We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always clean, relaxing and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #17 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The Westin never fails to please; Melbourne is no exception. The location is great, the service is great, the rooms are great. If you get a room at the right rate, all is good although on peak nights, it can become expensive very quickly. The pool and gym facilities are impressive. I tend to swap between the Sofitel and Westin in Melbourne, usually decided by the rate on the night. Neither ever fails to please. Breakfast is pretty expensive for what it is - there are many better options at nearby cafes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VH-MJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your feedback, it is valuable to us. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel’s unbeatable Collins street address in the middle of Melbourne City and our fantastic onsite hotel facilities such as the WestinWellness Centre with the beautifully designed lap pool, steam room and sauna. We have recently initiated a innovative Gear Lending program with New Balance, where guests can rent fresh workout gear and running shoes in your size for a nominal fee of $5 - the socks are yours to keep! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,017)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 2,017 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

westin Melbourne fab hotel great coffee shop and Martini Bar. Rooms are fab. Love this hotel my favourite. Best concierge Ian Morrison ex band Goanna. Goes above and beyond for service.
Placed well walking distance to everything. But why leave the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a really quiet room no noise request a westin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rod.liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thanks for your lovely review. We agree, Ian is a legend and we are lucky to have him on the team. We will share your comments with all our associates.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I stayed here on the 12th of May for a night and loved almost everything about this hotel. The location in the heart of Melbourne is sensational. The rooms are very comfortable and the lobby bar is staffed with very smooth and friendly people. The shortcomings? $50 to park my car overnight is outrageous as the following night I stayed at another 5 star hotel (Lindrums) and it cost me $16!! I ordered the car to be brought to the front door at 8:00am the on the checkout morning and at 8:30 it wasn't there and I had to wait another 30 minutes for it. Another shortcoming was in the morning the maid walked into the room unannounced looking for laundry. Not good! Unfortunately the Martini bar was closed for refurbishment (one of my favourite city bars) so I am looking forward to that re-opening. The beds were beautifully comfortable and the room was amazingly quiet given the city location. Highly recommended despite the above shortcomings.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicDexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our signature in room features such as our Heavenly Bed and that you valued the unbeatable location of our hotel. Your comments regarding the staff at the lobby bar are also welcomed and we will be sure to pass them on.
Regarding the car parking the hotel doesn't own or manage this so the rates are not determined by the Westin. We would like to take this opportunity to apologise for the less than satisfactory service you encountered at valet and housekeeping. There is no excuse for such matters and we assure you this is not the typical level of service we strive to offer our guests. Rest assured we will certainly pass on your comments to the each department for further discussion and improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Beautifully done rooms which look like they have been recently renovated. The hotel is in immaculate shape and in a very good location. This hotel is currently my preferred option in Melbourne. An impressive gym and nice swimming pool. WiFi is free in the lobby only.
I had a room on the 6th floor facing a giant wall, so not much of a view. Ask for a room facing 1. Swanston street or 2. Collins street for a better view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room looking over Swanston or Collins street. Breakfast buffet is $40. Ask at check in for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nodrama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Reviewer. Thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed our unbeatable location amongst all that Melbourne city has to offer and that you made the most of our five star facilities. We look forward to welcoming you back. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We enjoyed a kids-free night away here recently. The hiotel was chosen based on location, price (which included b/fast and wifi) and brand. Rooms: as expected from a Westin, well appointed (tea/coffee, bottled water, bathroom amenitites, robe/slippers), amazing bed and clean. Gym : very modern machines and set up to accommodate quite a few people. Location : right in the center of town, walk to everything or tram stop a few steps away on either Collins or Swanston st. Service : huge let down. At check in the staff member could not even muster a fake smile. She didnt tell us where/time breakfast is which we would have expected as it was included in our rate, nor how to utilise wifi. Concierge was also rather surly when we wanted to leave luggage upon check out. Staff at breakfast however were lovely. Overall : lovely stay but service was a let down.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank introvertedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments regarding your last visit to our hotel. We are delighted you made the most of our hotel’s brilliant location and spacious and well appointed in room features. We apologise for the less than lack lustre service received from two of our associates and we will be sure to share your comments with our Front Desk associates and Concierge to ensure our high level of customer service is delivered at all times. We hope to welcome you back for a more refreshing experience. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had a lovely 1 night stay on a Friday in a city view room. The breakfast buffet was fantastic and catered perfectly for our vegetarian diet. The staff was really friendly all around and we could not be happier with our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TimPanzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your refreshing comments. We are delighted you enjoyed our personable and instinctive service and our breakfast in Allegro.
We sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back again. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My partner and I recently stayed one night at this hotel & were very pleasantly surprised by the standard of our deluxe city facing bay window suite and we loved the beautiful Parisian atmosphere of the first floor Collins St facing restaurant. The check-in staff were fantastic. Our suite was spacious with a beautiful city view and included a huge bathroom. You do hear some faint city noise (trams, a few screaming drunks) but this didn't particularly bother us.The decor is elegant and understated, not flashy and trendy. The only thing missing from this hotel is a club lounge. The addition of a club lounge would make this one of our favourite Melbourne hotels.

Room Tip: Go for a Deluxe suite with bay window on a higher floor, Swanston St facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear reviewer. Thank you for your uplifting comments regarding your last visit to our hotel. We are delighted you made the most of our hotel’s brilliant location and spacious and well appointed in room features. All of our guest rooms are double-glazed windows; however we would be happy to provide a more peaceful alternative so please contact our in-house reservations team prior to your next stay. Many thanks for your comments requesting an executive lounge as not all our starwood hotels in Australia have a club but we do offer the benefits of your SPG level on arrival. We thank you for your loyalty to our brand and to Starwood and we look forward to your return. Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#7 of 161 in Melbourne
5,787 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 161 in Melbourne
4,435 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,824 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#28 of 161 in Melbourne
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: £150 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing