We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First rate hotel in an excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Westin Melbourne is quite possibly the best hotel in Melbourne. Location is beyond excellent - in the epicentre of Melbourne and virtually beside Flinders St Station and Federation Square. On top of that you are on Collins and within a stones throw of the main retail area and city hall. There is no better located hotel on the city. Despite being in the centre of it all, Westin is a calm and welcoming oasis where staff provide gracious hospitality and unobtrusive but attentive service.

Often my visits to Melbourne involve events at the convention centre and for those I stay at Hilton Southwharf. However, for CBD visits the Westin is my first choice and i recommend it with confidence.n

Room Tip: Every room I have had has been great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are thrilled you had such an overall uplifting stay in every way. Our hotel certainly is a relaxing oasis in the middle of the bustling city and is positioned amongst the best designer boutiques, theatres, galleries, and Melbourne’s finest attractions including Federation Square, the Arts Centre, MCG, and the Tennis Centre. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,103 - 1,109 of 2,017 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

My partner & I stayed in Melbourne from 16-19/01 to attend some of the Aussie Open and leisurely take in areas of the city we had missed during prior visits -- and this was really a great visit for us, save the heat wave!

We arrived early (approx 9am). Westins, in particular, are incredibly hospitable upon arrival in their frantic search to accommodate its patrons IMHO. Reception had apologized and explained that the hotel was at full capacity due to the Aussie Open. No later than 10:30 our room #637, a deluxe king balcony room, was ready and the porter had our luggage delivered to the room shortly after we had settled. Our room requests had been met: highest avail room (fl 6 - spg fl; the higher floors are for owners of Westin properties), corner room, away from the elevator w/ a balcony. Unless we were upgraded to a Spa Studio, it would have been impossible to be placed in a corner room. On this basis, we were quite happy every request possible was honored.

On our way up, 1 of our key cards needed to be magnetized again. While we were in the process of putting our devices on the hotel wifi network, I realized reception had not offered my choice of perks as a SPG Gold Preferred member, which includes the choice of free wifi. When I attempted to call service express/front desk, we discovered several buttons on the face of the phone were missing, which made it impossible to know which # to press. Engineering quickly fixed that and I had to return to the front desk for a magnetized key, to first request engineering fix the phone, and to opt for free wifi for our stay.

If Melbourne's CBD is where you want/need to be, the is definitely a great pick! Business travelers and tourists, alike, will find the hotel's proximity to...practically everything in Melbourne. The museums and Fed Sq. are great, the gardens provide a nice walk and good respite from everything. If shopping is your thing, you need not walk far for all your designer brands. There are tons of nooks and alleyways full of small shops and restaurants to poke your head into, and I encourage visitors to do so. All around the hotel, you will be bombarded by artists showcasing street work, live music, decorations abound (i.e. the trees to protect the bark, etc. or the water fountain on the corner of Collins at the Westin near Starbucks where people make messages using leaves placed on the water. Melbourne is such a great city, so full of life, energy and eccentricity. And, if you're staying at the Westin, you'll be in the center of it all! :-)

All hotel personnel we dealt with directly were pleasant. Just a few suggestions to management to improve overall quality:

1. When traveling a good deal during the year, it means a lot to Golds & Plats to thank us for our loyalty and to ensure we are offered the benefits associated with our elite status;
2. I love SPG's campaign to Go Green, but I noticed our sheets were not changed any time during our stay. We did not opt for points or a $5 voucher as a green choice. Yes, we could have called housekeeping to replace the sheets, but it would just be a hassle. However, it is a service I expect when staying in a hotel.
3. The concierge, a young lady in college, while enthusiastic and trying her best, didn't inspire much confidence when she answered whether she had been on any of the penguin tours, to which she had replied, "no" and explained she was so busy between work and school. I understand that, but the person manning the concierge desk should be knowledgeable.
4. I e-mailed the concierge at the hotel btwn 72-48hrs prior to arrival to inquire about spa treatments and chauffeured car hires for r/t airport and inner- & outer-city drives/tours. I understand this was a busy time for the hotel, but to be e-mailed at 10pm the night before waking at 4am to make our way to the airport...that simply is not up to par with Westin, Melbourne standards.

Room Tip: 6th floor - deluxe w balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trekkingtheglobe_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear valued Gold SPG member. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with such detailed comments – your feedback is certainly valuable to us. We are delighted to hear that overall you enjoyed your recent stay at The Westin Melbourne. The Australian Open is a fantastic event and despite the extreme heat experienced this year, it really is a great time to be in Melbourne. Our prime location certainly places you amongst all of Melbourne finest attractions and we are pleased to hear you made the most of this. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the less than satisfactory experiences you encountered during your stay. We certainly do place a lot of value on our SPG members and the loyalty they show to not only this hotel but the greater Starwood Group. We realise there is no excuse for these instances and rest assured your comments will be passed on to relevant departments for further discussion and improvements. Once again we thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and we sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne for an uplifting stay in every way. Until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

GREAT location, just behind St. Pauls, and walking distance to federation square. We had a top view from our window, my husband loved the swimming pool and spa located on the lower ground floor . What impressed us most was helpful staff " nothings too much trouble " . The concierge do a wonderful job, thanks !!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susy1Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel’s unbeatable Collins street address in the middle of Melbourne City, our fantastic onsite hotel facilities and the high levels of service our staff take pride in offering guests. The Lifefitness equipment in the WestinWorkout fitness studio has recently been upgraded and the facilities are available for use 24 hrs – enabling that late night workout. Plus, we have recently initiated a innovative Gear Lending program with New Balance, where guests can rent fresh workout gear and running shoes in your size for a nominal fee of $5 - the socks are yours to keep! During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. We look forward to welcoming you again in the not very distant future. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed at the Westin for 3 nights and loved the place. It''s brilliantly located for shopping, the tennis, etc ... It's always a good test of how the stay will be rated by the greeting and service from the doormen and the guys at the Westin were brilliant. Lovely friendly service with water bottles offered as we walked out after check-in and more water after a run the next morning. The reception desk is the next test and once again we received lovely friendly service over the 3 days.

We only had the basic room but it was very pleasant with good air con for Melbourne's 40+ days. Rom Facilities include a lovely bath, big shower, big bed and 42" TV.

The Westin serves a lovely breakfast with a very wide choice of continental and cooked options - far more than you need and all very tempting. The other thing we really enjoyed was the wide sweeping lobby with lots of space for guest to drink, relax or do a bit of Internet time.

You can't go wrong with the Westin really as it has a great location, very friendly staff and good facilities. In our opinion it beats the Langham and Quay West Suites by a country mile.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSAX88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear reviewer. We are delighted you had such a fulfilling stay at our hotel last week. We see you noticed our very large and well-appointed rooms with signature Westin features that enable us to offer our guests a rejuvenating stay and that you experienced the instinctive service our staff take pride in offering to all our guests. We hope you enjoyed the tennis, even in the unbearable heat, it is a great time of the year to be in Melbourne and our hotels coveted location places guests in the heart of all the action. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. Simply visit spg.com. We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne sometime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The Westin is in a great location, close to everything! We enjoyed the large Spa Suite, with lovely views across the city and a generous bathroom, but the tram noise was very evident from the 3rd floor. The pool was excellent and everything was clean and in good order. Concierge were fabulous, as were reception and room service delivered quickly (but our trolley was still in the hallway the following morning)... Overall, I would definitely stay there again, based on the welcoming and helpful nature of concierge, and the location.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Johann Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We are very happy to hear you appreciated our fantastic Concierge team who take pride in delivering our guest the best service standards – we will ensure your comments are passed on accordingly. Our Deluxe Spa Suites do have superb views over Swanston Street and offer up close views of some of Melbourne’s most iconic architecture that surround the hotel. We are pleased you were able to use the beautifully designed onsite lap pool in our tranquil Westin Wellness Center – it’s a favourite amongst guests. Upon your next visit to the hotel, you get time to make use of our onsite fitness studio with recently upgraded Lifefitness equipment - available for use 24 hrs – enabling that late night workout. Plus, we have recently initiated a innovative Gear Lending program with New Balance, where guests can rent fresh workout gear and running shoes in your size for a nominal fee of $5 - the socks are yours to keep! We look forward to seeing you back at the Westin Melbourne soon.

NB. May we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go online to spg.com and join the program for a host of extraordinary rewards, including free nights with no blackouts, airline tickets and exclusive offers. SPG members also receive 15% off food in our onsite venues. Membership is complimentary. Terms and conditions apply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Great room, we got the suite, it was very very large with a great size bathroom, great service, slightly snooty concierge but he still got the job done.

Didn't have breakfast as we were more keen on trying the Melbourne array of breakfast places.

It was everything you expect a Westin chain to do for you so it was great/good... but it didn't WOW.

Beautiful old building though :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EuphoricAudacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your feedback, it is very valuable to us. We are pleased you appreciated our large rooms – they are some of the biggest on offer in Melbourne. Apart from the incidence with a concierge staff member, we are also pleased to hear you experienced the instinctive service our staff members take pride in offering all our guests. We are fortunate to be positioned amongst some of Melbourne finest dining options and coffee shops so is great to hear you made the most of this. We do work hard to offer our guests experiences that exceed their expectations so it is somewhat disappointing to learn that we were not able to deliver this to you for your recent stay. However, we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne for a stay that exceeds your expectations upon your next visit to Melbourne.

NB. May we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go online to spg.com and join the program for a host of extraordinary rewards, including free nights with no blackouts, airline tickets and exclusive offers. SPG members also receive 15% off food in our onsite venues. Membership is complimentary. Terms and conditions apply.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here twice for business. Beautiful rooms, beautiful Hotel and decor. Excellent location.

You get what you expect from The Westin brand here. Room service was great and the rooms are large. Fantastic bathroom.

No downsides here. Loooking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear reviewer. We are delighted to read that you had such a fulfilling stay in every way. We see you noticed our very large and well appointed rooms with signature Westin features that enable us to offer our guests a rejuvenating stay. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. Simply visit spg.com. We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne some time soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,787 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,435 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,824 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 161 in Melbourne
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £150 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing