We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location, atmosphere and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lyall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lyall Hotel and Spa
Ranked #83 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Location, atmosphere and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

I travel to Melbourne a lot and do not particularly like staying in the CBD. The Lyall was a great experience located in the heart of South Yarra. Overall, the service was exceptional, rooms were really nice and the spa was great. The hotel is also great value and very fairly priced.

Service: We arrived a few hours before check in and they were more than happy to check us in early. The staff was super friendly and were genuinely warm. There was no air of stuffiness that you sometimes can get at boutique hotels. Anything I asked them to do they fulfilled with a smile and promptness. I needed something sent next day mail. They offered to goto the post office for me. I just handed them the object and the address and it was done. Anytime you leave the hotel they always offered to get you cab. Even late at night you were always greeted with a smile and not some grumpy man working the late shift. When I was there there was a problem with the business center so they printed all my documents for free off the front desk computer. The best part is that they offered to do these things for me. I never had to ask. Everything you needed was anticipated. Nowadays that is rare.

Room Service: We ordered room service a few times. The food tasted great and the price was reasonably. They also delivered the food promptly.

The Spa: My girlfriend used the spa and got a facial. She had the last appointment of the day and was running a bit late. They didn't rush her and didn't make her feel bad for being late. She said the facial was great and very relaxing. She also recommended a product that they had no stock, but gave her a sample which my girlfriend appreciated.

The rooms: The rooms were great They were spacious, the bed was comfortable and the room was quiet. The room was also tastefully designed with nice furniture. It did not have that bland hotel feel that many rooms have.

Overall, everything was great and I look forward to staying at the Lyall next time I am in Melbourne. Btw, there is free wifi which is always nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rafaelnemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

It was with great pleasure that I read your review of your recent stay at The Lyall.
Thank you for your complimentary comments covering nearly all aspects of
the hotel and spa.

In a world that is hard and fast and where automation and faceless service is gaining strength, we believe that personal service, provided well, is the key.

Thank you for your comments on the room design and décor, room service and spa facility.
It is interesting that you noted that the hotel is great value and fairly priced, Australia is
among the cheapest in the world for hotel stays yet among the most expensive to operate
so thank you for acknowledging that we offer value.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall in the near future.

Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    74
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
45
148
16
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We Stumbled upon this hotel by mistake. What a wonderful mistake. The place was absolutely delightful from the moment we parked the car at the front door entrance. We were immediately met by concierge who took our bags into reception. The check in was another delightful experience. We were greeted by David with a lovely warm smile, who had the check-in details all ready. It was basically - sign here, he got a credit card imprint, and that was that. The process was quick, and easy. David advised that if there was anything we required at all, to not hesitate to ask, and he would personally organise. David made us feel very welcome. He went above and beyond our expectations in his overall service delivery during our stay. Nothing was too hard, and everything was a pleasure - Good old fashioned service is back! Where does the Lyall recruit their staff? I later read in the info brochure in the room, that the Hotel will even go to the local IGA Supermarket to get you supplies if required. We later took David up on this offer to organise a taxi for us to go out for dinner. David exceeded our expectations, and booked us luxury chauffeured transport to the CBD and back again, at the same cost of a taxi. Upon returning to the hotel, we were greeted again by David who asked how our evening was, and if the transport he arranged was suitable. David then advised if we did not want to go down to the main restaurant for breakfast that it could be delivered to our room at no extra cost - Well we jumped at that - a hot cooked breakfast in bed, and of course the breakfast was to die for. I then had a hot stone massage the next morning at 10am, which I must say was one of the best massages I have ever had. My therapist, Daniel was very well experienced in the hot stone style, and provided me with the best massage I have had. The spa rooms were gorgeous, professional, very inviting. Daniel was a well trained and excellent therapist, not to mention a lovely young man as well. The whole experience was wonderful, and the service was very personal, prompt, caring, and nothing was too hard. You wont be able to keep me away from this place. I will be back time and time again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a private belcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Melanie A,
Thank you for such a glowing review.
It is pleasing to see that the efforts in hiring and training behind the scenes are
experienced by our guests.
Thank you for commenting on the service and attention that you received from
David whose approach to service is genuine and thorough.
Thank you also for your comments on The Lyall Spa and in particular Daniel who
is an exceptional therapist in qualification, expertise and manner. our menu of
services in The Lyall Spa is extensive and our therapists are among the best.
We hope to welcome you back to The Lyall in the near future and hope that
we will meet.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Made a mistake in booking another hotel and was lucky enough to get a room at the Lyall last minute. Will now stay here in the future.
Stayed in one bedroom suite that is fully self contained with washer/dryer and small cooktop.
Fantastic concierge, great little restaurant and champagne bar.
Looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hurstie617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,
We are thrilled that you made a mistake and even more thrilled that
you enjoyed your mistake.
Thank you so much for writing your review on tripadvisor and sharing
your experience at The Lyall.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Overall our stay was quiet pleasant but for the end....when we were the victim of an attempted scam by the hotel staff.

Whilst the hotel presents very nicely form the front and reception area, the actual rooms are fairly simple and dated. The shower is in a dingy bath in which a normal person cannot even stand properly (it squashes your feet).

However, when we went to check out and specifically asked for a "taxi" to take us to the airport. My wife overhead David, the "manager" (and the only staff member at reception) make a phone call asking for a "car" to take a guest to the airport. I told my wife not to worry about it as there was no way the Hotel would arrange a hire car instead of a taxi when we specially asked for a taxi - these type of scam/kick back systems clearly would not happen in Australia with Australian guests. However, 15 minutes later a hire car pulled up out the front of the hotel and the driver (dressed in a suit) walked in and asked David who had ordered the car. David pointed to us and then told us that our "taxi" had arrived. Wanting to make sure, I asked David whether this was our "taxi" and David said yes, this was our taxi.

I then questioned David and said it looked like a hire car and not a taxi. And this was the truly disappointing part, instead of acknowledging the situation, David made up some story about the hire car being for another guest (even though we were the only guests waiting in the lobby for transport). When David repeatedly told us that he had called for a taxi and that he didn't know how the hire car had come to be at the front of the Hotel I told David I would be making a formal complaint.

I have since made a complaint and was rung by Paige, from the Hotel who told me there was a misunderstanding as the hire car was for someone else. I informed Paige that this was definitely not correct as when David had tried to suggest this to us we asked who else it was for and he told us he didn't know and that he was confused and couldn't explain. And if this was a misunderstanding, why hadn't the "taxi" he had supposedly ordered not arrived.

I don't like being taken for a fool, especially by a Hotel that puts itself out as a boutique hotel. Further, to be patronised and have someone waste my time after the event by telling me a load of rubbish, seriously, you should treat your customers how they expect to be treated. We ended up waiting nearly 40 mins for a taxi, and nearly missing our flight because of the unnecessary delay.

A shame, because South Yarra was a great place to stay in Melbourne. Next time I will be giving the Olsen or Como a try.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank oneinvestment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding "a car / taxi" booked for the airport from The Lyall.

I have questioned our staff extensively over this incident for, as you can imagine, being the
owner of small hotel with an excellent reputation, the last thing I would like to see is that reputation damaged.

It appears that it has been a complete misunderstanding in that a "car" (limousine) had been called for a guest who was still in their suite (not in the lobby waiting) while you were waiting for your taxi. David does often refer to taxis as cars, which can be a little confusing but he assured
you and me that he had ordered you a taxi which did arrive after car for the other guest.

Many reputable hotels around the world do order cars instead of taxis for the same price, not as a scam but to offer their guests a cleaner and more pleasant experience.

I regret that you feel you were being taken for a fool and I can assure you that we value your business and would certainly not want to jeopardise that with non-professionalism.
Our long term staff David and Paige both tried to explain the situation to you on the day
and afterwards on the phone.

I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Lyall.
With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

Due to the great location I stayed here again with two of my adult children and this time found the rooms were great. Lovely bathrooms and sitting area with a very modern kitchen and everything you needed for our 5 nights. The staff were very attentive and polite and the welcoming fireplace and bar near the entrance added to a very pleasant stay. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lightw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your 2nd stay at The Lyall.

It was pleasing to know that you enjoyed your suite, the hotel and
it's intimate ambience as well as the service.

Our location is both central to everything and quiet enough to
have a good night's sleep.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to The Lyall.

With kind regards,
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stay in a deluxe one bedroom suite for a weekend and was very impressed with the quality of the rooms - the layout was well thought out. The kitchen had everything you needed including a washing machine and ironing board that folded into a drawer. The living area was spacious, there was a dining table and chairs and a comfortable sofa with flat screen tv. There were three tvs in the room - one in the living area, bedroom and bathroom. There was free to air tv as well as a few foxtel channels. The living area opened to a balcony (with a table and two chairs), our room was quite dark as it looked onto the carpark but I'm sure in the view would have been nicer in the rooms on higher levels.

The bedroom was a decent size and a pillow menu was provided. There was plenty of storage space in the bedroom including storage for shoes and a safe. The room had several full length mirrors. The bathroom was spacious and two bathrobes were provided. There was a shower (with excellent hot water and pressure) and a spa bath. Toiletries were supplied.

We had breakfast both mornings in the bistro near reception - the service is very attentive and breakfast was a reasonable price, similar to cafes in the surrounding area. The location is very convenient, short walk to South Yarra station, tram and Chapel Street shops. This is a nice place to stay outside of the CBD.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_v_rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Miss V Rose,

Thank you for your sharing your experience at The Lyall on TripAdvisor.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the facilities in the suite and the
overall service of the hotel.
Our location in the heart of South Yarra, as you found, is a bonus and
well worth experiencing if you have always stayed in the CBD.
We hope that we can welcome you back to The Lyall in the near future.
Once again, thank you.
Rowina Thomas
Hotelier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here over the weekend and have to say it is one of the best places I have ever stayed in. The 1 bed suite was fabulous, all amenities that you expect and more, hotel is located close to South Yarra Train station and commute into the CBD was around 10mins the hotel is also in walking distance to famous Chapel Road shopping district.
The best part of this hotel is the customer service from the moment you enter the foyer you are greeted by very friendly staff who throughout our stay were polite, courteous and very helpful. A truly fantastic place to stay in Melbourne and we will be back again Im sure.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pftBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WithThanks, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience of your stay at The Lyall last weekend.
It was pleasing to read that you found our service to be of a high quality
and that you enjoyed the hotel and its location.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Lyall in the near future.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Royce Hotel
#33 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lyall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lyall Hotel and Spa

Property: Lyall Hotel and Spa
Address: 16 Murphy St | South Yarra, Melbourne, Victoria 3141, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#28 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#35 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#76 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Lyall Hotel and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Let us pamper you. A true 5 Star service Boutique Hotel centrally located close to Toorak Road / Chapel Street shops and restaurants. Melbourne's only privately owned/operated luxury hotel with 40 one and two bedroom suites of contemporary oriental design. The Lyall Hotel and Spa's welcoming ambience attracts a discerning international clientele seeking genuine and professional service whether travelling for business or leisure. All suites have full length windows that open for fresh air and a balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Lyall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lyall Hotel Melbourne
Lyall Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing