We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you expect from a Westin Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #18 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“What you expect from a Westin Hotel”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for two nights travelling for work. The hotel is in an excellent location close to great shopping and eating areas.
The rooms are well kept and the bed was fantastic to sleep in. Bathrooms are very big and have all the wonderful extras you expect at a hotel like this.
The buffet breakfast was adequate but not as good as I would have thought.
I used the gym and found their service of hiring out gym shoes ($5.00) was an excellent idea and more hotels should do this - sometimes you don't have enough room in your bag for a pair of joggers.
The staff were excellent and all very pleasant and couldn't do enough for you.
All in all a great stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ltinbris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you made the most of our hotels central location, in the middle of all that Melbourne has on offer. Our Heavenly Bed’s is an important part of the signature Westin experience. The Wellness Centre is popular with our guests travelling on business as it is open 24hrs, allowing that late night work out after a long day at the office. We are delighted you made use of our unique Gear Lending initiative with have recently implemented with New Balance. It is a great way to work out on a business trip without having to worry about packing bulky running shoes in your carry-on luggage. Your feedback regarding the breakfast offering is well noted and with our new Executive Chef on board reviewing this menu is a priority. If you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,231
    497
    128
    51
    32
See reviews for
243
808
132
501
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine coast
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel hoping for quiet accommodation as I am a light sleeper.
For sleep quality its excellent, the bed was very comfortable with soft pillows and room was very quiet.
The hotel had friendly staff and a nice cocktail bar, although the cocktails were a bit lacking, the staff friendly but not much personality. my lychee martini was way too sweet.
The decor in the entire hotel is nice but conservative, very bland.
It's in a marvellous position close to town shopping and upmarket shopping.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments regarding your last visit to our hotel. We are delighted you made the most of The Westin Melbourne's brilliant location and the quiet and spacious rooms together with the comfortable of the Westin Heavenly Bed. Your comments regarding the cocktails are well received and will be passed onto our Food and Beverage Manager for review. It may also be worth mentioning that we are very close to the final design plans for the refurbishments of the main communal spaces. This will breathe vitality and new life into the hotels aesthetic characteristics. As we work to complete it late this year and early in 2014, we hope that you return to experience it for yourself. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ulverstone, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is a fantastic location in the city. The rooms and service are exemplary and the view over Swanston Street is fantastic. Worth the money for that special occasion if you are able to get a special. Don't pay for the valet parking, park it yourself at the same carpark for half the price, which is situated under the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such refreshing feedback. The views onto Swanston Street and City Square certainly are very popular with our guests. There is a green co car park located under city square however when exiting you will have to drive two blocks down and 4 blocks up to enter the hotel driveway. The flat fee for valet parking allows as many entries and exits. May we mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Everything works in favor of The Westin Melbourne. The location is perfect, it is smack in the middle of CBD area where top restaurants such as Vue de monde, Movida and Flower drum are just a stone's throw away from the hotel. All major department stores and malls are also within walking distance. The service is AMAZING. Within moments of walking in, everything from your room to restaurant reservations are sorted out. The concierge team deserves a special mention here. They truly made the stay memorable by recommending the right places to us and also sorting out car rental etc without us having to do anything. The rooms are very well appointed and spacey. The carpets did look a bit old but everything else was new and the beds were very comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a (nearly) perfect stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderluster_rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you so much for such positive feedback. We are all very proud to be working for the Westin brand in such a beautiful hotel. We too believe we tick all the boxes, however sometimes we do drop the ball but this only makes us work harder and strive to deliver a memorable experience. We are delighted you appreciated our personable and instinctive service and we will be sure to share your comments with our entire team, with special mention to our concierge department as we know they make a difference to our business. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again upon your next visit to The Westin Melbourne. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff, uk
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the westin for 2 nights. Very nice hotel in a fantastic part of town. Room was well appointed and the managed a few mins in the gym which was also great. Good breakfast although choice was only ok for a 5 star hotel. However loved the fruit bread. Very very nice indeed! Would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank wilko51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for such positive feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our unbeatable location amongst all that Melbourne city has to offer and that you made the most of our first class onsite facilities. We will ensure your comments are passed to our chef regarding the breakfast menu selection. Due to its popularity the Westin workout area (open 24 hrs) will be undergoing a redesign and expansion. With a new lay out and all new life fitness equipment, we are sure you will enjoy an updated facility when staying with us next time. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne for another revitalising stay. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

I stay here every time I'm in Melbourne - It's beautiful. The location is perfect and the rooms are spacious.

Apparently they are going to refurbish... god only knows why as it is timeless as it is.

Do yourself a favour and take a short stroll to Chin Chin. The best food ever.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rennsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Dear reviewer and valued guest. Thank you for your uplifting comments regarding your last visit to our hotel. We are delighted you made the most of our hotel’s brilliant location and spacious and well appointed in room features. We are very close to the final draft from the design team for our refurbishment. We chose the hotel’s original designer so we may “continue our story” as our lobby is so beautiful and iconic . As we work to complete it late this year and early in 2014, we look forward to your return. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

It has been more than 15 years since we have stayed at the Westin, Melbourne having decided to work our way through other 5-star Melbourne hotels instead. An evening function called us to the central part of the city and the convenient location was the main drawcard. Valet parking was easy, check-in was a breeze and a sparkling wine in the lobby lounge relaxed us enough to truly enjoy the function we attended. As many others have mentioned, the rooms are large, spotlessly clean and equipped with first class linen, furniture and accoutrements. Breakfast was relaxing and enjoyable, although the serving area was a little cramped. Overall, the Westin is an exceptional hotel, convenient and first class - truly a great stay in the city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us in every way. Our commanding central Melbourne address does place our guests amongst the very best that Melbourne city has on offer. Our rooms are certainly known for their size and it is with these signature Westin features and service standards that we are able to offer our guests a revitalizing stay. During your next stay, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,130 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 159 in Melbourne
2,607 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing