We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (367)
Filter reviews
367 results
Traveller rating
221
92
31
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
221
92
31
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews south yarra toorak road boutique hotel grand suite jelly beans luxury escapes home away from home washing machine small hotel a la carte breakfast chapel st botanical gardens pillow menu quiet street separate bedroom close to shops train station
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 367 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2018

We have stayed at the Lyall Hotel many times over the years and have never been disappointed. The staff are always polite, friendly and efficient doing everything in their power to ensure an enjoyable stay.
This time we were celebrating a significant Wedding Anniversary. I had notified the hotel of this when booking and we were treated to a complimentary bottle of champagne which was waiting in our room as we arrived.
We always have a feeling of regret when we have to check out and head back to where we live and can't wait to book another stay.
The hotel is close to many restaurants and shops with trams and trains within a short distance. I would highly recommend the Lyall Hotel for anyone visiting Melbourne for any reason

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Sean,
Thank you for this wonderful review on TripAdvisor.
We love it when guests choose The Lyall for their special occasion and enjoy enhancing the celebration.
Thank you for your kind words about the staff and your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back
in the near future before your next anniversary.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina T
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Was very pleased with our stay at the Lyall. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful during our stay. We really appreciated the complimentary drink by the fireplace prior to heading to our dinner reservation- the concierge arranged this after he found out we were celebrating our anniversary. The hotel has everything you could want/need- free wifi, pillow menu, bath robes and a bistro for breakfast lunch and dinner. Would definitely recommend a stay at the Lyall and hope to go back in the future (next time will check out the gymnasium and book in a spa treatment as well!) only areas for improvement are as follows: bed was slightly uncomfortable for my husband but ok for me (hard to please everyone with mattresses). And my huband asked for tomato sauce on the side with his breakfast and did not get it. In my opinion those things are minor

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank aussiechicka85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for this great review on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased that you celebrated your anniversary with us and that we were able to make it that little bit better with a drink by the fireplace..
Thank you for your kind words about our inclusions, friendly staff and their service,
Please do use the gym and make a booking in the Lyall Spa on your next visit, you'll wonder why you waited.
Please let us know your preference for bedding next time you book so that we can try to accommodate the level of firmness your
husband requires. We will also ensure that he receives his tomato sauce, my apologies for this.
South Yarra is so central and convenient to great shops, restaurants and Melbourne attractions. It offers the opportunity to live
the upscale South Yarra lifestyle like a local.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina T
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

This smallish boutique hotel, with world class spa, champagne bar attached is situated centrally in trendy south Yarra. The location in a side street off the main road is central, close to a host of resturants and a few minutes from South Yarra station if you want to go into town! The rooms are suites and larger than average, especially if you upgrade yourself to one of the premium suites. Champagne bar also serves excellent a la carte breakfast.

Room Tip: Upgrade yourself to a premium suite
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lucinda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear Lucinda,
Thank you for this fantastic review.
Your mention of the Lyall Spa, the champagne bar and the trendy location close to restaurants is appreciated
and confirms the benefits of a small (privately owned) 5 star hotel in a great (non city-centre) location.
Thank you also for mentioning our large suites (from 500sqm) and our a la carte breakfast which we serve until 2pm each day.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina T
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

I always find it interesting to read negative reviews on Trip Advisor as it makes me question "did I stay at the same property?" ... "What did I not see?" ..."As someone who travels monthly how did I think this place was so good when others found it so bad?" And then I realise that the more you travel, the more you see, the more reference points you have to compare and the more you appreciate what you do and don't expect or get... and even at its worst this a a great place to stay! I stopped looking at five or four star ratings long ago they are the outcome of ticking boxes and I also accept that if you go boutique and not one of the global brands then there is no point comparing a five star Lyall to a five star Sofitel nor are you paying the same room rate ... I've stayed here a few times and not for a while and it is as welcoming, conformable, contemporary and well run as I expected.... Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank woftam66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2018

Dear woftam66,

What a lovely review, thank you.
As a regular traveller you have a great understaning of how a hotel can and should deliver service and sometimes more importantly can make you feel. It seems that everybody is a critique with social media and we can't always exceed expectations but my message to reviewers is to voice their issue or opinion during the stay so that we can have the opportunity to rectify the situation and hopefully
turn them in a happy return guest. .
Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Warmest wishes,
Rowina T
Hotelier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

25 years ago South Yarra and The Lyall was the epicentre of Melbourne style. Sadly, Toorak Road, South Yarra is now a succession of massage parlours and Thai restaurants. While The Lyall Hotel remains unchanged...unchanged and in need of an interior refresh.
In the meantime, don’t be put off by the building construction next door.
They’re into the fit-out stage and didn’t really intrude on our three day stay. Let’s hope management gives this iconic boutique hotel a makeover through fresh eyes.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank PrentoSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowina T, Owner at Lyall Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear Prento,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

It was disappointing to read that you found South Yarra not to your expectation.

In 25 years we have found that it had dropped a little, attracting some Thai Massage Parlours, yes, but in the last 5 years a wonderful and exciting new collection of restaurants, bars and concept stores have taken residency in this neighborhood which attracts
a discerning local and international clientele.

I was glad to read that your stay was not affected by the building next door. It is in its final stage with just 4 weeks to go.
The Lyall, which has been open for 16 years, has been consistently upgraded in the public areas and the suites most recently
with bedheads, new curtains and cushions. We will certainly be focusing on improvements to The Lyall on completion of
the Lyall Residences.

With kind regards,
Rowina T
Hotelier


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews