We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming & handy large hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #18 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Welcoming & handy large hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

The location was perfect being a 5 minute walk to Federation Square. The staff were welcoming & helpful throughout our stay. The hotel was immaculate. After arriving into Australia early in the morning they were able to check us in early as there was a room available. This was much appreciated. Our standard room was spacious with a comfortable king size bed, however the pillows were too thick for my liking, with no pillow menu on offer (something that even lower 4 star chains such as Novotel offer). The check-in guy asked if we were a member of their Starwood Preferred Guest programme. I told him we were not & that (I thought) was the end of it. But no, he had signed us up without asking, which became evident when the emails started arriving. Really, he should have sought our permission first. Aside from these 2 negatives, this was a very nice place to stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your review. We are delighted you enjoyed our enviable location in the heart of Melbourne along with our spacious guest rooms that we are known for. On your next stay please do let us know your pillow preference as we do have a range available for you to choose from. Once confirmed for future stays we will update your profile to ensure each stay your “pillow preferences” are placed in the room prior to arrival.
We genuinely apologize you were signed up to our loyalty program as approval must be given from the guest before sign up. We strongly encourage you please to contact our Front Office Manager directly so we can follow up and investigate immediately and offer our profuse apologies. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    498
    128
    53
    31
See reviews for
245
810
132
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Chose to stay at this location for the facilities and it's proximity to public transport and sites. We were initially given a room that faced an ugly wall - we requested a change and they obliged and we were able to have a nice view then of the city. The swimming pool and gym were great, the breakfast buffet had everything you would expect and ala carte.

We had dinner in the city but had cocktails in the lounge bar which were of a very high quality with great service.

Valet parking was prompt and efficient.

We would stay again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMBallarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your comments. We are delighted you enjoyed our enviable location in the heart of Melbourne and the delicious cocktails in the Lobby Lounge.
On your next visit you may want to try our Geal Lending. Westin hotels has partnered with New Balance to provide running shoes and clothing during your stay, for a nominal single fee of AUD$ 5.00 for the use of the items. The socks are brand-new and yours to keep. The running shoes are fresh and clean. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Nice hotel, great location, but choose a high floor. I was on the second floor above a lane, very noisy around 12.30am and again at 3am when rubbish was being collected for half an hour, horrendous.

No power points next to the bed was also an issue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay, your feedback is important to us. We are happy to update your profile to ensure your next stay with us is more fulfilling. We sincerely hope you consider staying with us again and may we request you contact our Front Office Manager directly prior to your next arrival to ensure a restful night’s sleep in our Westin heavenly beds. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Enjoyed a couple of nights' stay here. Very comfortable bed, convenient desk, lovely shower and bath and good supply of toiletries. Towels nice and soft. Rooms (228) fairly large and quiet. Main issue that my room overlooked the entrance and was dark. Also could look around the corner straight into another room. Breakfast very good with nice pastries, fruit and cooked items (I did not have anything warm). Breads slightly disappointing as there were no artisan loaves. Cappuccino excellent, best one I had in two weeks of travel. Dinner in restaurant also very good, if expensive. Recommend steak. Hotel very conveniently located next to theatre and in the centre of the shopping area close to station. Wifi $20 a day, which is very steep, although free access in lobby.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed our Heavenly Bed and toiletries. We will share your comments regarding the Artisan loaves with our chefs. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had the pleasure of staying here for 3 nights/4 days on a recent long weekend to Melbourne. Every staff member we encountered was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The room was well appointed and bed itself was fantastic, large and very comfortable. The location of the hotel was really central and close to everything we wanted to do. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank detracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments, your feedback is important to our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our high service standards which we are well known for and our well appointed rooms with signature Westin features such as the Heavenly bed – the name really does say it all and it offers a very restful night’s sleep indeed.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I am an SPG member and requested a room with a view. Our view was over the taxi rank, car entrance driveway to hotel. No complimentary internet unless I went to the lobby, un acceptable in this day and age. Also there was no information book in our room, so there was no way of knowing what to dial for reception. I had to ring there main number on my mobile to speak to reception. My friend and I had champagne in the lobby bar , it was the smallest glass, not your standard flute and only half full, completely overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a view, ours was rubbish!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkersydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your detailed comments regarding your recent stay. We sincerely regret any disappointment you experienced regarding the outlook of your room and whilst our City View rooms have impressive skyline views, we hope you can understand that availability is limited and cannot always be guaranteed. We do hope you reconsider staying with us again in the future so we may have the opportunity to provide a much more fulfilling experience. We apologize if you are a platinum member as indeed you are entitled to complimentary internet owing to your loyalty to Starwood and or as a Gold member you can choose from the benefits of either a complimentary arrival drink in the bar, complimentary internet in your room and or 250 SPG points. We certainly apologize profusely we if failed to offer on check in and request that you contact our Front office Manager to rectify immediately. We look forward to your return and affording you the courtesies that you certainly deserve. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Visited here again for another wonderful High Tea experience. Took my daughter and we had a lovely relaxing time. The 3 layers of goodies absolutely wonderful. Will revisit again in the near future Thank you to the staff for a lovely afternoon. It is a beautiful setting overlooking Swanston Street.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lulu09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your kind comments and we are very pleased you enjoyed our Eclair Affair High Tea. Our new winter High Tea menu will commence on the 1st July.
During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary. We look forward to welcoming you again in the not very distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,479 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,192 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,656 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Starwood APAC, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing