We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #17 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Everything about this hotel was great. From the time we pulled into the driveway the staff could not have done better. The room / balcony over looked the church, was a decent size and spotless clean (I think we may have been upgraded).
The location was good and the ambience of this hotel was perfect.
We will stay again

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony to get some fresh air flowing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthSpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you so much for such positive feedback – We are all very proud to be working for the Westin brand in such a beautiful hotel. We are delighted you appreciated our personable and instinctive service and we will be sure to share your comments with our entire team with special mention to our concierge department as we know they make a difference to our business. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you again upon your next visit to The Westin Melbourne. Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    498
    128
    53
    31
See reviews for
245
810
132
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Very good hotel in the heart of the business district in Melbourne. Rooms are tip top and staff are friendly and professional, even by Westin's superior standards. Wifi is free in public areas and available for a fee in the rooms. I found the rates a but high for the speed offered, but this is a small complaint in an otherwise excellent stay, including opulent breakfast buffet and catered meals for business meetings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPM59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you made the most of our hotels central location, in the middle of all that Melbourne has on offer. If you are not already a Starwood Preferred Guest member, please request to join the program so we may keep you informed of our special offers and 15% off food in all our venues (T& C’s apply).
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Westin in Melbourne is excellent. From the moment we arrived were were warmly greeted by everyone we came across. Our bags were quickly deilvered to our room, all doors openned for us and everything clearly and efficiently explained.

The hotel is nicely appointed - the green tea aroma is lovely! There is artwork in every room and also in the hotel lobby.

Our room was larger than expected although didn't have the best view in the world, but then we had gone for the cheaper option so you expect this. The room had tea and coffee facilities, an enormous spacious bathroom with built in sound from the television. All amenities you would expect.

The spa area was very nice - not filled with children as one of the other reviewers mentioned. The steam room and sauna were also very good.

The location of the Westin is great - walking distance to all of the main attractions and shopping streets.

The rooms and facilities are great, but the staff in the hotel really make the experience. They were warm, curteous, friendly and charming at all times and really went out of their way to make us feel at home and cater to our needs.

I would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your uplifting review. The swimming pool is certainly something special even visually it is really a work of art on how this pool was designed in the space. It is very popular along with the steam and sauna rooms. Don’t forget the Westin Workout gym is open 24hrs for that late night workout.
We are pleased to provide a refreshing sanctuary in an unbeatable location. We are delighted we delivered personal and instinctive service that we are known for. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Westin Melbourne. During your next stay, perhaps download our SPG App for easy booking and with our latest special offers. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Excellent. From the first minute to the last time we walked out the door, just stunning.

Staff were professional and friendly. I think I spooked the poor young lady at reception by arriving with two women though!

The room was immaculate. We had a King Superior facing the theatre, but despite the lack of view (didn't worry us) the room was incredible. Massive rain shower and deep bath, and I love Westin's Heavenly Bed. I wish I could stay at Westin hotels everywhere I go.

Congratulations once again Westin!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us in every way. The world class in room features such as the Westins signature Heavenly Bed, bath and shower, provide our guests with such a revitalizing stay. Next time you stay with us perhaps try the onsite facilities such as the 24hr Westin Workout gym and or unwind at the end of a busy day in our lap pool, steam room and sauna.
Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The rooms are very modern, clean and high quality. Beds are comfortable (generally all the Starwood hotels have very comfy beds). Spacious lobby with high ceilings. Locations is pretty good (adjacent to Federation Square and close to all the good restaurants). The gym was above expectations as it was spacious and new equipment. The only con is that it does not have a club lounge but this is due to the size of the hotel. The service was friendly and helpful. No complaints. We came here for our honeymoon and received a nice welcome gift from the manager.

Room Tip: Higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RYN101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Reviewer. Congratulations and we were pleased you enjoyed your stay for such a special occasion. Our rooms are certainly known for their size and it is with these signature Westin features and service standards that we are able to offer our guests a revitalizing stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

A 2 night start at the Westin and I was pleasantly surprised .... from the moment I arrived the staff were excellent ... all but one were so friendly and honestly helpful .. not just going through the motions and/or trying to up-sell something ... location is far enough away from the centre of the CBD to be relaxed but close enough to have a short walk and shop .... rooms are huge and well appointed . bathrooms also really well laid out ... over all a 5 star hotel that is a five star in all aspects ....

Room Tip: Contact the hotel if you are driving ... you have to enter the driveway from the back lane .....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozclarkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you made the most of our unbeatable location and that you recognized the instinctive level of service that we strive to uphold at our hotel. The world class in room features such as the Westins signature Heavenly Bed, bath and shower, provide our guests with such a revitalizing stay. Next time you stay with us perhaps try the onsite facilities such as the 24hr Westin Workout gym and or unwind at the end of a busy day in our lap pool, steam room and sauna. Westin now offers a unique Gear Lending program, providing guests with the opportunity to hire our New Balance work out clothing and running shoes in your size for a small fee of $5.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This place is excellent. Well located in the heart of Melbourne. The rooms are high quality and the staff, particularly the doorman, very attentive. I could not find anything wrong with this hotel. The rooms and services are brilliant. Tasty omelettes for breakfast too.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DirtiSanche3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to share your positive review. We are delighted you had a wonderful stay with us in every way. Our commanding central Melbourne address does place our guests amongst the very best that Melbourne city has on offer. We are delighted you both enjoyed our personal service and delicious food in our signature restaurant Allegro. We will ensure we pass on the positive feedback to our restaurant staff. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,489 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,204 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,662 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#16 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing