful room upgrade because our original room overlooked a noisy construction site. This place defines the high standard for a luxury boutique hotel. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank K9safari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Guest,
It was a pleasure to read the glowing review that you generously wrote of your recent stay
at The Lyall Hotel and Spa, thank you.
We agree, our location is ideal for visitors to Melbourne for its convenience to attractions and the CBD but more importantly for the great shops and restaurants that surround us in South Yarra.
Thank you for complimenting our staff and are happy that we were able to accommodate those
"hard to get into" restaurant requests. Please do let me know when you plan to visit again, we look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,782 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,848 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Lindrum Melbourne - MGallery Collection
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#83 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £124 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Southall Travel, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing