We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like waking up in Rome!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #18 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Like waking up in Rome!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a night away in a lovely corner spa suite overlooking the beautiful cathedral on the corner of Flinders lane and Swanston st.
Entering our room gave us one of those ahhhhh moments that is reserved for only the most special accommodation. We LOVED our view with the glorious architecture of the cathedral; looking at it from our bed the following morning we felt like we were waking up in Rome!

The suite itself was stunning and so spacious. We enjoyed our large spa ensuite with windows looking out over Swanston st and of course our heavenly bed. We had a test run of the Westin's heavenly bed in Sydney and loved it then. These beds are on a par with the glorious beds at the Langham; absolute bliss!

We wandered down to the martini bar after dinner and enjoyed our chocolate martinis along with delicious desserts, cheesecake and toffee pudding. When we were finally able to part with our heavenly bed the next morning we enjoyed our buffet breakfast with a wide variety of offerings that one would expect from an establishment such as this.

We both love our beautiful city and staying at the Westin made it even more special. I would highly recommend it to visitors to Melbourne for its special experience and perfect location.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Triecia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are thrilled you had such an overall uplifting stay in every way. Our hotel certainly is a relaxing oasis in the middle of this bustling city and our converted Collins Street address is positioned amongst the best designer boutiques, theatres, galleries, and Melbourne’s finest attractions.
During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    498
    128
    53
    31
See reviews for
245
810
132
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

This is a very nice hotel in a great location in the Melbourne CBD. Handy to virtually everything in the city and just a short cab ride to Southbank. Room was very nice and comfortable, nice bed, nice furniture, big bathroom. Cleanliness was good.

Just a couple of minor issues. We turned up to check in at 4.00 pm and the room wasn't ready. We had to wait until after 4.30 pm which isn't great given check in time is 3.00 pm. And we had to walk down the street to get a cab since none came to the hotel.

Apart from that, all was good and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments, your feedback is valuable to us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at the Westin Melbourne. Our converted Collins street address does place our guests amongst the city’s finest dinning and shopping precinct and Melbourne’s finest attractions. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences of the delayed check in and unfortunately at times cabs are difficult for the city of Melbourne during wet weather and special events. We thank you for being loyal to our Brand and our Hotel and we look forward to your return in the near future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Me and my wife staying at Westin Melbourne for 3 nights for Easter holiday. Today is the second night. We went out 11:30 and left the room service sign on for our room to be cleaned. We came back at 6:00 prepare to have a rest but nothing has been done. There is a service lady came to our room saying " we are extremely busy today sorry, i will do the clean for you now “ We had no choice but going out for the room to be cleaned. We came back after 2 hours the room still not cleaning. Is this really a 5 star hotel? The service is extreme slow for everything. Very bad experience. We would never stay with Westin again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelS0917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your detailed feedback. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the less than satisfactory experience you encountered with our housekeeping services. This is not a reflection of the typical level of service we offer at our hotel. We were pleased to be able to connect with you before you left our Hotel and provide a gesture of goodwill. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne for an overall uplifting stay in each and every way. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Slow check in, and an $8 delivery fee for room service (ridiculous right?), are the only faults I can associate with my stay there, otherwise, it was perfect. The hotel were very very accommodating, ensuring we had rooms on the same floors as our friends, and allowed us to eat tapas in the restaurant where they are only served in the lobby cafe and the bar.
Excellent stay.

Room Tip: Asking for a disabled room means you get a bigger room than others. We accidentally got this room as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kayla1095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your feedback and we apologise for the less than satisfactory check in. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. Simply visit spg.com. We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the near future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Loved staying one night at The Westin.. only disappointment was the lack of bathroom supplies when I checked in!!! Shouldn't have to ring and ask for shampoo & conditioner and definitely would have expected more than just soap, shampoo & conditioner for a 5 star hotel .. Management need to take a leaf out of The Langham's book of style & service!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ducogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us. We certainly apologise that you had to request for more shampoo and conditioner. Our Service Express associates are always happy to help and provide further amenities and to update your profile so when staying next this is actioned before your arrival. We would be delighted for you to contact our Front Office Manager when planning your next visit to ensure your stay is memorable for all the right reasons. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

From the time we arrived to departure we had excellent service. The hotel is in a brilliant location near the City Square and Regent theatre,close to all facilities which was great for the comedy festival shows we attended. We had a package deal with breakfast, valet parking and free wifi experiencing also a lovely view of St Paul's Cathedral.The breakfast menu was extensive and you could ask for items that were not visible such as eggs benedict,Chai lattes etc which were all inclusive.The pool and gym areas cater for all needs and are impressive.We were also offered a late check out which was appreciated. Overall we had a fantastic stay and would not hesitate to stay at The Westin again. Nothing was too much trouble ,hotel staff have obviously been trained very professionally and it shows !

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank julie5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We are thrilled you had such an overall uplifting stay in every way. Our hotel certainly is a relaxing oasis in the middle of this bustling city and our converted Collins Street address is positioned amongst the best designer boutiques, theatres, galleries, and Melbourne’s finest attractions.
During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Until then, be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We really enjoyed our stay and the Westin Melbourne. We had a large room with a very comfy king bed and a lovely big bathroom. Breakfast was fantastic, one of the best buffets in Melbourne, with a large range of foods catering for all tastes. Valet parking was a breeze and it's a very short walk to Bourke St Mall, and close to several theatres.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your detailed feedback – it is valuable to us. We have the best address on Collins Street positioned amongst the best designer boutiques, theatres, galleries, and Melbourne’s finest attractions including Federation Square, the Arts Centre, MCG, and the Tennis Centre. We are also delighted you appreciated our personalized and instictive service.
During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply) even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,482 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,194 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,657 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Starwood APAC, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing