We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Classy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #17 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very Classy”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This place is excellent. Well located in the heart of Melbourne. The rooms are high quality and the staff, particularly the doorman, very attentive. I could not find anything wrong with this hotel. The rooms and services are brilliant. Tasty omelettes for breakfast too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirtiSanche3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us in every way. Our commanding central Melbourne address does place our guests amongst the very best that Melbourne city has on offer. We are delighted you both enjoyed our personal service and delicious food in our signature restaurant Allegro. We will ensure we pass on the positive feedback to our restaurant staff. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,222
    497
    128
    51
    31
See reviews for
243
804
132
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

The Westin has a good reputation and it dedirves it.
Great rooms large and well appointed, great staff, friendly and proffession service. Excellent location in the heart of Melbourne CBD and the most comfortable beds in hotels.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David111060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your detailed comments, your feedback is important to our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you appreciated our high service standards which we are well known for and our well appointed rooms with signature Westin features such as the Heavenly bed – the name really does say it all and it offers a very restful night’s sleep indeed.
We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Overnight work related meeting. Met colleagues arriving in Tullamarine international airport. Went to meeting in Springvale. Transport dropped of luggage. Concierge delivers luggage to room. We check in at end of day. Room is turned down ready for use. $275 per night package with internet, movies and coffee liqueurs. Latter put to good use during late night strategy meeting. Lobby bar staff great as they left us till 1 am to meet. Pool was cosy and gym useful to break & unwind in the evening before dinner meeting. Good variety of restaurants around the corner. Easy checkout at 8 am.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Fitfun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to learn of your overall fulfilling experience for your visit to Melbourne. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Melbourne in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Westin Melbourne on Saturday June 21 2014. Upon checking in our reservation was unable to be located. We had booked on line via Hotels Combined. After searching for our reservation without succes we were allocated a very nice room and told not to be concerned. Later that evening a bottle of champagne was delivered to our room as compensation for any inconvenience we had experienced. Lovely gesture and unexpected. Certainly recommend this beautiful hotel in the heart of Melbourne.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rhonda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Reviewer. We thank you for your review and we do apologise for the delay in check in as there was an error on the hotels behalf. We were delighted to be able to provide an upgraded room type and “bubbles” for you to enjoy.
We look forward to welcoming you once again to The Westin Melbourne Hotel. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Sometimes while in the city I have some free time in between meetings - or shopping! - and I just want to sit quietly by myself and have a healthy snack and coffee. And there are very few hotels in the heart of the city where you can do this. Yes, there's the Grand Hyatt, but the surrounds are rather sterile, high tech, even masculine. But the Westin lobby area looks over the city square and has a relaxing 'period style' fireplace with very comfortable couches and armchairs. The coffee is always good, but this time I decided to have scones and peppermint tea. The two mini scones ($14) were stunningly presented with square pots of jam and cream, and the peppermint tea was in an elegant glass teapot. Bliss. Service is excellent and I always feel well looked after. So you think it's too expensive? Maybe. But it's about the experience enhancing the food; and I think it was money well spent (on me!).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thanks for your positive feedback, we will share this with our team in the Lobby Lounge. Our Lobby is certainly a great place to watch the world go by. During your next visit, may we mention, if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, you can request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and you receive 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply). Membership is complimentary. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Westin Melbourne again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Rude staff at the front desk during check in... It does not pain to smile and welcome your guests, being warm to your guests does not harm.
The buffet breakfast was a total waste of money.... Hardly any options and BAD service... Hated it...

During one of the days, I locked myself out of the room, forgot my access key in the room, when I came back had a tough time getting a spare access

Was charged a premium for ordering food in the room, which I found was ridiculous...

Had issues with house keeping...

A beautiful building and a great view with a fabulous room is of no use if the staff cannot make the customer comfortable and are curt and cold during their interactions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank varun k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for your comments – your review is very important to us. It is disappointing to hear your experience with us was not a fulfilling one. Rest assured your comments have been communicated with our Front Office Manager and Food & Beverage department to ensure high quality service is delivered at all times. Please note we train our associates to follow procedure and to request ID from a guest when a room key is misplaced. This is in place to protect our guests safety and security at all time. We do hope you will return to The Westin for an uplifting stay. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The Westin Melbourne is a very classy hotel.
It's position in Melbourne is terrific and walking distance to amazing restaurants and attractions like Federation square.
The staff are friendly and efficient.
Rooms are well appointed and the bed is really something else.
Book relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel’s unbeatable Collins street address in the middle of Melbourne City. It’s always a pleasure to hear our guests have a great stay. During your next visit, may we just mention that if you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, go on line to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers together with 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply)even if you are not staying. Membership is complimentary.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the not very distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,347 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,047 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing