We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated Elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #18 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Understated Elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

My partner and I recently stayed one night at this hotel & were very pleasantly surprised by the standard of our deluxe city facing bay window suite and we loved the beautiful Parisian atmosphere of the first floor Collins St facing restaurant. The check-in staff were fantastic. Our suite was spacious with a beautiful city view and included a huge bathroom. You do hear some faint city noise (trams, a few screaming drunks) but this didn't particularly bother us.The decor is elegant and understated, not flashy and trendy. The only thing missing from this hotel is a club lounge. The addition of a club lounge would make this one of our favourite Melbourne hotels.

Room Tip: Go for a Deluxe suite with bay window on a higher floor, Swanston St facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your uplifting comments regarding your last visit to our hotel. We are delighted you made the most of our hotel’s brilliant location and spacious and well appointed in room features. All of our guest rooms are double-glazed windows; however we would be happy to provide a more peaceful alternative so please contact our in-house reservations team prior to your next stay. Many thanks for your comments requesting an executive lounge as not all our starwood hotels in Australia have a club but we do offer the benefits of your SPG level on arrival. We thank you for your loyalty to our brand and to Starwood and we look forward to your return. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    491
    127
    51
    31
See reviews for
240
795
131
496
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
147 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

What wasn't to like? As another reviewer said, good right from "go". Bellman and valet parking were great. Front desk was fine, and the room exceptional. Spa suite bathrooms are worth the extra: very large, marble enclosed whirlpool tub, double lavatory, separate shower, great finishes. Gym was fine, and the pool and whirlpool in the fitness center were very much appreciated after the long flight.

Bar service in the lobby level was excellent. The martini bar area is under renovation, but the service and quality was evident in the possibly temporary bar. We very much appreciated the service our group received from a young Starwood trainee from Mexico (we noted her name, but have misplaced the note in the midst of all of our travel, we hope the hotel knows her from this description if they read this). The training and professionalism of Starwood employees is a credit to the hospitality industry.

I recommend this hotel. Well located, great service, great fitness center and spa, room was much better than expectation.

Room Tip: Higher room, or one away from Collins Street (more toward Flinders) would be quieter than one right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your feedback is valuable to us. We are pleased you enjoyed our first class in room facilities that we are so well known for. We are also delighted to hear you experienced the personable and friendly service we strive to offer all our guests. We will be sure to pass on your positive comments to all our associates.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is our 4th stay at the Westin Melbourne in 2 months. Setting up our business operation in Melbourne so will be travelling back and forth between Sydney and Melbourne for the next 6 months.

Being a Gold SPG member, we have stayed at Westin room, Deluxe room and this time the Spa Studio. The room is very spacious compare to some other 5 star hotels in Melbourne that we've stayed in: Crown Towers, Crown Metropol and The Langham.

The Collins St location is probably one of the best in Melbourne. Beds and pillows are very comfortable.
Breakfast selection is not the greatest but okay.

We'd like to specifically mention
Brad Candy at the entrance (Westin Melbourne, you are very lucky to have him!!), fantastic, nice guy that always provides above and beyond service, always recognizes us as returning guests, as well as Michaela from the front desk.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaLease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for such positive feedback regarding your recent stays. We are pleased you enjoyed our unbeatable location amongst all that Melbourne city has to offer.
We will ensure your comments are passed to our chef regarding the breakfast menu selection.
Thanks for mentioning Brad and Michaela, they are a real asset to our hotel. We will definately share your kind comments with all associates.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katoomba
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Westin Melbourne is well located for Melbourne CBD. It is centrally located for the major shopping district as well as a number of theatres.

Registration at check-in was very efficiently processed and we were allocated quite a spacious room, which was very well presented. The portage of our luggage was disappointing with a wait of over half an hour before our baggage was delivered, even after a follow-up call.

The room facilities were good. The bathroom was spacious, however the bath, if one wanted to use it, could have presented a few difficulties. The bath was quite deep, which meant it could present difficulties getting into and possibly out of it.

The bed and pillows were very soft, which may be to the liking of some but not quite so acceptable to others.

Overall the room was well maintained each day and the cleanliness of the room could not be faulted.

The major disappointment was the main food outlet at the hotel, which presented very uninspiring food, with a very limited choice for non-meat eaters. Breakfast was equally uninspiring. Although there was a good variety of food at the breakfast buffet the hot food left a lot to be desired. The presentation of the hot food was very ordinary, plain and uninviting.

Although this hotel has a very good location there are probably better options as far as value for money in the same general area.

Room Tip: Room facing Swanston Street probably offers the best outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasBKatoomba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our unsurpassed location close to all Melbourne has to offer. We are disappointed to read your feedback was not completely fulfilling. Please rest assured your comments have been passed on to our Concierge and the Food & Beverage team for their comments and action. Our Breakfast Chef is always on hand to “cook” up a special something for you to enjoy. We hope to welcome you back for a more refreshing experience. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during the first weekend of May. The hotel is located a block away from the Flinders street station, in one direction, and the Bourke street Mall in the other. Plenty of quality eateries and coffee nearby too.
Many of the rooms overlook the city square and Swanston Street. Double glazing means the noises from outside and eliminated.
The hotel is a lovely design. With the cobbled driveway and roomy lounge areas, for a moment I thought I was at a country house. The rooms are quiet ( didn't hear a noise, a rattle, flushing noises...nothing) rooms are spacious enough and well appointed. Top marks for a quality radio with double apple connectors, and a decent bath.
Check in and check out and valet services were all timely an efficient.
Buffet Breakfast was good. Perhaps not as comprehensive as say the Hilton South Wharf, but we wanted for nothing.
Will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SSThunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in every way. Our large and well-appointed rooms and refined service are what we are well known for. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Melbourne for another uplifting stay in the not too distant future. Until then Be Well.

NB. During your next visit, may we just mention if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. Simply visit spg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

It's never nice when an old friend lets you down. Ok hotels aren't friends but it feels like that after more than 10 years loyal to one hotel in Melbourne

Standards at the Westin have slipped and for SPG Lifetime Platinum members like myself there are now other choices in Melbourne I for one will not rely on this hotel again

As usual on what was a cold wet Sunday morning I arrived at the hotel at around 9:30 am after an overnight flight from Asia. I have done this many times both at this hotel and other Starwood properties around the world. If my room was not ready another would be offered until it was.

The welcome was unwelcome and the promise to call me when the room was ready was just that only a promise.

I had intended to extend my stay an extra night before flying to Sydney later in the week however I will try the another SPG options in Mebourne.

It's been implied by other reviews that the Westin Melbourne considers the world owes it a living, not this world not this living.

I lost 6 hours of my day and that can't be retrieved. Tripadvisor gives a voice to travellers and I say clearly standards have slipped and I will not return.

No doubt the management will respond with its usual reply to other reviewers our "official" check in time is 3pm and my official response is not good enough. It's going the extra mile that keeps clients not quoting rules and this is the hospitality industry.

Room Tip: A good room is one thats available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mybrico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear valued SPG Platinum member. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the feedback about your recent stay at The Westin Melbourne. We do value our SPG guest’s feedback as our hotel is always full on the majority of weekends due to all what Melbourne has to offer. As you had booked a specific room type, this room type is always in demand. We dislike for our team members to use that line” 3pm check in” as if we have the room available then we are always happy to provide. What we did fail to do, was offer any room type that was clean for you to rest until your specific room was available. We have discussed this at our morning briefing and also reminded our associates. As you are still in house with us for a few days, the business card of the GM will be delivered for you to connect when returning on an early arrival flight. We trust you will enjoy the rest of your stay. Warm regards. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Friendly right from the get go. The valet parking man greeted us and was very helpful. Smooth check-in. Then, our hotel room was in top order, and I just put my samsonite bag down and went to the near-by shops in Collins street. The location is fantastic, close to everything.

If you're considering staying in this hotel, I say you won't be disappointed. I recently stated in Fairmont Banff and Lake Louise, and while this hotel isn't as large the service factor is just as good.

The gym was perfect, all new equipment. The pool I didn't swim in, but looked good, although shallow.

Great hotel, will be my usual place from now on.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view (may cost extra).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samsonite_suitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel’s unbeatable Collins street address in the middle of Melbourne City, our fantastic onsite hotel facilities and the high levels of service our staff take pride in offering guests. We are pleased you made use of our fantastic onsite facilities such as the Westin Wellness Centre and the gym which is available for use 24 hours – enabling that late night workout. Plus, we have recently initiated an innovative Gear Lending program with New Balance, where guests can rent fresh workout gear and running shoes in your size for a nominal fee of $5 - the socks are yours to keep! We look forward to welcoming you again in the not very distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,258 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,178 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light filled lobby overlooking the vibrant City Square sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions.SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing