We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Westin Melbourne
Nearby Hotels
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$100
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Crowne Plaza Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Art Series - The Blackman(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$195
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Art Series - The Larwill Studio(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$148
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (2,180)
Filter reviews
2,180 results
Traveller rating
1,408
543
139
54
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,408
543
139
54
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheavenly bedmartini barallegro restaurantspg membercity squarecollins streetregent theatrea city view roomrain showerhigh teaconcierge deskdeluxe roomrooms are largestar hotelvalet parkingperfect locationbuffet breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,739 - 1,744 of 2,180 reviews
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We arrived a day before the Melbourne Cup (no thanks to Quantas and the lockout) when the hotel was full so we were expecting to get a bad room since we were using Starwood points, and of course we did. The view aside, a brick wall and rooftops, the hotel was unique for a Westin, and we enjoyed every second of it. The reception the day of the Cup was above all expectations, truely well done.

The room: Just like all the pics others have submitted, nothing much to add. The bathroom is very nice. Rain shower and good products. The closets are nice to have. Safe for your valuables as usual. A Westin Heavenly bed as usual which your body just melts into. Good clock radio for your ipod. Fridge in the room is great to have too.

Use the concierges. They are full of knowledge and very helpful. We bugged them early and often and we enjoyed all their ideas. Several times we had food ideas down to three choices and they guided us to the best choice, which we liked. Just ask them about greek food, it will be the best you ever had, even if you've been to Greece.

The doormen greeted us each time we walked in as if we were their friends returning from a day out, very nice.

The business center is an asset not used by many guests. It has everything you need to get some web browsing done, or work (ugh), and even print out your boarding passes.

Location is very usefull. Right down the street from all the transportation options you'll ever need. Great restaurants, shopping, museums within walking distance.

Do not miss the tour to see the Philip Island Penguins. I can not stress this enough. It is easily top five things I've ever done in my life. Sure I love animals and you might not, but these Little Blue Penguins are hilarious.

Room Tip: Get the Swanston St side if you can, upgrade if you have to, that is, if views are important.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azgators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide detailed feedback. It is inspiring to receive such positive comments on our room and guest facilities. Our Concierge are certainly an excellent source of local knowledge and they are always pleased to assist with suggestions for unique Melbourne experiences. We apologise we were not able to assist with a City View Room on this occasion and will certainly be delighted to meet your personal room preferences for future stays where possible. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

My wife and I are currently having an extended stay at the Westin over Christmas, and have stayed many times before. The location is excellent, and the staff attentive.
I do not mind paying $500+ per night: what I do not expect is to be charged $20 per day for wi-fi, which is ubiquitous and free in cafes, backpacker lodges and most five star hotels throughout the world.
After going blue in the face requesting free wi-fi in my room (after all, it's nearly 2012, and I'm sure even the Westin management has heard of iPads), my argument prevailed, and it somewhat soured my experience.
Bottled water also incurs an expense.
This is a very good inn, but could be better if management desisted from trying to make every post a winner.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidCruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. Regarding internet access, we understand it is important to remain connected during your travels and therefore provide several access options, including complimentary wireless in our Business Centre and Lobby Lounge, as well as the use of an iPad at our Concierge Desk. While we appreciate guest room internet access may be a complimentary offering in other regions, you will find our charges are consistent with similar five star hotels in Australia. Regarding bottled water, please note two bottles of complimentary water are provided on the bedside table in every guest room, which are identified by bottle tags and replaced during daily service. Additional bottles are available on request through Service Express. We hope you continue to enjoy our central location and personal service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

beautiful elegant hotel, right in the heart of the city, easy walk ot shops, right next to Regent theatre so easy whn goitno see a show, close to mIss Lousie shoes whose window is a delight

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith_S988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your personal comments. We are pleased you enjoy our ideal location near to all Melbourne has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The Westin is everything you could want in a hotel. The location is magnificent for walking around beautiful Melbourne and its gardens. The service is excellent, the dining and conference facilities are top notch, the building is modern, the rooms spacious.

The only thing that I would change about the Westin is the price. As with all chain hotels in major Australian cities, they really represent poor value for money when you compare them to other expensive locations around the world, such as the major cities of Europe. Australia is simply an expensive place to stay and one of the reasons many of us locals find it preferable to travel the world rather than travel our own country.

Having had my grizzle about the price, if I return to Melbourne I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1800hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Spent two nights for leisure at this Westin property at Melbourne in early December. Location is excellent for shopping and dining - right near the Paris end of Collins Street. The rooms are nice and cosy - what you would expect from a Westin grade hotel. I had one facing Collins Street and no problems whatsoever with noise, even though people had been partying late at night (december christmas!). A compliment to hotel management as the rooms are nicely serviced and promptly attended to - they could do with some improvement to their in-room lighting/AV-TV control system as I fimnd them a bit dated by today's standards. Other than this, would recommend this hotel to both the business traveller or the quiet, leisure, taking-it-easy traveller

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMel, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2011

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for choosing the Westin for your city getaway. Thank you also for your feedback regarding our in-room lighting and television system. We have recently refurbished all of our guest rooms so your comments will be reviewed in future updates. We would also encourage you to contact us prior to your next visit as we may be able to assist with you specific lighting preferences. We are so pleased you are willing to recommend us to others and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews