We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #15 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Beautiful hotel, cannot complain about my room, huge as was the bathroom, great amenities, nice design. Great location in lovely Melbourne CBD. Had to pay $20 for internet, not sure why hotels charge for this, but fee was reasonable and wifi was super fast compared to other hotels. Some reviewers don't think this is a five star property, but I suggest that it is. Apparently, it does not have club rooms. My only gripe with this hotel was that the majority of staff were not overly warm or cheerful, and I have stayed in other top-notch properties in Melbourne where the staff were fantastic.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank Deanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide such special feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Westin Melbourne. Our in-room internet is one of the fastest in town and guest could connect up to three devices at the same time. As an alternative, guests are welcome to use the complimentary internet in public areas, as well as desktop computers in the Business Centre. We hope you will be back again in the near future for another renewing stay. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,108 - 1,114 of 2,033 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed there for 5 nights and we must say that the hotel is definitely in the prime location.

I must say that the location, coinceirge and doormen service is probably the only good thing about the hotel. Mainly all hardware about the hotel needs major improvement. Bathroom is huge but again dont know why they didnt give more space to the room. Layout of the bathroom is weird.

However, here are my bigger disappointments:
1.) Swimming pool water was DISGUSTING. Seems like the water has not been changed for months. After putting my head in the water, i nearly puked after seeing the water so blurry.
2.) Most hotels will provide you complimentary late check out, however they only provided me late check out till 12 (seems standard) and everything after an hour will charge me AUD25. I have never heard of hotels charging for late check outs
3.) Our second day in the hotel, we were stuck in the elevator for nearly 5 minutes. When we pressed the emergency button, it told us to hold as the line was busy....

Even though I rate this hotel as very good, i rate it comparing it to a 4 star hotel and not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide your comments, this feedback is important to us. We are pleased you appreciated our converted Collins Street address and fantastic service from the Concierge team. However, we are disappointed to learn that your recent stay the hotel was less than satisfactory and we would like to apologise for this. Rest assured all of your comments, i.e. the condition of the water in the pool, late check-out and the elevator experience have all been passed onto the relevant departments for further discussion and improvements. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne for a much more satisfying stay in every way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our 23rd Wedding Anniversary. Right from the moment we parked our car at valet, we were met with very happy and fun staff. At check-in, reception noted it was our anniversary and congratulated us. Then later a personalised congratulation note was sent to our room with a couple of very yummy little chocolates. The room itself was well appointed and spacious - particularly the bathroom. Our booking came with buffet breakfast, which was to die for. It is our new favourite Melbourne hotel. Right in the heart of the CBD, you are in walking distance to all major attractions.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boadecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear reviewer. We are so delighted to hear that you and your husband had such a satisfying stay in every way, especially on such a an important occasion. Our large and well-appointed rooms, unbeatable location and instinctive service are all what we are so well known for. We certainly look forward to welcoming you both back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. Simply visit spg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed during the 40 degree heat and initially the air conditioning seemed to struggle but we turned it down to 18 degrees and it seemed to be ok, although the duvet's were to warm for this weather. Bed was a little too soft for my liking. The bathroom is huge, don't know why they didn't give more space to the room but very comfortable. Great central location. Pool was a bit murky.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubagbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments your feedback is appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed our unbeatable location in the heart of Melbourne – even if it was a sweltering hot time to be in the city. For your next visit the Westin signature Heavenly Bed is available in a firmer option, you just need to request this when making a booking. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne for a much more satisfying stay in every way.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. Simply visit spg.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

The Westin was the star of our honeymoon before heading overseas. They were the only hotel that did nothing special at all, which was a little disappointing. Something small would have been noticed and appreciated, and done by every other hotel.

The room was large, and well furnished. Guest check-in average - not friendly and certainly did nothing above the hello, can I have your credit card, here is your room key. Concierge and the doormen were the best by far - friendly and really went out of their way to make a difference - including being offered a bottle of water after my run!

The bar and lobby was also dull - not friendly staff. The self help water was empty several times, even after asking the bar for a glass of water as the cooler was empty.

All in all - for 5 stars I expect great all round. For me, the staff need to work on being friendly, starting with the check-in desk. I would not go back - there are better 5 star hotels in Melbourne.

Glad the breakfast was included in our room rate. $40 is a joke for what they had on offer.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlT816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your feedback, it is valuable to us. Firstly we would like to congratulate you and your partner on your recent marriage and we are pleased to learn you chose our hotel to celebrate such a special occasion. However, we are truly sorry to hear that you were made to feel anything less than special on such an occasion. Further, we understand the disappointment you must have experienced regarding the service encounters you experienced at Front Desk and in the Lobby Lounge, we assure you this is not a reflection of the typical levels of service we strive to offer our guests at this hotel. We will certainly be looking into the matter further. We encourage you to contact our front office manage for further discussion regarding your stay. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne for a much more uplifting experience. We wish you both a long and happy marriage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Travelled back here in early 2013 for a short visit. The Westin Melbourne is still an awesome hotel with great service and beautiful rooms. Courtesy of bering SPG Platinum, we got upgraded to a corner room with a nice view over the Collin's Street/Swanson Street corner overlooking the Town Hall.

The room was superb and the complimentary breakfast was excellent.

Last but most importantly, the location of this hotel is second to none, being in walking distance to most CBD attractions (Shopping at Collins & Bourke Streets, Federation Square) as well as being right next to the major trams (Swanson St) and trains (walking distance to Flinders St Station).

All in all, a great stay in the heart of the city

Room Tip: Rooms that have a city view is better (albeit pricier). City view rooms have great natural light and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabidcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear valued SPG member. Your feedback is important to us. We are delighted you enjoyed our unbeatable central location, the signature room features and our impeccable service, all of which we are well known for. The corner studios are always very popular and do offer fantastic city views. We certainly look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Until then, be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We stayed 4 night and really enjoyed our vacation. The hotel is located in a great area. It is a very nice business hotel and we do recommend it. The towels could have been a little nicer, but sheets and bed the great Westin quality. We also found the staff to be helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: stay on the backside of the square - the bakery out front moves their metal chairs around to set up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments. It is always a delight to hear that we were able to offer our guests such a satisfying stay in every way. Your comments regarding the towels are also well noted and will be passed onto the Housekeeping department for discussion. For your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go online to spg.com and join the program for a host of extraordinary rewards, including free nights with no blackouts, airline tickets and exclusive offers. SPG members also receive 15% off food in our onsite venues. Membership is complimentary. Terms and conditions apply. We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne sometime soon. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,833 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,468 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#12 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £142 - £352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing