We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Melbourne
Ranked #18 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

I stay here quite frequently for business and have always found it extremely pleasant. Came down last weekend with my husband and another couple and stayed for two nights - really can't speak highly enough. Rooms were ready and next-door to each other as requested on arrival. Lovely service in the downstairs lobby. No trouble arranging a hire car which was delivered to us the next day and taken care of when we were finished with it. Requested a late checkout which was no problem at all - the lovely staff even asked if there was anything they could do for me as I was clearly not well on the Sunday. Fabulous breakfast in the restaurant, rooms perfectly made up and prepared, lovely deep bath. Most of all a fabulous position for a Melbourne weekend getaway. If I was going to be super-picky I would say that there was a bit of street noise as we were on L2, the lighting in the bathrooms is not great for make-up and the TV remote is a little slow. However these are minor inconveniences that you would find at most hotels and are more than made up for by the rest. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Go as high as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your feedback, it is very valuable to us. We are pleased you returned to The Westin Melbourne during your personal time. Our associates aim to deliver instinctive and personal service to all our guests. We will pass on your kind comments regarding breakfast to the chefs and team in Allegro. Sorry you heard some street noise as our windows are double glazed. We will look into the lighting in the bathrooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,947 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,237
    498
    128
    53
    31
See reviews for
245
810
132
503
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The location of this hotel is perfect, easy walking distance to pretty much anywhere you want to go.
As an SPG gold we were upgraded to a deluxe room, the view onto Swanston street is absolutely amazing. The staff are super friendly and the rooms are clean and extremely spacious.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor, and could hear the protest march that was happening outside on one of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maishirlz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our hotel’s unbeatable Collins street address in the middle of Melbourne City and our high levels of service which the associates take pride in offering guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My wife, 7 year old boy, and I just had a few nights at this lovely well situated hotel. We were very impressed with the friendly, obliging staff and everything about the place. the King Bed we had (and rollaway for the little bloke) was very comfortable and i wouldn't mind having the blinds thay have at my place. They kept the room dark in the morning so you slept in very easily. The pool is great and perfect for little ones as it is only 1.1 metres deep the whole way. I would thoroughly recommend the Westin to other visitors to Melbourne.

Room Tip: Get a Swanston Street view room if you can - you can watch the world go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RooboyTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed our instinctive service. We strive to provide guests with personal service and renewing facilities so it is inspiring to read we have consistently fulfilled your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I have stayed at Westin Melbourne on many occasions over the past 14 years. Comfort, facilities, location - nothing has change - all are excellent. However, as a supposed valued member of their loyalty club, I was disappointed on my treatment on this occasion. Having made 3 bookings - one room for 5 nights, one for 2 and another for 1 night for family and friends, I had received confirmation of all at agreed rates. When I came to settled my account I had been charged an extra $44 per night for the 5 night stay. Despite pointing this out and having by written confirmation with me, the front desk treated me as if I was trying to pay less than I should. They said they would look into the matter (why - because all the proof was there?) and when they didn't reply when they said they would, I contacted them on a few occasions the following day over some hours only to be told the relevant person was "with customers". Finally the matter was resolved after contacting and speaking to the General Manager. The point is - a written confirmation should be enough to authorise front desk staff to honour an agreement. It leave a disappointment on the way loyal customers are treated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rainman37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. Our location is certainly unbeatable along with our first class facilities. Apologies there was some confusion with your bookings. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Westin Melbourne once again. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australind, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We drove from Sydney to Melbourne dropped our car to the bell captain AUD50 per day for valet parking and checked in the hotel.
I have stayed here 3-4 times on business love the location.

Upgrade to a suite on the third day. Not much different between a suite and a deluxe room. Bigger bathroom, more spacious room and television. Unlike Sydney or some other Westin in APEC, a suite represent one bed room with separate living and sleeping area not the same in Melbourne Westin. The bed size is the same, same furniture.

House keeping need to improve. No complimentary fruit nor chocolate. Incomplete make up of room no milk in fridge and bath oil in the bathroom disappointed.

Like the high tea set AUD49 per head with selection of 16 types of tea and free refill of coffee, lovely cakes. Though expensive, great place to get together after shopping for a lazy afternoon.

Service is good with caring staff. In conclusion I rate this hotel 4 out of 5.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ladytraveljournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Reviewer. Thank you for sharing your feedback. Perhaps you would consider one of the Regent Suites in the future as they have a seperate lounge room and stunning views over the city. Please feel free to inquire with our Front Office Manager for future stays. We do apologise that there was no milk in your room. In the bathrooms we do have bath and shower gel but we could arrange bath salts in your room on your next visit. We are pleased you enjoyed our popular High Tea and will pass on your comments to the chefs regarding their lovely cakes. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My first time in Melbourne, and yet again was recommended this hotel. I must say I was surprised with the room size they are quite spacious and very good beds. So you get a very good night asleep. They centrally located so pretty much everything is on walking distance, shopping, main train station, lots of restaurants and a theater opposite the hotel but mainly shopping malls..ect I went to an AFL game and it took me less the 15 min by tramway. My stay coincidence with the laughter festival so lots of activities around the hotel, you can actually see some from the terrace of their lobby coffee-shop. Very friendly stuff and polite. Great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaouad S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear reviewer. Thank you for your positive review and nice to read that we were recommended. We are pleased you made the most of our unbeatable location and that you recognized the instinctive level of service that we strive to uphold at our hotel. The world class in room features such as the Westins signature Heavenly Bed, bath and shower, provide our guests with such a revitalizing stay. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin.
Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We have stayed in many places in Melbourne over the years. This is, by far, our preferred hotel. The location (at the bottom end of Collins Street) in unbeatable, The service is first class. The rooms are spacious and spotless. We have rarely had problems at the hotel. Any that we have had have been quickly and efficiently sorted - with a minimum of fuss.
The only possible downside of the hotel is the unusal TVs in the rooms. The speakers appear to be at the back of the TV, cuasing a muffled sound.
On the plus side, wi fi is fast (and compimentary in the public areas of the hotel). The hotel breakfast is outstanding, and the bar downstairs cosy and welcoming.
A first class location, first class rooms, first class staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomewardBound2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMelboune1185, Manager at The Westin Melbourne, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear reviewer. We certainly thank you for your comments which we will share with our team. We are so delighted to know The Westin Melbourne is your preferred hotel. Our large and well-appointed rooms, unbeatable location and instinctive service are what we are so well known for and try hard each and every day to deliver. We thank you for your comment on the TV’s and we will investigate if this is something we can change.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,480 reviews
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 160 in Melbourne
4,193 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 160 in Melbourne
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#7 of 160 in Melbourne
2,656 reviews
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#2 of 160 in Melbourne
2,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Melbourne

Property: The Westin Melbourne
Address: 205 Collins St | Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#17 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, chic and elegantly understated, The Westin Melbourne's dramatic staircase and light-filled lobby sets the tone for one of Australia's leading hotels. Boasting 262 luxurious guest rooms, the award winning property is surrounded by theatres, galleries, designer boutiques and the city's finest attractions. SPG Members receive complimentary in room internet when booking direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Westin Melbourne
Melbourne Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing