We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service, nice amenities, though rooms needs some touch up”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #17 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Spent two nights for leisure at this Westin property at Melbourne in early December. Location is excellent for shopping and dining - right near the Paris end of Collins Street. The rooms are nice and cosy - what you would expect from a Westin grade hotel. I had one facing Collins Street and no problems whatsoever with noise, even though people had been partying late at night (december christmas!). A compliment to hotel management as the rooms are nicely serviced and promptly attended to - they could do with some improvement to their in-room lighting/AV-TV control system as I fimnd them a bit dated by today's standards. Other than this, would recommend this hotel to both the business traveller or the quiet, leisure, taking-it-easy traveller

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for choosing the Westin for your city getaway. Thank you also for your feedback regarding our in-room lighting and television system. We have recently refurbished all of our guest rooms so your comments will be reviewed in future updates. We would also encourage you to contact us prior to your next visit as we may be able to assist with you specific lighting preferences. We are so pleased you are willing to recommend us to others and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,996)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,568 - 1,574 of 1,996 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed the one night with my wife as we had a Xmas party next door. Had a balcony view room overlooking City Square which was great to watch the world go by. Only one word can describe this hotel - service. I checked in and went for a walk returning an hour or so later. An attendant opened the door for me and said "Welcome back Mr Winch" when I returned. I have never had a personal greeting like this ever from any hotel in the world.

Nicely appointed rooms and very good noise proofing. Heard nothing at nightime despite being bang in the middle of the city. Breakfast was ok - nothing earth shattering. But everyone was so damn polite. That's the thing that will stay with me the most from our short stay.

Room Tip: Choose the balcony otherwise you'll be staring out at a concrete wall on the other side of the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilwinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Mr Winch. Thank you for recognizing our personal, instinctive service – it is inspiring to receive such positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed a refreshing stay and hope to welcome you back soon for perhaps a longer visit. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

The hotel is lovely, rooms are luxurious but best of all the staff is excellent. The location of the hotel is close to everything in the city and close to the tram system for those things not located in the city. The staff was so helpful, when I lost a bag they found it, they offered excellent recommendations for bars and restaurants and were just very pleasing.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank and_beyondChicagoIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed a fulfilling stay and were able to assist with locating your lost property. Our Concierge are certainly very knowledgeable about Melbourne and are always delighted to assist with recommendations to ensure you make the most of your time in the city. We look forward to assisting you further on your next stay with us. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

Tend to stay here when in Melbourne. Doesn't have the view of the Sofitel but very central. Service understated but immeadiate and special requests sorted very quickly. Love sitting in the bar in one of the corner nooks after a day in meetings.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ludditeluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Reviewer. We are delighted you choose to return to the Westin for your visits to Melbourne. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to providing another fulfilling stay when you are next in the city. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I've been staying at the Westin Melbourne since 2007 and recently returned for my 5th visit. While it is on the expensive side, every time I have stayed I have received the same excellent service and always had a great time at the hotel and Melbourne generally. Here's why:

1) Location: It's on Collins St, in the heart of Melbourne. Just outside, on City Square, is Brunetti, a phenomenal patisserie, and also a Starbucks if you're after a quick coffee. There are trams running in all directions outside the hotel so it is easy to get around the city. The Regent Theatre is next door; I saw 'Wicked' one time and 'Love Never Dies' another while staying at the Westin. Two minutes after leaving the theatre you are home for the night!

2) The service: On my last visit it was my birthday and a small note and box of chocolates was left in my room. I was greeted with a 'welcome back' when I arrived in a taxi from the airport. Everything is done easily, nothing is too much trouble. When, on my third visit, it took a while for my luggage to arrive, I was given a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine

3) The rooms: Spacious, airy, clean, with a massive bathroom. All the rooms are equipped the same: big bed, big tv with a DVD player, big wardrobe. The add-ons can be a bit expensive - for example, while there is a large room service selection it is a bit pricey - but at the Westin the room is so lovely that you do just want to order room service and curl up for the night!

The Westin Melbourne will always be one of my first choices - if you can, try it out.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemissredsoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such delightful feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our personal service, luxurious facilities and central location close to all the city has to offer. We sincerely value your loyalty and look forward to continuing to be your hotel of choice in Melbourne. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We were tossing up between Crown, new Grand Hyatt, Sofitel and Westin and for a very short stay I am glad to have chosen the Westin. We stayed just one evening but the following day was spent perusing the city, shops and the mandatory stop at Cumulus Inc! Melbourne is so cool, we had a great weekend away from the kids and the Westin is close to it all!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SYDmelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

A very warm welcome was extended from the front door staff, the reception staff and basically all staff members we encountered during our 3 night stay mid November. The staff were professional, friendly and very helpful. Our king room (6th floor) was lovely but the church view we had asked for was more of the air conditioning vents of the building across the lane & Federation Square so I did ask to be moved. The hotel was full so another church view wasn't offered. Our second room on the 4th floor overlooked Swanson St - much nicer although being on a lower floor meant a tiny bit of street noise. The beds are what Westin are famous for and didn't disappoint. Our room and bathroom were large, spotless and tastefully decorated. The location could not have been more perfect - surrounded by fantastic restaurants, bars, shopping and tree lined streets. Enjoyed a run through the botanic gardens thanks to the map supplied by the front desk staff. The price was more than we would usually pay especially as didn't include breakfast but seemed to be on par with what the other comparable hotels were charging - just an expensive time of year to be staying in Melbourne! No free internet access in the rooms is a continual gripe with this hotel chain.

Room Tip: Sixth floor had no street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucyIntrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2011

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your detailed feedback. We are pleased we were able to assist with a more suitable guest room outlook and you enjoyed our personal service, luxurious facilities and even some scenic exercise courtesy of our WestinWORKOUT® running map. Regarding guest room internet access, you will find our charges are consistent with similar five star hotels, however we also provide complimentary wireless access in our Business Centre and Lobby Lounge. We look to providing another warm Westin welcome on your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
5,695 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 162 in Melbourne
4,384 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,774 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
2,394 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 162 in Melbourne
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £159 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing